Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 4592 (Printed Pattern (OOP Vintage)) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 396 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/08 2:06 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your hard work payed off--your dress is lovely.
5/29/08 3:01 PM
wvsher said...
You did a great job on your cute shirtdress despite the shoddy instructions. Thanks for the review!
5/29/08 3:35 PM
morzel said...
Nice work! Very cool dress. The skirt doesn´t look as narrow though as on the envelope (which I rather like). I especially like the broad button placket.
5/29/08 4:45 PM
AquariJenn said...
Cute dress! It does look very modern. You did an excellent job with the fitting.
5/29/08 5:06 PM
Beek said...
Looks so comfortable and professional. I love shirt dresses!
5/29/08 5:23 PM
sew42mom said...
Your dress looks great! Vintage, yet still a modern look.
5/29/08 7:42 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is so sharp! Wow - I am impressed with your ability to tailor and modify, I might have to look more seriously at doing a sloper! Anyway - it looks great and, like you say, so versatile! I'm curious whether the original pattern actually had that short a hem? If you chose to raise it a bit, I second the decision :-), you can pull off above-the-knee!
5/29/08 8:27 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Morzel, yes, the skirt is a slightly a-line, (maybe 2 cm) whereas on the drawing it looks almost tapered. I am glad it was that way, while I love the look of tapered skirts, I do appreciate the room of movement! Magpiejen, you caught me, forgot to say that in the review (I will add it) apart from taking away an inch for my 5'3 frame I also took away 1,5 inch more to get the proportions right (mid calf makes me look really short legged)
5/30/08 1:24 AM
Nancy K said...
This looks amazingly modern. It is flattering and lovely on you.
5/30/08 8:21 AM
Kellie R. said...
This turned out great. I'm glad the instructions didn't deter you from finishing. Very cute dress.
5/30/08 9:09 AM
fryman said...
It's a classic!
5/30/08 2:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
Despite the bad instructions, you did a great job on this adorable dress!
5/31/08 11:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Super, super, super work! I always like your design choices. "looks distinct and timeless at the same time" - that's exactly right. This is so wearable - not costume-y at all.
6/1/08 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a wonderful dress with incredible details. Your hard work paid off in a darling dress.
6/1/08 9:27 AM
bell N said...
Lovely and simple, but such great vintage details.
6/3/08 7:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
The details on this are great. I think the seersucker is a perfect fabric for it.
6/3/08 12:59 PM
AnneM said...
Well, who would have thought from the picture that this caused you so many headaches? !! You did a great job. Congratulations on the dress and your determination.
6/4/08 5:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Johanna, Your pretty and timeless dress is so beautifully sewn and perfectly modified to your individual body type. It looks marvelous, and yes, surprisingly modern. It sounds like the horrible instructions may have stopped a less determined creator. Thank heavens you had your sloper for reference. This is extremely lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:46 PM
jlucie said...
Terrific dress and details! Love how you kept the notions authentic and even sewed it on a vintage machine! The fabric is a perfect. Beautiful job!
6/7/08 8:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Other Accessory Wardrobe 2010
photo
Review by christinas... on 9/30/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5677
photo
Review by nicegirl on 12/20/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us