SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 5941 (1920's Fishtail Evening Gown)

Viewed 2603 times 
Reviewed by:Fleur
photo

 
 
About Fleurstar
PA USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/08 9:17 PM
Last Updated:5/29/08 10:44 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goldesdottar said...
Love the plan. The "thing" is great - looks like an underwater creature!
5/3/08 9:50 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That dress is SOOO COOL!!!!
5/4/08 0:18 AM
Speech girl said...
What a stunning dress.
5/25/08 9:30 PM
Erica B. said...
OMG! That dress is utterly amazing! You look absolutely stunning!
5/25/08 9:38 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so beautiful! The color is just stunning! Your friend looks great modeling it for you! Great job!
5/25/08 9:48 PM
NanKaye said...
Oh that is stunning! I can really see the effort you put into making this dress, and boy was it worth it! Congratulations.
5/25/08 10:02 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
I am truly "blown away!" Outstanding workmanship, fabulous fit, utterly GORGEOUS! Looks like a "winner" to me! Your handstiching is magnificent! ~Connie
5/25/08 10:16 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely fabulous. You look ready for the Orient Express, a Murder Mystery or a turn of the century around the world cruise. Wonderful creation.
5/25/08 10:35 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Good grief that is a GORGEOUS dress. And thanks for the wonderful blow by blow action!
5/25/08 10:36 PM
washer_woman said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for the great review!
5/25/08 10:40 PM
mastdenman said...
Wow. It looks great. Congratulations.
5/25/08 11:06 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Stunning dress. Amazing workmanship too, and I love the medallion detail.
5/25/08 11:13 PM
Gelbean said...
Your dress is incredible. I love dresses from this era. Thank you for the very informative and helpful review.
5/25/08 11:23 PM
Elona said...
What a terrific, informative review, and the finished product is simply lovely!
5/25/08 11:30 PM
ShirleyW said...
Just adorable!
5/25/08 11:40 PM
Twinset said...
Your hard work paid off - you sewed a beautiful dress! Beautiful color too, and impeccable workmanship! The dress exudes passion and your friend seems to be ready to dance the tango in it!
5/25/08 11:48 PM
michellep74 said...
Absolutely jaw-droppingly stunning! All of your hard work with this really paid off!
5/25/08 11:56 PM
Annette1 said...
What a showpiece! Thank you for this very detailed and interesting review, and especially all the pictures. Your dress is truly stunning.
5/26/08 0:15 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this color is so amazing-not a flat royal blue, something much more stunning and irridescent. This looks like Keira Knightly's famous dress in "Atonement". The jewelry piece is so decadent and well chosen. you are an artist.
5/26/08 0:48 AM
MagpieJen said...
That's fantastic! And really helpful too - I was actually thinking of getting this pattern from VPLL. It's so nice to see a finished version!
5/26/08 1:17 AM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful dress! thank you for sharing.
5/26/08 7:23 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Thank you for all the pictures and for all the info. in your review I think this is the best review I have read yet, and your dress is a work of art great job.
5/26/08 7:26 AM
ndesimon said...
Holy COW - thanks for sharing your gorgeous dress with us - and congratulations on a job well done!
5/26/08 8:54 AM
Sadlesor said...
Must agree, best review I have read. Looking forward to reading more as you post. Your dress is fabulous. Has me looking to see it there is a design I would like to give a try. Would make a great summer challenge/project.
5/26/08 10:04 AM
jhansby said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!!
5/26/08 10:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
This dress is such a showstopper! Exquisitely beautiful!
5/26/08 11:18 AM
ncegbu said...
That is a gorgeous gown! Thanks for posting such an extensive review & tutorial. I've saved your photo tutorial on finding grain in slippery fabrics! -Nneka
5/26/08 12:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Fabulous!
5/26/08 1:54 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Goregeous!
5/26/08 2:58 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
WOW - WOW - WOW - right out of the 20's and fabulous.
5/26/08 3:48 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
re the spray starch, Hancocks Spray Stabilizer (usually used for quilting) would work better than starch...less likely to burn and flake.
5/26/08 9:25 PM
squirrellypoo said...
wow this is STUNNING. I just can't get over how beautiful this is. Your tips for silk charmeuse are very much appreciated, too.
5/27/08 7:09 AM
Fleur said...
