SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 84915-1000 (American Casual Kilt)

Viewed 2264 times 
Reviewed by:tiedyedrose
photo

 
 
About tiedyedrosestar
MI
Member since: 1/15/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 10:51 AM
Last Updated:9/20/07 3:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frogs2 said...
Bravo! wonderful kilt, great review! One of my life's great pleasures is watching my husband's pleats swing when he strides in his kilt. I'm particularly impressed with how the buttons provide the functionality of the sporran in keeping the apron closed. Nice job!
5/24/07 11:42 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I'll never talk my DH into this- yours looks wonderful, and wonderfully comfortable in his. Good job.
5/24/07 11:55 AM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the fun and informative review. Enjoyed the Bravehearts link, too. I'd love to see my cowboy husband in one of these! Hmmm
5/24/07 12:09 PM
pterion said...
I really learned a lot from your review! I had no idea there was so much fabric in there - your pictures of the pleating process are very impressive. And the Bravehearts link was pretty thought-provoking as well.
5/24/07 12:38 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I have a Utilikilt and I love it - actually bought it for my husband but he won't be caught dead in it. Kudos to you for making it and your husband for looking so fabulous in it!
5/24/07 1:41 PM
crystalwoods said...
Wow! you have inspired me! Great review and great links to information. I can't wait to start one for my DBF!
5/24/07 1:49 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for the great review!! I learned alot. Looks like these would be comfortable! Carla
5/24/07 1:50 PM
SaraD said...
This is awesome! My freinds husband was just asking for her/us to make him a kilt. Thanks for the great information.
5/24/07 10:12 PM
jhansby said...
Great job!!....And I love the link you sent for the Braveheart page!! I love men in kilts!!!
5/25/07 3:13 AM
Marji said...
Interesting review, great job - they are a ton of work to make. Love the Braveheart article too. My dh is one who would never be caught dead in anything other than a garment with legs.
5/25/07 8:45 AM
Skymom said...
No skirts for the men in my family, I think, but your kilt looks wonderful. I've always like the Utilikilts, and this looks just as good.
5/25/07 11:04 AM
Irene Q said...
What a fun review - and very helpful too! Could there be a new trend starting on Pattern Review??
5/25/07 2:16 PM
tiedyedrose said...
Thanks to everyone for the kind comments. I have a lot of fun making these and would love to see more men in kilts! If anyone has questions about the construction process, feel free to PM me.
5/29/07 8:28 AM
Mufffet said...
Great review and interesting web link to the Bravehearts in Kilts site. My youngest son was a groomsman in his friends wedding and all the men wore kilts...he kinda thought they were cool! ;) They all looked really good.
5/30/07 11:02 PM
rkell said...
I would love to get more specific info on the pleating and apron measurements. I, too, don't want to spend the money at utilikilts. I was hoping to get this information as soon as possible
6/11/07 8:15 PM
Missy*spring said...
Hi! Love love love the kilt!!! We are also in Michigan...and my hubby is 1/2 scottish. Kilt wedding and our son wears his kilt to all big events. I hope you don't mind I forwarded your pics to my dh to see if he is "Brave" enough. I would love to have him wear one all the time...wink wink...something about a man in a kilt. :-) Great job!!
6/13/07 0:18 AM
tiedyedrose said...
rkell, you'll have to email me, and I'll try to send you some more information. jessica_schmenk at yahoo.com
Missy*spring - whereabouts in Michigan are you?
6/13/07 11:59 AM
AnneM said...
Neat kilt. Great job, and it's always so wonderful to make something appreciated.
7/1/07 5:03 PM
Sew What Teri said...
Thank you for this review, unfortunately my timing is off and your photos are migrating to Flicker from Yahoo.
9/19/07 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

brerrabbit.com Gertie\'s Bow tie blouse

photo
by: Seamstress...

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now