SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 7229 (Half Size and Women's Dresses)

Viewed 279 times 
Reviewed by:wvsher
photo

 
 
About wvsherstar
WV USA
Member since: 3/21/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 7:32 PM
Last Updated:5/31/08 7:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
You did a great job on your first trimming project! I don't think you look like a waitress at all - you look casual but collected and classy :-)
5/31/08 8:34 PM
linda 75142 said...
Great job. Love this one!
5/31/08 11:47 PM
blue mooney said...
Imagine finding a vintage pattern that fits without major alterations! That's gold, girl. This is the kind of style you can make again & again, so you are extra fortunate. Good for you on persevering with the neckline!
6/1/08 8:44 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking dress - Well done.
6/1/08 11:37 AM
Speech girl said...
Your dress looks very classic (and classy): I love the white trim on the black.
6/1/08 1:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is classic cool on you! You gave it a modern edge!
6/1/08 2:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
Great job! Black and white is such a great combination - even when it's out, it's in. The white trim detailing is sharp and the dress looks great on you! Very classic!
6/2/08 0:02 AM
Kbenco said...
Wow, a dress that fits straight out of the envelope, and vintage no less! I am jealous. I , too think this looks very classy. Your issues with the neck have resolved nicely with all your hard work to fix it, good save!
6/2/08 6:45 AM
ITAdmin said...
It is a timeless look, but has a definitive vintage vibe. It brings back memories of some dresses I had "back when." You did a nice job sewing it.
6/3/08 12:53 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent fit for you. I can't say it makes me think of a waitress; just don't wear an apron with it. ;) Most definitely wearable. It would probably be fun with a print as well.
6/4/08 5:11 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review; I felt like I was in your sewing room with you. Great fit, great colors, great trim work. This looks *nothing* like a waitress uniform; it's a pretty classic and timeless dress that I hope you re-make many times, as it looks wonderful on you. Lovely, Lily
6/5/08 3:16 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
This is a really nice classical dress, and the white trims make it look less serious and more classy.
6/8/08 4:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 8197

photo
by: Cynbular

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6650

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review