SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 4592 (Printed Pattern (OOP Vintage))

Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/08 2:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your hard work payed off--your dress is lovely.
5/29/08 3:01 PM
wvsher said...
You did a great job on your cute shirtdress despite the shoddy instructions. Thanks for the review!
5/29/08 3:35 PM
morzel said...
Nice work! Very cool dress. The skirt doesn´t look as narrow though as on the envelope (which I rather like). I especially like the broad button placket.
5/29/08 4:45 PM
AquariJenn said...
Cute dress! It does look very modern. You did an excellent job with the fitting.
5/29/08 5:06 PM
Beek said...
Looks so comfortable and professional. I love shirt dresses!
5/29/08 5:23 PM
sew42mom said...
Your dress looks great! Vintage, yet still a modern look.
5/29/08 7:42 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is so sharp! Wow - I am impressed with your ability to tailor and modify, I might have to look more seriously at doing a sloper! Anyway - it looks great and, like you say, so versatile! I'm curious whether the original pattern actually had that short a hem? If you chose to raise it a bit, I second the decision :-), you can pull off above-the-knee!
5/29/08 8:27 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Morzel, yes, the skirt is a slightly a-line, (maybe 2 cm) whereas on the drawing it looks almost tapered. I am glad it was that way, while I love the look of tapered skirts, I do appreciate the room of movement! Magpiejen, you caught me, forgot to say that in the review (I will add it) apart from taking away an inch for my 5'3 frame I also took away 1,5 inch more to get the proportions right (mid calf makes me look really short legged)
5/30/08 1:24 AM
Nancy K said...
This looks amazingly modern. It is flattering and lovely on you.
5/30/08 8:21 AM
Kellie R. said...
This turned out great. I'm glad the instructions didn't deter you from finishing. Very cute dress.
5/30/08 9:09 AM
fryman said...
It's a classic!
5/30/08 2:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
Despite the bad instructions, you did a great job on this adorable dress!
5/31/08 11:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Super, super, super work! I always like your design choices. "looks distinct and timeless at the same time" - that's exactly right. This is so wearable - not costume-y at all.
6/1/08 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a wonderful dress with incredible details. Your hard work paid off in a darling dress.
6/1/08 9:27 AM
bell N said...
Lovely and simple, but such great vintage details.
6/3/08 7:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
The details on this are great. I think the seersucker is a perfect fabric for it.
6/3/08 12:59 PM
AnneM said...
Well, who would have thought from the picture that this caused you so many headaches? !! You did a great job. Congratulations on the dress and your determination.
6/4/08 5:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Johanna, Your pretty and timeless dress is so beautifully sewn and perfectly modified to your individual body type. It looks marvelous, and yes, surprisingly modern. It sounds like the horrible instructions may have stopped a less determined creator. Thank heavens you had your sloper for reference. This is extremely lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:46 PM
jlucie said...
Terrific dress and details! Love how you kept the notions authentic and even sewed it on a vintage machine! The fabric is a perfect. Beautiful job!
6/7/08 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

StyleArc Jessica Dress

photo
by: thewall

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now