SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> 5268 (Du Barry 1941 Jacket and Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:mouthygrace
photo

 
 
About mouthygracestar
PA USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 1:18 AM
Last Updated:5/15/08 1:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
It's funny how fashions come around again! Your short sleeve jacket is very NOW, even though it's vintage!
5/15/08 6:15 AM
chemmom said...
I really like the pattern in the jacket. I agree, this vintage look is back again.
5/15/08 8:32 AM
Re Becca said...
This looks very cute. I think that it does look very current, and you can't go wrong with a cinched waist. Very flattering.
5/15/08 11:03 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great marriage of fabric & pattern. I agree, vintage in a good way.
5/15/08 11:20 AM
EveS said...
Very trendy-vintage. Love the look...you do very nice work.
5/15/08 1:31 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely! I hope you enter your items in the vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
Cute top and nicely done - yes, be sure to enter it in the Vintage contest!
5/15/08 4:59 PM
Heatherrique said...
You brought a refreshing take on a classic! Gorgeous!
5/17/08 11:27 AM
MagpieJen said...
Really sweet! You tackled a vintage pattern and ended up with a polished looking jacket - I like it a lot!
5/25/08 1:44 AM
Kat Holliday said...
I thinks the 40's is my favorite era. Such an hour glass sillhouette!
5/29/08 8:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
I really like this top! It's not old ladyish at all! It's might be vintage, but it looks very current! You did a great job!
5/31/08 10:47 PM
AnneM said...
Great style. I just love the pattern styles from that time frame also.
6/4/08 5:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, Grace, detailing how you turned an 'old lady' piece into a fashion forward blouse for a stylish young woman. I think it would look smashing, too, with the matching, drapey skirt you're considering. (Did you insert shoulder pads, even though you don't want them, to see whether the bust to shoulder wrinkle disappears?) I just love this blouse on you! Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:03 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The jacket is really very cute, and the skirt was also nice.
6/8/08 4:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6111

photo
by: lamstu

Review
New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now