Thank you all so much for all of your wonderful comments! You guys are great. It means so much to me :) I worked like a slave on this and it really pleases me to bits to see that my work wasn't in vain after all. I really hope that by making clearer instructions someone else will try this great pattern. Thanks also for the great tip, Lazy Milliner. I am definitely going to try that! I am going to be drawing up illustrated instructions today.
5/27/08 10:13 AM
meli88a said...
this is amazing and beautiful - both you and your friend look great in it.
5/27/08 2:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful gown! The medallion and fabric choice really make it.
5/28/08 6:06 AM
Lily Cat said...
Absolutely beautiful!! My grandmother, may she rest in peace, always ironed silks in between two linen tea towels. (Of course, this presumes the availability of linen tea towels...). I seem to recall a cach of tissue paper (the wrapping kind) in with the tea towels. Which is to say: You have rediscovered the secrets of our foremothers. Good for you!!!!
5/28/08 10:47 AM
SewLil said...
This whole review is just amazing! Maybe the best one I've ever read. You put so much time into your piece and educating the rest of us. Thanks! This is just perfection!
5/28/08 1:08 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Now I may have missed this somewhere in the review, but what are you going to DO with this gorgeous garment? To what fabulous affair will you wear this dress?
5/29/08 3:23 AM
nancy2001 said...
Phenomenal dress and photo. When they remake The Great Gatsby, you can play Daisy Buchanan in that dress.
5/29/08 9:10 AM
Fleur said...
Cathy Loves Fabric; Well a black tie reception next month; but it doesn't matter to me really- creating it was an experience (learning and otherwise) and I really enjoyed it. I think of it much in the same way as I think of a painting, paintings don't technically have a function beyond being admired but they still have value to us. Though, I do have a black tie affair coming up so it will get some practical use (my relatives are used to me dressing flamboyantly). Mostly, though, it's purpose is much more mundane than all of that. It's just a sample for any seamstress type work I may apply for, like a couple other of the more fancy things I have made. That, and it's just fun to do;)
5/29/08 10:07 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning dress and extremely helpful and thorough review. Thank you.
5/29/08 10:59 AM
Irene said...
Stunning. What an accomplishment: line, color, and drape that highlight your beauty, plus impeccable craftsmanship. Thank you, too, for the wonderful sewing lesson.
5/29/08 11:43 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Of course it is wonderful to create works of art for arts sake, but I'm glad this beauty gets a chance to leave the house and be shown off, lol. I'd love to see this in the pages of Threads.
5/29/08 12:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. The wealth of detail in your review is topped only by the beauty of your dress. Thank you. And I know the joy of making things for the sake of making them, but this really needs to be taken out and shown off. Bravo.
5/29/08 1:26 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Wow, what an amazing piece of work! And a very helpful review indeed. The dress is a total stunner, don't think I have ever seen such a great home sewn version of a 20's dress before. Gawd this dress makes me wish I was at least 5'6 and didn't have so much inward and outward curves going on on my body...
5/29/08 3:28 PM
edupraz said...
Beautiful dress! I really love the color and the girdle detail!
5/29/08 3:58 PM
Fleur said...
Lol, I will definitely have to find a way to keep this dress from being a "hanger ornament", heh. It is fancy enough it's in danger of taking up permanent residency in a closet, unless I lend it people... I sure don't get invited to many formals :/ Things are getting less and less formal these days, even weddings this might seem out of place. I will try though!
5/29/08 4:02 PM
carolynw said...
It's all been said so I will just add my WOW! I am bowled over by this dress and your work
5/29/08 5:24 PM
Kat Holliday said...
Wow just Wow! Stunning!
5/29/08 8:06 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great dress! It looks very Great Gatsby-ish!
5/31/08 11:07 PM
JuliN said...
What a stunner - the dress is gorgeous!
6/1/08 11:57 PM
sewcrazee said...
What a masterpiece... you can wear that with pride I am so envious wish it was in my closet....
6/2/08 9:55 PM
Athene said...
I love the Art Deco era and Vionnet is one of my favorites too. As everyone has said this dress is absolutely beautiful and definitely try to wear it whenever you can - its too gorgeous to sit in a closet. Also thank you so much for such an indepth review with so many wonderful tips, recommendations and pictures.
6/3/08 2:40 AM
patrica said...
This dress is stunning. Great review too.
