Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 9965 (star bunting) - Type:Baby clothes
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1560 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR
About Janie Viersstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/03 10:50 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 2:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
This is so cute! I love that one in the pattern pic that looks like a carrot! (ps - I hope you're entering the charity sewing contest with those extras)
1/19/03 11:03 PM
Cattgirl said...
It was really good to see this review. I'm about to make this pattern for a friend of mine. I'm a beginning sewer, and this will be my first baby outfit so these tips will come in handy, especially the tip about the bias binding.
1/20/03 12:46 PM
Janie Viers said...
Ok, I have made this up similar to how it was to be constructed. This photo is similar to the others I did for Christenings. I chose to cut a 2 inch strip the width of a contrast 100 weight polar fleece, two strips were more than enough. I seamed them together at the 2" edge right sides together. The zipper goes in first. I zig zag the right side of the zipper to the right edge of the front on both sides. No zipper foot needed for the next step if the zipper is at least 2" longer than the length of the front. open the zipper and top stitch down the front making a little fold on the right side. Put both zipped up front to back (wrong sides together) and baste zig around the tnrie edge, trimming edges to make a narrow and even edge. I sew the right side of the trim to the right side of the bunting in about a d 3/8" in seam, pulling slightly as you go. This makes the fleece fold naturally around to the back. After going all around I pull the trim firmly which causes it to curl to the wrong side of the fabric. This automatically causes a bias trim feel! I pinned around the edge and topstitched the edge on the wrong side. I put the hood to gether with narrow lapped seam up the back and then took about a 1-1/2 inch wide strip of the trim and sewed it to the front edge that will surround the babies face. If you stretch the trim as you attach it to the front it will naturally gather up the fleece so elastic is not needed. I sewed the hood to the body with wrong sides together and bound around neck with more trim. I had put an angel tassel on the hood of my Great nephew's but had to settle for a little daisy for my DGN's 2nd cousin (isn't it amazing how diluted relatives can get!)
4/6/03 6:43 PM
Lou. said...
Wow 24 in 5 days!! How long do these take to make?
1/14/04 8:19 AM
Lou. said...
I read wrong 12, not 24...still they must be really quick...I think I must have this pattern.
1/14/04 8:20 AM
Deepika said...
Janie, this is really cute! But you might want to resize your image in your FoPR Photo album.
1/14/04 8:56 AM
SewTwin said...
This is amazing!!! Is this pattern still available? I have tons of fleece and this would make the perfect charity gift, but darn my luck if I can't find the pattern.
11/19/04 1:52 AM
Janie Viers said...
Sorry, this is now outof print. Perhaps someone else has it....via ebay or a "want ad" in Patternreview!
11/19/04 5:01 PM
candyo said...
This link should work for the pattern envelope: http://www.simplicity.com/assets/9965/9965.jpg
11/19/04 9:42 PM
candyo said...
This is a cute pattern! That is so good of you to make these for babies in need!
11/19/04 9:44 PM
Terri A said...
Very darlling!
1/5/12 0:06 AM
Aroura said...
Very cute, and in so many colors!! :)
1/13/12 3:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 4032
photo
Review by zombieamel... on 10/23/11
Read Review

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8531
photo
Review by Mamselle M... on 6/15/09
Read Review

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us