Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 5268 (Du Barry 1941 Jacket and Skirt) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 729 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:mouthygrace
photo
About mouthygracestar
PA USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 1:18 AM
Last Updated:5/15/08 1:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
It's funny how fashions come around again! Your short sleeve jacket is very NOW, even though it's vintage!
5/15/08 6:15 AM
chemmom said...
I really like the pattern in the jacket. I agree, this vintage look is back again.
5/15/08 8:32 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks very cute. I think that it does look very current, and you can't go wrong with a cinched waist. Very flattering.
5/15/08 11:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great marriage of fabric & pattern. I agree, vintage in a good way.
5/15/08 11:20 AM
EveS said...
Very trendy-vintage. Love the look...you do very nice work.
5/15/08 1:31 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely! I hope you enter your items in the vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
Cute top and nicely done - yes, be sure to enter it in the Vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
You brought a refreshing take on a classic! Gorgeous!
5/17/08 11:27 AM
MagpieJen said...
Really sweet! You tackled a vintage pattern and ended up with a polished looking jacket - I like it a lot!
5/25/08 1:44 AM
Kat Holliday said...
I thinks the 40's is my favorite era. Such an hour glass sillhouette!
5/29/08 8:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
I really like this top! It's not old ladyish at all! It's might be vintage, but it looks very current! You did a great job!
5/31/08 10:47 PM
AnneM said...
Great style. I just love the pattern styles from that time frame also.
6/4/08 5:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, Grace, detailing how you turned an 'old lady' piece into a fashion forward blouse for a stylish young woman. I think it would look smashing, too, with the matching, drapey skirt you're considering. (Did you insert shoulder pads, even though you don't want them, to see whether the bust to shoulder wrinkle disappears?) I just love this blouse on you! Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:03 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The jacket is really very cute, and the skirt was also nice.
6/8/08 4:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 9848
photo
Review by KatieN on 5/13/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3658
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 12/15/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us