6/3/08 7:14 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful dress, just love the color and it seems to work so well for that style. Congrats!
6/4/08 5:15 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh my! To say that you're an artist does not fully cover the situation, here. Your dress is exquisite, as your design choices and your couture hand sewing. This is nothing short of a masterpiece! Viewing your wonderful photos, I felt certain that your friend Christina was on her way to a Speak Easy to sip some Prohibition Tea. Thank you for sharing this Beauty and your inspirational review. -Lily
6/5/08 5:45 PM
rozzybabe said...
The amount of work & patience, especially with extremely difficult fabric, is much to your credit. A really superb job, with lots of specific tips. Will be looking for more details! GREAT job!
6/5/08 9:18 PM
jlucie said...
What an elegant dress! Love the color and medallion addition!
6/7/08 8:32 AM
trishapatk said...
C'est spectacular! Your sewing is especially impressive since you've only been sewing for three years! You did a tremendous amount of work for the dress and the review and I think you've raised the bar for all of us ... a good thing to do in any venue. My heart went out to you as I read about the hand rolled hem of never-ending torment! You deserve double rewards for that alone ... but for lots of other reasons as well. I'm truly impressed. Keep up the good work!
6/7/08 8:44 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
This dress looks absolutely fabulous, and your review is also great and very detailed ! I love the color, the fabric, the model, and the belt buckle is such a nice addition that fits perfectly with the rest.
6/8/08 4:27 AM
kiddo said...
Fab dress!!! It looks effortless on Christina and you. Thank you for all your explanations. Enjoy the dress for a long time!
6/27/08 11:21 AM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
extraordinarily helpful. VPL should be paying you!
6/27/08 3:45 PM
punk_rose said...
This is gorgeous! I LOVE this color, and the pattern flows and fits the color so well! Wonderful! I thought the first picture was from the pattern, or something!
7/8/08 8:50 PM
wisechick said...
Hands down, best review I've ever read here. Period. Amazing dress, but your documentation is the real work of art. Love the sketches! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing all your trials and tribulations. Though this dress is currently not available in my size, I know I will find this info useful for another project.
7/22/08 5:18 AM
firsthays said...
Wonderful!! I had a pic of my great gran in a dress simular...a wonderful dress...It will be in my to-do box once I get better at sewing! You gave a wonderful review, and very helpful hints(I copied to word to read again, hope you don't mind!) And I must say, you picked a great color!! Thank-you for all your help, and keep your needle sharp!
7/31/08 2:44 AM
ryvm said...
Fleur, your dress is absolutely gorgeous! I'm making the same pattern myself – through some miracle I managed to stumble on your review (i'm still not sure how, since I'm using the EvaDress pattern for this dress, so I certainly didn't find it through the pattern number… it might've been a search for silk charmeuse projects) and it's been a godsend through three mockups.  Thank you SO MUCH for the detail & wonderful drawings! Your instructions have been so clear that I've had a pretty easy time through the mockups, even though I'm a self-taught and fairly inexperienced seamstress. There was only one part that I couldn't figure out: I definitely see the problem with the slash points needing reinforcement or additional finishing, but I'm having a hard time figuring out how your slashed patch facing works to provide it. I've tried fooling around with it myself and nothing seems to look quite right after I get past the three steps in your photos. I can't figure out if I'm doing something wrong or if I simply don't understand its fundamental purpose. Do you have any pictures of what the slashed patch looks like when the seam has been finished? It would be such a huge help! Regardless of whether you're able to help me, thank you again for the wonderful review!
12/27/08 6:18 PM
AnnMarieJ said...
we bow to your goddess-like talents!
1/27/09 6:54 PM
A Badger among the Hawkeyes said...
OMG! I learned more about sewing by reading this review than I have in the last 10 years of sewing! you are TRULY an artist, a gifted artist. Your hand drawn illustrations of the pattern steps are phenomenal and your attention to detail and helpful hints ( like the tracing paper) are superb. I don't generally go on like this or even offer reviews, but when I came across this I had to compliment your incredible skills! I will keep track all your reviews from now on-thanks for sharing your talent with us.
10/15/09 10:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1187

photo
by: Monabel

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now