Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9333 (OOP from 1953) (Misses Dress and Jacket) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1327 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/08 3:39 PM
Last Updated:5/30/08 9:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
What a superb out fit. Jacket and dress together, you look like a movie star Bravo !
5/18/08 4:06 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! You look fabulous wearing it. After sewing my first vintage (1951) pattern, I find the details provided in the instructions exciting also.
5/18/08 4:16 PM
fabeins said...
That's gorgeous. Although I haven't a hope of getting my entry done in time for the contest, I'm inspired by yours!
5/18/08 4:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
well it is SO NICE to finally see your cute little face in something!! I was wondering who you were!! This was so fun to read. I enjoyed combing over every detail imagining your work. You worked sooo hard. The attention to detail is spectacular. I really love this mustardy cotton-gives the right vintage feel. Congratulations. So did you wear it to the concert??!!
5/18/08 5:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a wonderful dress! It looks divine! And it's so perfectly sewn! Just wonderful!
5/18/08 5:21 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Beautiful dress and jacket. Great review, love the details - thanks.
5/18/08 5:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ahh Kellie!!!! You captured the essence of Audrey H., Marilyn M, Grace K and Charlize Theron in this breathtaking dress and jacket! Your work is marvelous and inspiring! I mentioned it before and I will mention it again, you remind me of a young and gorgeous Jessica Walter (such an underrated and superb actress!) Again fresh and sizzling take on a classic style!
5/18/08 5:51 PM
Aixoise said...
Too beautiful. I kept saying "Wow!" with each photo - like a broken record (speaking of vintage). Your craftsmanship is exquisite, and the results are stunning . This is a perfect style for you. The glimpses of the guidesheets made me nostalgic for sewing with those patterns way back when.
5/18/08 5:55 PM
nellc said...
This is such a beautiful dress and jacket. Your attention to detail is wonderful with the choice of fabrics and finishes and hand crocheted lace edging on the skirt lining too! You look stunning in this.
5/18/08 6:54 PM
MissCelie said...
Kellie, I LOVE it. The jacket and dress together are darling! Way to set the bar!
5/18/08 7:24 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That looks ADORABLE!!!!! I LOVE the silhouette!!!! Great job!!!!!
5/18/08 9:57 PM
jhansby said...
Lovely!!
5/18/08 10:30 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for writing such a great review!! what a wonderfully gorgeous and fabulous ensemble!!! This is just what I need- more inspiration to start sewing some of the vintage patterns that I am collecting!!
5/19/08 0:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely creation!
5/19/08 5:32 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow!!! Your jacket and dress is gorgeous! Perfect fabric and colors. Thank you for providing the many tips and pictures. Enjoyed your review.
5/19/08 6:01 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Kellie, we need a rating for "incredibly, helpful" for this review. It's great. And as for the dress and jacket. ... WOW! Just gorgeous. And so impeccably finished and fitted. I am in awe of the whole outfit, and particularly love the jacket.
5/19/08 6:33 AM
NanKaye said...
It is a lovely dress, and I particularly like that the back is not too low. Very becoming. The only thing wrong with vintage patterns is deciding which to make! Thanks for the great review.
5/19/08 7:17 AM
carolynw said...
Classic - you look ready to walk the runway!
5/19/08 8:35 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing results! I so enjoyed every word and photo of your marvelous review! Even from the back, this dress is a show-stopper! Every detail is perfect. The hand-crocheted lace brought tears to my eyes. You must feel like a princess in this dress. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this detailed review.
5/19/08 8:56 AM
maryfrana said...
Absolutely splendid! Love everything. Love it with the jacket. The crocheted edging...just too much. This is just so beautiful and looks so fresh and modern. Beautiful beautiful job.
5/19/08 10:10 AM
LindsayT said...
What a classic vintage look. I just love this entire ensemble!
5/19/08 3:00 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful ensemble. Your detail work is just amazing.
5/19/08 5:15 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress! It suits you perfectly!
5/19/08 6:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks so much for all of your very kind comments. This was such a pleasure to make!
5/20/08 7:38 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Kellie, Your dress is just magnificent! You diid a remarkable job on both the dress and jacket and your review is AWESOME! Love those covered buttons! Good luck in the contest!!!
5/21/08 10:45 AM
EveS said...
Beautiful work, Kellie! I REALLY love the look w/ the jacket...just perfect! And thanks for the over-the-top-helpful review. Bonus points all around! :)
5/21/08 9:57 PM
Michelle L said...
