SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9965 (star bunting)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 1560 times 
Reviewed by:Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viersstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/03 10:50 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 2:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
This is so cute! I love that one in the pattern pic that looks like a carrot! (ps - I hope you're entering the charity sewing contest with those extras)
1/19/03 11:03 PM
Cattgirl said...
It was really good to see this review. I'm about to make this pattern for a friend of mine. I'm a beginning sewer, and this will be my first baby outfit so these tips will come in handy, especially the tip about the bias binding.
1/20/03 12:46 PM
Janie Viers said...
Ok, I have made this up similar to how it was to be constructed. This photo is similar to the others I did for Christenings. I chose to cut a 2 inch strip the width of a contrast 100 weight polar fleece, two strips were more than enough. I seamed them together at the 2" edge right sides together. The zipper goes in first. I zig zag the right side of the zipper to the right edge of the front on both sides. No zipper foot needed for the next step if the zipper is at least 2" longer than the length of the front. open the zipper and top stitch down the front making a little fold on the right side. Put both zipped up front to back (wrong sides together) and baste zig around the tnrie edge, trimming edges to make a narrow and even edge. I sew the right side of the trim to the right side of the bunting in about a d 3/8" in seam, pulling slightly as you go. This makes the fleece fold naturally around to the back. After going all around I pull the trim firmly which causes it to curl to the wrong side of the fabric. This automatically causes a bias trim feel! I pinned around the edge and topstitched the edge on the wrong side. I put the hood to gether with narrow lapped seam up the back and then took about a 1-1/2 inch wide strip of the trim and sewed it to the front edge that will surround the babies face. If you stretch the trim as you attach it to the front it will naturally gather up the fleece so elastic is not needed. I sewed the hood to the body with wrong sides together and bound around neck with more trim. I had put an angel tassel on the hood of my Great nephew's but had to settle for a little daisy for my DGN's 2nd cousin (isn't it amazing how diluted relatives can get!)
4/6/03 6:43 PM
Lou. said...
Wow 24 in 5 days!! How long do these take to make?
1/14/04 8:19 AM
Lou. said...
I read wrong 12, not 24...still they must be really quick...I think I must have this pattern.
1/14/04 8:20 AM
Deepika said...
Janie, this is really cute! But you might want to resize your image in your FoPR Photo album.
1/14/04 8:56 AM
SewTwin said...
This is amazing!!! Is this pattern still available? I have tons of fleece and this would make the perfect charity gift, but darn my luck if I can't find the pattern.
11/19/04 1:52 AM
Janie Viers said...
Sorry, this is now outof print. Perhaps someone else has it....via ebay or a "want ad" in Patternreview!
11/19/04 5:01 PM
candyo said...
This link should work for the pattern envelope: http://www.simplicity.com/assets/9965/9965.jpg
11/19/04 9:42 PM
candyo said...
This is a cute pattern! That is so good of you to make these for babies in need!
11/19/04 9:44 PM
Terri A said...
Very darlling!
1/5/12 0:06 AM
Aroura said...
Very cute, and in so many colors!! :)
1/13/12 3:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jean Hardy 875

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
New Look 6162

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review