SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> V&A Museum Couture Dress (V&A Museum Couture Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:shannie
photo

 
 
About shanniestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/26/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/28/08 8:54 PM
Last Updated:6/22/08 12:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Yeah! You finished. The photo is very very tiny so it's hard to see what it looks like. I am just so impressed that you tried this.
5/28/08 9:09 PM
angie.a said...
Oh I'd love to see this Shannie! I hope you can enlarge the picture! Thanks for the link. :)
5/28/08 9:35 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, I'm impressed. It's a gorgeous style and the colour you chose is very pretty.
5/29/08 4:28 AM
jent said...
This is very cool! Great color choices. I'd love to see some more pictures - especialy of you wearing it. I think your mannequin probably does not do it justice.
5/29/08 6:17 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for making this! It's so nice to see it sewn up, even with your rush job, it's lovely.
5/29/08 7:33 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Yay, for finally seeing a review of this pretty dress. I am even more tempted now, I really like your version.
5/29/08 3:18 PM
MagpieJen said...
That's so cool - what a neat pattern to attempt. I really like your choice of contrast! Now you've got to get a nice, full petticoat to try it with :-) (actually, I tend to prefer not wearing petticoats with these big skirts myself, but you should try and see if you like it.)
5/29/08 8:21 PM
cfabrication said...
I am amazed that you were able to not only figure out the pattern but grade it and sew it!

I downloaded the A4 version and looked at it. It's an understatement to say it looks like it wouldn't be the easiest pattern to figure out. I wonder if the person credited with the pattern actually measured the dress and "reverse engineered" the pattern or whether she started with how the dress looked and came up with a pattern based on that.

I also wonder if the person who made the pattern sewed a sample. It seems to me surprising that your midriff piece came out so long since the overall fit is so good and that makes me wonder about the overall pattern development.

I think when you refit the waist line, you might want to lift the (fabulous!) pink trim. In the picture at the V&A site the trim is just above the bottom of the bust line -- a little higher than an empire waist would be.

The colors were an inspired choice. I'd love to see it on.

Really well done.
5/30/08 0:19 AM

Kimbra said...
I love your dress Shannie, I hope everyone knows that the photo just doesn't do it justice!
5/30/08 12:37 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!! Great job!!!
5/30/08 7:37 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great vintage dress! I love the pockets and their placement, too! Even without the waist alteration, your dress looks very pretty! And thanks for the heads up about the free download!
5/31/08 11:03 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Shannie, I'm just amazed that you completed this creation on the weekend before the close of the Contest. Wow! To grade up a vintage pattern is no small task; to complete it with the clock ticking down is unimaginable to me. Love your fabrics, too. I feel certain that you tweaking will go very well, too. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 6:06 PM
rachies mum said...
thanks for the enabling!
6/6/08 8:43 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
It looks really nice with these fabrics, so I hope you will be able to alter it to your satisfaction !
6/8/08 4:59 AM
Elizabeth56 said...
Hang in there your dress is very cute. Listen to advise of others and learn from other sewers and designers.
6/10/08 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, what a change! Great work redesigning your vintage dress to a thoroughly modern counterpart!
6/23/08 7:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2009-102

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Vogue Patterns 9818

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now