SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1583 

Viewed 780 times 
Reviewed by:Primatoidefutile
photo

 
 
About Primatoidefutilestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 1:51 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 1:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
Fantastic! You did a phenomenal job with the fabric pattern - I had to keep switching back to your description from the photos to recall whether the blouse was out on top of the skirt or tucked in. The two pieces completely blend in. I love how you used the border print too. A striking outfit - your hard work on the fitting (thank you for including all those details!) has paid off!
5/31/08 2:25 PM
MagpieJen said...
Oops - double comment!
5/31/08 2:25 PM
mendospot said...
Wow!
5/31/08 3:08 PM
Kbenco said...
Your vintage outfit looks wonderful. I am not surprised that you have received compliments from strangers. All your hard work with fitting and pattern placement has given a terrific, show stopping result. I am off to find my French dictionary so that I can read more details on your blog. Thank you for this great review.
5/31/08 3:40 PM
SewLimited said...
Nicely done!
5/31/08 4:08 PM
Fine Fabrics said...
I just love that silhouette. Wish I wear it as well as you!
5/31/08 5:26 PM
vespabelle said...
Using the border print on this makes it a stunner!
5/31/08 7:10 PM
wvsher said...
Your ensemble is so beautiful! I would never have thought to match the blouse and skirt fabric and wear the blouse on the outside. I love the look!
5/31/08 9:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute dress and what a cute pose! It's looks like one they used on a lot of pattern envelopes! So FUN!!!
5/31/08 10:54 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Such a clever way to use an African print. And I was totally fooled by the trompe-l'oeil effect, it looks like dress to me! Basically you got 4 options from one pattern. Very nice outift!
6/1/08 5:08 AM
Kellie R. said...
The fabric works very well with this style. You did a great job and congratulations on your first vintage pattern!
6/1/08 11:26 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Great combination of fabric and pattern! Very sweet style. This would look good with a belt, too, for a change.
6/3/08 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your dress, and all your 1st's with the dress. Love the use of the border for the neckline. You must be thrilled with the dress.
6/4/08 5:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Magda, Your dress is magnificent; your workmanship is superb. The fabric is gorgeous, and of course, strangers MUST comment on the sheer beauty of you wearing this dress. Thank you so much for sharing this artistic venture as your first review, and I look forward to seeing many more of your creations. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 6:19 PM
jlucie said...
This fabric is beautiful and a wonderful choice for the pattern. Love your interpretation!
6/7/08 8:26 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Dear all, Thanks very much for the comments, and my apologies for not replying earlier to them. Do not bother with the french text on the blog, it is a simplified version of what I wrote here. Thanks again, and I will write other reviews, but I have more patterns than sewing time...
6/8/08 4:31 AM
shesflipped said...
Simply stunning!
6/9/08 8:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling dress! I adore your choice of fabric and color combination! You look spectacular! You added a spicy new life to a classic!
6/10/08 9:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 3588

photo
by: Jennifer s...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8248

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now