SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 9857 vintage OOP 

Viewed 403 times 
Reviewed by:maryfrana
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maryfranastarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/04
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/08 11:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Primatoidefutile said...
You made a beautiful coat ! This is another case where I saw this type of patterns before and wondered how one could wear this kind of coat, but it looks great and so wearable and I might go looking for one also...
6/8/08 5:06 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Maryfrana, you are a Vision of Loveliness in your vintage ensemble! Your fabric choices, pattern choices, exquisite sewing techniques, accessories - all leave me breathless! I do hope you'll find many occasions to don your Passions from the Past, as it is now your responsibility to display your beautiful self to as many people as possible. THIS is how a real Lady should look! -Lily
6/5/08 5:59 PM
AnneM said...
What a lovely coat. It is so classy and graceful.
6/4/08 5:16 PM
Athene said...
You look so beautiful. The coat is absolutely exquisite. Thank you for all the wonderful pictures and the great review. So much time, patience and effort is evident in your review - this is definitely an example of vintage at its very best.
6/3/08 3:14 AM
aunt saidee said...
I am speechless. This is yet another incredible ensemble in your wardrobe of Mary Fran Retro Originals. Absolutely stunning. I can't wait to see this one up close and personal! Your review is wonderfully comprehensive: I am intrigued by the hand-worked lining and the results you report.
6/2/08 12:12 PM
stat_princess said...
Mary Fran - This is fantastic work!! I can't wait to get a close up in person look at the handwork. I am a HUGE fan of the ginormous pockets - one can never have enough with modern clothes and this is stylish and functional. Also, I 'd like to say that the photography is well done - you're a natural!
6/2/08 2:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is so beautiful! I can see why you have loved this pattern for so long and how great that you found the perfect fabric. I'm impressed that you hand stitched the entire lining. The results are worth it. Just perfect; I hope you are enjoying wearing your beautiful coat to Midsummer Night's Dream!
6/1/08 11:45 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love love LOVE this!!! You look beautiful in it! And what a dramatic pic! It makes me feel like I've taken a step back in time and reminds me of Kim Novak's clothes in Vertigo. This is just gorgeous!
5/31/08 10:41 PM
wvsher said...
Lovely ensemble, and what an adorable pattern!
5/31/08 9:29 PM
Speech girl said...
Your outfit is beautiful--love the contrast of the red dress with the coat. Great job!
5/31/08 11:38 AM
MissCelie said...
This is STUNNING. I am in awe of your ensemble. Way to follow the intent and vision of the contest with all the handwork and non-fusibles!
5/31/08 8:25 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely beautiful - we did really sew with much greater emphasis on the small but important details back then didn't we?
5/31/08 8:23 AM
ITAdmin said...
Not only a beautiful coat, but such an interesting review. It highlights some of the differences between sewing "back then" and now,
5/31/08 7:25 AM
MagpieJen said...
Superb! You look classic and sharp - the dress is very nice, but I can see why you love the coat. The coat is special - all that handwork has paid off!
5/31/08 1:04 AM
Annette1 said...
How stunning you look in this gorgeous ensemble! I LOVE that fabric as detailed in the close-up picture. Boy, that COAT ... I'm in love with it too! With the coordinating dress, it's just perfect!
5/31/08 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
McCall's 6103

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now