SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4980 (Misses Dress, Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 3552 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/07 6:42 AM
Last Updated:7/31/07 9:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 58 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
great review and 3 great jackets.
7/31/07 7:01 AM
MissCelie said...
Vonne. Seriously. When I pulled up the photo I said out loud, "Gol. Lee" How do you do it? Everything, and I mean everything, you make is beautiful and meticulous.
7/31/07 7:13 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, so cool! Love your jackets, as always, but what I really lust for is the glasses :-)..
7/31/07 7:18 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Honestly this pattern would just fly out of the stores if this was the cover photo. Fabulous, really can't pick my favourite version, I love them all.
7/31/07 8:20 AM
zetor said...
All of those jackets look great.
7/31/07 8:47 AM
carolynw said...
Would never ever have given this pattern a second look - you have made me realise it should be in the stash for sure. Wonderful jackets and flawless work as always!!
7/31/07 9:02 AM
Nancywin said...
Wonderful again, Vonnevo. I still remember your jackets from last years multiple look contest and how inspiring it was to me to try and create different looks from the same pattern. Your work always looks very classy.
7/31/07 9:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
I'm so impressed with your creativity with this pattern. I love all three.
7/31/07 9:14 AM
TrixieD said...
Remarkable! So striking and so well made.
7/31/07 10:18 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Great use of this pattern. I love each outfit, and it's the jacket that make them special.
7/31/07 10:33 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look either, but you have managed to make three incredible jackets (as usual). Fantastic. My personal fav is the black and white. Thanks for the tip on the SITD foot. You should put that in the tips sections.
7/31/07 10:36 AM
nicegirl said...
They are all great! The black and white is my favorite. And i love your sunglasses.
7/31/07 10:39 AM
Levone said...
Love them all! Great looking pants as well.
7/31/07 10:53 AM
sewbehind said...
All of the jackets are beautiful, Vonne. You do beautiful work.
7/31/07 11:13 AM
Peggy L said...
They are all fabulous, as usual! Great job.
7/31/07 11:57 AM
Erica B. said...
Vonne, those jackets are incredible! Well... everything you make is incredible! I love them.
7/31/07 1:00 PM
Tany said...
Fabulous! Thanks for a VERY HELPFUL review!!
7/31/07 2:09 PM
LiZ said...
Vonne, all three jackets look fabulous, your review is great and I love the slideshow.
7/31/07 4:21 PM
cmarie12 said...
Wow! I have made this jacket already 2x and you have inspired me to go back and do something different! Your jackets are simply fantastic!
7/31/07 5:16 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Beautiful jackets, and beautiful workmanship.
7/31/07 5:51 PM
Linda G said...
As always you have done a beautiful job. The workmanship is impeccible. I reallylike how you played around with the stripes on the greenish jacket. I really like the rusching around the neck. I know what you mean about thinking ahead. I am in love with that cape also and the Burda patterns were up so early!!! Like others the pattern you picked would never have been something I would have picked now I WANT IT!!
7/31/07 7:37 PM
PVA said...
A great review! I love your results, as always!
7/31/07 8:29 PM
Krissi said...
I love those jackets, three out of one pattern and they all look smashing........ Krissi
7/31/07 9:08 PM
farqs said...
I love the Sage green outfit. Looks great with the jacket pattern and on you. $200 at Nordstroms!
7/31/07 9:27 PM
snowflake girl said...
Wow, what else can you say. they are all just stunning
7/31/07 9:46 PM
jnamcd said...
As always, you ROCK!! I especially love the black and white one! Great job, and superb review!!
7/31/07 11:21 PM
LorelleD said...
Great review. Thankyou. All your jackets look great, I especially like the black and white one.
8/1/07 0:47 AM
rivergum said...
Awesome! You look very expensive !
8/1/07 1:11 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jackets. I'm particularly fond of the B&W version.
8/1/07 5:06 AM
Fran G said...
I love everything you make! You need to announce your projects so we can have a sew-a-long! Love that pinning technique!
8/1/07 5:44 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome, Yvonne!!! Those are beautiful jackets. You really should be the pattern cover model for this pattern!
8/1/07 6:50 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Vonne, fantastic! I keep meaning to join these contests but that would require commitment!! Well done on your three fab jackets - I think I like the black and white best.
8/1/07 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jackets! As always you are very inspiring.
8/1/07 7:02 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Fabulous...as usual!!!!!!!!!!!
8/1/07 12:30 PM
Liana said...
Great work, Vonnevo! You've really come up with some amazingly different looks from the same pattern. Quite the example for the rest of us!
8/1/07 2:32 PM
Birgitte said...
Just beautiful!
8/1/07 3:18 PM
Leora said...
Great jackets, you are all set for fall now. Congrats!!
8/1/07 4:16 PM
Schnauzer said...
Whoops! Looks like I missed a whole page of reviews! (Unlike me). Anyway I've caught up now and Vonne those jackets are FABULOUS!
8/2/07 0:11 AM
Marji said...
The jackets are fabulous! I also really appreciate reading about the process you go through making them. Great review. Love that each has it's own pant too!
8/2/07 10:30 AM
kim*brown said...
Love them all, great review!
8/2/07 7:13 PM
wingri said...
All 3 of your jackets are great, it is amazing how different fabrics give a completely different look.
8/4/07 5:09 AM
LizzieJane said...
Fabulous jackets.
8/4/07 4:02 PM
AmandaW said...
Love all your jackets and your very informative review
8/4/07 8:15 PM
Marilyn N. said...
These really look wonderful & each version looks absolutely right for the pattern!
8/4/07 8:47 PM
ColleenS said...
Great jackets, I like the blue one best.
8/5/07 5:25 AM
Ann Rowley said...
Lovely, lovely jackets. Glad you weren't side-tracked! I'm with you on the Vogue sizing as I am a 12/14 too and can never decide which would be the better size to buy..
8/5/07 7:05 AM
cathy45 said...
You re the jacket queen. You take such bland patterns & turn them into such fabulous fashion statements! You inspire us all.
8/5/07 12:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I love how all three jackets look so great! Wonderful review! Wear them proudly!!
8/5/07 1:47 PM
Doleres said...
3 great jackets, I like the black and white best.
8/6/07 4:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh Vonne, your jackets are just GORGEOUS!!! I'm sorry I missed your review the other day (you know the busy summer schedule). You look so classy and are going to get so much use out of your three gorgeous jackets - congrats on a job well done! :-)
8/6/07 9:45 PM
NancyGT said...
stunning. all three are fabulous and I commend you on the patience for the muslin, then the fitting to make sure that you had the fit you wanted. The extra thought about lines and length for the various fabrics really shows through in high quality garments. very inspirational
8/19/07 10:40 AM
LilD said...
Quite impressive..The jackets all look different, and will be a great addition to the wardrobe.
8/19/07 5:47 PM
WJean said...
You did an outstanding job making these jacket. The detailed stitching as viewed is great. I really feel in love with the sage jacket. Congratulations on a job well-done.
8/23/07 2:15 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful jackets. Congratulations!
8/28/07 0:30 AM
QueenZ said...
Gorgeous!
9/2/07 7:31 AM
slt said...
I absolutely love each jacket. Wow, the detailing and fit look fab. Thanks!
1/23/08 2:16 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I loved to see the variations that you put together and you even showed pictures of how you had altered the pattern. Thanks so much! You did a great job on this jacket & I also love the pants!
9/9/09 11:52 PM
4u2cme said...
Great reviews and photos. I finally acquired this pattern on eBay. It is OOP but still looks to be a wonderful jacket for spring & summer.
6/26/11 1:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5674

photo
by: mnitts

Review
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now