Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1583 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 780 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Primatoidefutile
photo
About Primatoidefutilestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 1:51 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 1:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
Fantastic! You did a phenomenal job with the fabric pattern - I had to keep switching back to your description from the photos to recall whether the blouse was out on top of the skirt or tucked in. The two pieces completely blend in. I love how you used the border print too. A striking outfit - your hard work on the fitting (thank you for including all those details!) has paid off!
5/31/08 2:25 PM
MagpieJen said...
Oops - double comment!
5/31/08 2:25 PM
mendospot said...
Wow!
5/31/08 3:08 PM
Kbenco said...
Your vintage outfit looks wonderful. I am not surprised that you have received compliments from strangers. All your hard work with fitting and pattern placement has given a terrific, show stopping result. I am off to find my French dictionary so that I can read more details on your blog. Thank you for this great review.
5/31/08 3:40 PM
SewLimited said...
Nicely done!
5/31/08 4:08 PM
Fine Fabrics said...
I just love that silhouette. Wish I wear it as well as you!
5/31/08 5:26 PM
vespabelle said...
Using the border print on this makes it a stunner!
5/31/08 7:10 PM
wvsher said...
Your ensemble is so beautiful! I would never have thought to match the blouse and skirt fabric and wear the blouse on the outside. I love the look!
5/31/08 9:56 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute dress and what a cute pose! It's looks like one they used on a lot of pattern envelopes! So FUN!!!
5/31/08 10:54 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Such a clever way to use an African print. And I was totally fooled by the trompe-l'oeil effect, it looks like dress to me! Basically you got 4 options from one pattern. Very nice outift!
6/1/08 5:08 AM
Kellie R. said...
The fabric works very well with this style. You did a great job and congratulations on your first vintage pattern!
6/1/08 11:26 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Great combination of fabric and pattern! Very sweet style. This would look good with a belt, too, for a change.
6/3/08 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your dress, and all your 1st's with the dress. Love the use of the border for the neckline. You must be thrilled with the dress.
6/4/08 5:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Magda, Your dress is magnificent; your workmanship is superb. The fabric is gorgeous, and of course, strangers MUST comment on the sheer beauty of you wearing this dress. Thank you so much for sharing this artistic venture as your first review, and I look forward to seeing many more of your creations. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 6:19 PM
jlucie said...
This fabric is beautiful and a wonderful choice for the pattern. Love your interpretation!
6/7/08 8:26 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Dear all, Thanks very much for the comments, and my apologies for not replying earlier to them. Do not bother with the french text on the blog, it is a simplified version of what I wrote here. Thanks again, and I will write other reviews, but I have more patterns than sewing time...
6/8/08 4:31 AM
shesflipped said...
Simply stunning!
6/9/08 8:26 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling dress! I adore your choice of fabric and color combination! You look spectacular! You added a spicy new life to a classic!
6/10/08 9:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 4003
photo
Review by Immelu on 9/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by mnitts on 10/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us