SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 7229 (Half Size and Women's Dresses)

Viewed 279 times 
Reviewed by:wvsher
photo

 
 
About wvsherstar
WV USA
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 7:32 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 7:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
You did a great job on your first trimming project! I don't think you look like a waitress at all - you look casual but collected and classy :-)
5/31/08 8:34 PM
linda 75142 said...
Great job. Love this one!
5/31/08 11:47 PM
blue mooney said...
Imagine finding a vintage pattern that fits without major alterations! That's gold, girl. This is the kind of style you can make again & again, so you are extra fortunate. Good for you on persevering with the neckline!
6/1/08 8:44 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking dress - Well done.
6/1/08 11:37 AM
Speech girl said...
Your dress looks very classic (and classy): I love the white trim on the black.
6/1/08 1:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is classic cool on you! You gave it a modern edge!
6/1/08 2:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
Great job! Black and white is such a great combination - even when it's out, it's in. The white trim detailing is sharp and the dress looks great on you! Very classic!
6/2/08 0:02 AM
Kbenco said...
Wow, a dress that fits straight out of the envelope, and vintage no less! I am jealous. I , too think this looks very classy. Your issues with the neck have resolved nicely with all your hard work to fix it, good save!
6/2/08 6:45 AM
ITAdmin said...
It is a timeless look, but has a definitive vintage vibe. It brings back memories of some dresses I had "back when." You did a nice job sewing it.
6/3/08 12:53 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent fit for you. I can't say it makes me think of a waitress; just don't wear an apron with it. ;) Most definitely wearable. It would probably be fun with a print as well.
6/4/08 5:11 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review; I felt like I was in your sewing room with you. Great fit, great colors, great trim work. This looks *nothing* like a waitress uniform; it's a pretty classic and timeless dress that I hope you re-make many times, as it looks wonderful on you. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:16 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
This is a really nice classical dress, and the white trims make it look less serious and more classy.
6/8/08 4:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1004

photo
by: montanachi...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern Double Collar Blouse

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now