Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 84915-1000 (American Casual Kilt) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 2244 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:tiedyedrose
photo
About tiedyedrosestar
MI
Member since: 1/15/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 10:51 AM
Last Updated:9/20/07 3:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frogs2 said...
Bravo! wonderful kilt, great review! One of my life's great pleasures is watching my husband's pleats swing when he strides in his kilt. I'm particularly impressed with how the buttons provide the functionality of the sporran in keeping the apron closed. Nice job!
5/24/07 11:42 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I'll never talk my DH into this- yours looks wonderful, and wonderfully comfortable in his. Good job.
5/24/07 11:55 AM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the fun and informative review. Enjoyed the Bravehearts link, too. I'd love to see my cowboy husband in one of these! Hmmm
5/24/07 12:09 PM
pterion said...
I really learned a lot from your review! I had no idea there was so much fabric in there - your pictures of the pleating process are very impressive. And the Bravehearts link was pretty thought-provoking as well.
5/24/07 12:38 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I have a Utilikilt and I love it - actually bought it for my husband but he won't be caught dead in it. Kudos to you for making it and your husband for looking so fabulous in it!
5/24/07 1:41 PM
crystalwoods said...
Wow! you have inspired me! Great review and great links to information. I can't wait to start one for my DBF!
5/24/07 1:49 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for the great review!! I learned alot. Looks like these would be comfortable! Carla
5/24/07 1:50 PM
SaraD said...
This is awesome! My freinds husband was just asking for her/us to make him a kilt. Thanks for the great information.
5/24/07 10:12 PM
jhansby said...
Great job!!....And I love the link you sent for the Braveheart page!! I love men in kilts!!!
5/25/07 3:13 AM
Marji said...
Interesting review, great job - they are a ton of work to make. Love the Braveheart article too. My dh is one who would never be caught dead in anything other than a garment with legs.
5/25/07 8:45 AM
Skymom said...
No skirts for the men in my family, I think, but your kilt looks wonderful. I've always like the Utilikilts, and this looks just as good.
5/25/07 11:04 AM
Irene Q said...
What a fun review - and very helpful too! Could there be a new trend starting on Pattern Review??
5/25/07 2:16 PM
tiedyedrose said...
Thanks to everyone for the kind comments. I have a lot of fun making these and would love to see more men in kilts! If anyone has questions about the construction process, feel free to PM me.
5/29/07 8:28 AM
Mufffet said...
Great review and interesting web link to the Bravehearts in Kilts site. My youngest son was a groomsman in his friends wedding and all the men wore kilts...he kinda thought they were cool! ;) They all looked really good.
5/30/07 11:02 PM
rkell said...
I would love to get more specific info on the pleating and apron measurements. I, too, don't want to spend the money at utilikilts. I was hoping to get this information as soon as possible
6/11/07 8:15 PM
Missy*spring said...
Hi! Love love love the kilt!!! We are also in Michigan...and my hubby is 1/2 scottish. Kilt wedding and our son wears his kilt to all big events. I hope you don't mind I forwarded your pics to my dh to see if he is "Brave" enough. I would love to have him wear one all the time...wink wink...something about a man in a kilt. :-) Great job!!
6/13/07 0:18 AM
tiedyedrose said...
rkell, you'll have to email me, and I'll try to send you some more information. jessica_schmenk at yahoo.com
Missy*spring - whereabouts in Michigan are you?
6/13/07 11:59 AM
AnneM said...
Neat kilt. Great job, and it's always so wonderful to make something appreciated.
7/1/07 5:03 PM
Sew What Teri said...
Thank you for this review, unfortunately my timing is off and your photos are migrating to Flicker from Yahoo.
9/19/07 9:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1878
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/25/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5720
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 11/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us