Thank you for a great review, so detailed! Amazing dress, I love it.
5/21/08 10:16 PM
cindyann said...
Fantastic! I just adore it! I lurve your fabric choices. It's really just amazing.
5/22/08 8:42 AM
DorothyK said...
Gorgeous outfit. Impeccable work. Thank you for this terrific review.
5/22/08 9:33 AM
Kat Holliday said...
So gorgeous and it looks great on you!
5/23/08 9:19 AM
MagpieJen said...
I notice in your profile you mention how you were looking forward to doing up a vintage pattern - and here you are! You're nailing it - a classic, fun, ladylike pattern and you look fabulous!
5/25/08 1:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a wonderful dress and jacket! You look so very timelessly chic! And the shoes!! How perfect are they with this??
5/25/08 11:42 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Beautiful outfit!! Are you able to wear a convertible or strapless bra with the dress?
5/26/08 4:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you SO MUCH ladies - It means a lot to me to know that you enjoyed this review. Rhonda, yes! I'm wearing a convertible bra with this. It's one where the straps can be regular, halter, cross-back or strapless. The back of the dress is high enough and the neckline does not plunge too low - it's sexy without being revealing and allowing coverage/support!
5/26/08 6:27 PM
betty in the kitchen said...
A beautiful work of art. thankyou for sharing
5/27/08 7:28 PM
nancy2001 said...
Spectacular and iconic dress. All we need is the subway grating from Marilyn's scene in the Seven Year Itch.
5/29/08 8:41 AM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate post
5/29/08 8:50 AM
Speech girl said...
So beautiful--wow!
5/30/08 12:27 PM
MagpieJen said...
I'm really a fan of the jacket and the crochet trim! I think they add a lot to the look - and the look is fantastic all round! :)
5/30/08 12:30 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. I love the fit of the halter top - why can't they still design clothes that sexy that don't require either a 20 year old body or drastic underwear? This is subtle and an absolute knockout. Bravo.
5/30/08 1:34 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Totally agree with karen6790 as above, this dress is elegant and sexy for grown-ups, thanks for the review and great photos too.
5/30/08 3:25 PM
sewing addict said...
Beautiful outfit. Great review. Gorgeous pictures. So vintage!
5/30/08 5:18 PM
Annette1 said...
What a FABULOUS outfit! I thought the dress was great, THEN I saw it with the jacket, and it took it to a whole new level. :o) You look beautiful in this style, no doubt about it! Thanks for including all the great pictures.
5/31/08 1:06 AM
Fine Fabrics said...
Great job of fitting and construction. I find it difficult to get a halter bust line uniform and flattering. You did a fabulous job.
5/31/08 5:29 PM
solosmocker said...
Great, great outfit! Your review was incredible at describing your process of making this dress and jacket. Your attention to detail makes my heart beat fast. Good luck in the contest.!
5/31/08 7:27 PM
Birgitte said...
What a gorgeous outfit! This style looks amazing on you- truly deserving of your name ;-) Congratulations, outstanding job!
6/2/08 1:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your ensemble is a work of art. I just love your crocheted edging for the skirt lining.
6/4/08 4:09 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Kellie, I'm *flabbergasted* with this presentation. The dress, the jacket, the crochet trim detail, the perfection of construction, the integrity to era ... ah, the Beauty! Your review is unparalleled in its depth, and if your shoes feel damp, that would be me drooling over them. GLORIOUS! I bow in deference, Lily
6/5/08 4:08 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The outfit looks really great, and the finishing touches are beautiful !
6/8/08 4:35 AM
trishapatk said...
You did such a beautiful job on the construction of these two pieces. I loved reading about the details and seeing good close up shots of them. Sorry to hear that you wanted to buy the same pattern as I did ... but I am glad that you found something so very nice from that same era. Having the jacket to go with the dress makes it all the more special and showcases your abilities even more fully. Thanks for keeping the bar raised so nice and high ... and a wonderful submission and review!
6/10/08 4:16 PM
adrianna1973 said...
Wonderful outfit. Love the jacket - it looks great together. I especially loved the buttons and handmade lace.
5/13/09 12:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B
photo
Review by dillyo on 1/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2559
photo
Review by cegehin on 10/31/12
Read Review

New Look 6932 Pattern
New Look 6932 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us