SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 5265 (Du Barry 1940s Shirtdress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:mouthygrace
photo

 
 
About mouthygracestar
PA USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/08 11:18 PM
Last Updated:6/13/08 10:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goldesdottar said...
The dress came out very nicely - it is more visible, fortunately, in the detail pix you've provided. Have you considered the bias styles from the '30s - they should work very well for your slender figure - i'm becoming a fan because of your obvious love of vinatge patterns ;-}.
5/23/08 11:31 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Oh Mackensie, I just adore this dress! You did an outstandiing job. This is indeed my most favorite period dress. There was a time in the middle 70's when this is all I would wear. I lived outdise of PGH PA at the time and would shop the thrift stores to find dresses and shoes to match. Great workmanship and an excellent review! ~Connie ps You should enter this in the Vintage Contest!!!
5/24/08 0:25 AM
EveS said...
Wow, my second thought (after "Great dress!") was, "Holy moly, that's a lotta buttons!!!" You are far more patient than I. Beautiful dress. You really know how to bring the vintage looks up to current appeal!
5/24/08 0:49 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great job with the dress! I have a luv for the 40's too. I really enjoy reading your review. I'm cheering you on too like Connie, go ahead entered it into the Vintage Contest....
5/24/08 0:52 AM
anetJay said...
ooh LOVE IT !!! great fabric too !!! it looks lovely on you :)
5/24/08 6:12 AM
NanKaye said...
Keep rockin' on with the vintage! All your topstitching looks marv, and you do have the right shoes for the dress. Who needs instructions!!!
5/24/08 7:08 AM
blue mooney said...
Great style/decade for you! You found a perfect fabric for your pattern.
5/24/08 7:56 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Vintage looks FABULOUS on you! Your dress is beautiful and wonderfully constructed. Good review!
5/24/08 8:01 AM
Rustybobn said...
That's wonderful! Great job.
5/24/08 8:22 AM
mastdenman said...
I love your vintage dresses. This one is another great one.
5/24/08 8:47 AM
Beek said...
The princess seamed dresses of the forties are my favorites as well. Yours is the epitome of that flattering style. The fabric you selected is perfect. Well done!
5/24/08 9:07 AM
dorothyn said...
Very, very cute, and nice work too. It looks really nice on you. A shirt dress really suits your slim hipped figure!
5/24/08 9:29 AM
Huldra said...
Beautiful dress, and such a perfect fabric for the pattern!
5/24/08 6:33 PM
maryfrana said...
You should be wearing dresses like this one everyday! Wonderful job, love the fabric choice and the style is very beautiful on you. Did you enter it in the vintage contest?
5/24/08 7:34 PM
MagpieJen said...
That's a swell dress! I see you went on from your jacket and skirt to even more vintage - wonderful! Great choice of fabric too.
5/25/08 1:49 AM
mary in FL said...
Good job! Even your shoes are channeling the 40's.
5/25/08 1:14 PM
wvsher said...
Gorgeous dress! Your hair suits any decade as is; it is very beautiful and classic, just like the dress. :)
5/25/08 11:06 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very chic vintage look. I hear the Andrews Sisters singing Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy of Company B.
5/29/08 9:01 AM
Kat Holliday said...
What a wonderful dress! I love the fabric!
5/29/08 8:02 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress turned out so cute! And you did it without the original instructions! Great job!
5/31/08 11:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a perfectly wonderful dress. I love it.
6/3/08 10:04 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. Your fabric works well with the style.
6/4/08 5:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I agree that the shirtdress is a fabulous style for your slim body type, and you've developed quite a Winner with this beautiful vintage dress. The fabric is perfect, your construction is superb, and the final look is so charming - a little bit vintage, a little bit modern. Just a smashing look for you. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:58 PM
ConnieBJ said...
A great dress and it looks wonderful on you! The review darn good as well!
6/5/08 6:17 PM
jlucie said...
Wow! Very authentic fabric choice and flattering cut! I, too, had several styles like this in the 70's from thrift stores. The style is timeless. Super job!
6/7/08 7:42 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
As your jacket, this is a very cute piece, that would be very easy to wear in lots of circumstances. And the fabric is great with this pattern.
6/8/08 4:51 AM
sharen54 said...
I'm a bit biased as this is my daughter, but the dress is truly well-done and it looks great on her.
6/9/08 8:13 AM
Athene said...
This dress is definitely you - I love it and hope to see more vintage reviews from you. They suit you so well.
6/13/08 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1181

photo
by: valkyrie01

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1003

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now