Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 9857 vintage OOP - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 403 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:maryfrana
photo
Friend of PR
About maryfranastarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/04
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/08 11:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
How stunning you look in this gorgeous ensemble! I LOVE that fabric as detailed in the close-up picture. Boy, that COAT ... I'm in love with it too! With the coordinating dress, it's just perfect!
5/31/08 0:59 AM
MagpieJen said...
Superb! You look classic and sharp - the dress is very nice, but I can see why you love the coat. The coat is special - all that handwork has paid off!
5/31/08 1:04 AM
ITAdmin said...
Not only a beautiful coat, but such an interesting review. It highlights some of the differences between sewing "back then" and now,
5/31/08 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely beautiful - we did really sew with much greater emphasis on the small but important details back then didn't we?
5/31/08 8:23 AM
MissCelie said...
This is STUNNING. I am in awe of your ensemble. Way to follow the intent and vision of the contest with all the handwork and non-fusibles!
5/31/08 8:25 AM
Speech girl said...
Your outfit is beautiful--love the contrast of the red dress with the coat. Great job!
5/31/08 11:38 AM
wvsher said...
Lovely ensemble, and what an adorable pattern!
5/31/08 9:29 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love love LOVE this!!! You look beautiful in it! And what a dramatic pic! It makes me feel like I've taken a step back in time and reminds me of Kim Novak's clothes in Vertigo. This is just gorgeous!
5/31/08 10:41 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so beautiful! I can see why you have loved this pattern for so long and how great that you found the perfect fabric. I'm impressed that you hand stitched the entire lining. The results are worth it. Just perfect; I hope you are enjoying wearing your beautiful coat to Midsummer Night's Dream!
6/1/08 11:45 PM
stat_princess said...
Mary Fran - This is fantastic work!! I can't wait to get a close up in person look at the handwork. I am a HUGE fan of the ginormous pockets - one can never have enough with modern clothes and this is stylish and functional. Also, I 'd like to say that the photography is well done - you're a natural!
6/2/08 2:57 AM
aunt saidee said...
I am speechless. This is yet another incredible ensemble in your wardrobe of Mary Fran Retro Originals. Absolutely stunning. I can't wait to see this one up close and personal! Your review is wonderfully comprehensive: I am intrigued by the hand-worked lining and the results you report.
6/2/08 12:12 PM
Athene said...
You look so beautiful. The coat is absolutely exquisite. Thank you for all the wonderful pictures and the great review. So much time, patience and effort is evident in your review - this is definitely an example of vintage at its very best.
6/3/08 3:14 AM
AnneM said...
What a lovely coat. It is so classy and graceful.
6/4/08 5:16 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Maryfrana, you are a Vision of Loveliness in your vintage ensemble! Your fabric choices, pattern choices, exquisite sewing techniques, accessories - all leave me breathless! I do hope you'll find many occasions to don your Passions from the Past, as it is now your responsibility to display your beautiful self to as many people as possible. THIS is how a real Lady should look! -Lily
6/5/08 5:59 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
You made a beautiful coat ! This is another case where I saw this type of patterns before and wondered how one could wear this kind of coat, but it looks great and so wearable and I might go looking for one also...
6/8/08 5:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 3955
photo
Review by mowse on 11/30/07
Read Review

Chelsea
Chelsea

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1150 DRESS
photo
Review by Sandi S on 4/2/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us