Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2148 (Childs Coat & Hat Vintage OOP) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 434 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 8:48 PM
Last Updated:6/6/08 3:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO CUTE!!!!! I just LOVE that color green!!! I hope the hat fits.
5/31/08 9:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is wonderful. please don't be down on yourself about it! It is going to be so hard to vote! I LOVE this!!
5/31/08 9:22 PM
Linda G said...
I think that coat is one of the most darling things I have seen in a long time, and I love the color.
5/31/08 9:37 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is just soo adorable! I love sets like this! You did a wonderful job!!!
5/31/08 10:48 PM
nglalala said...
it looks great!
6/1/08 1:43 AM
mewiththree said...
Well, for all your difficulties, I think it turned out beautiful! Even the color of the fabric looks really retro! I can almost visualize a little girl wearing this long ago! I really commend your tenacity for finishing this, even though you were disappointed in it!
6/1/08 8:49 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
This coat is absolutely adorable, and the hat doesn't look bad either. Good luck in the contest.
6/1/08 10:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
This is the ensemble that I could not wait to see: breathtakingly beautiful beyond words! I am so sorry about the nature of the fabric and that you are not pleased with the darling looking pieces. Despite your challenges, impressive work on these!
6/1/08 10:07 AM
MagpieJen said...
Oh - I hope you grow to love this little outfit, once you put some distance between yourself and the pains of making it - 'cause it really is darling! I even like the hat! I'll wear it if Ava doesn't ;-)
6/1/08 12:56 PM
Tiner W said...
The outfit looks so perfect, I would never have guessed that you had any trouble with it! Bravo for finishing!
6/1/08 7:53 PM
Speech girl said...
The jacket and hat are so lovely.
6/1/08 10:36 PM
wvsher said...
I love the look of both the jacket and the hat. They look so professionally made, the fabric looks substantial, and both pieces have loads of vintage charm. I hope you will like them better after some time has passed.
6/1/08 10:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - this is just so sweet. After seeing the pictures, I was surprised to read that you were unhappy with it. It's so classic and pretty. Great job me thinks!
6/1/08 11:40 PM
EveS said...
So tell us how you really feel about this project, Connie! lol. My first thought when I saw the thumbnail was "I want one!" but allow me to retract that...I wouldn't want to push you over the edge. ;) But seriously, it really is a lovely little coat. I just love the buttons and bh's!!
6/2/08 0:49 AM
Mahler said...
I am sad you had all those problems with that fabric. As other said, this coat is gorgeous !!
6/2/08 12:38 PM
trishapatk said...
What a charming little set! I think that the subtle color also looks quite lovely. You deserve extra credit for finishing something that was so frustrating to you. All in all, I truly think it is adorable with the sweet little hat and none of the pink frills that often make up little girl outfits. Good job ConnieAnne! Keep up the good work!
6/2/08 5:26 PM
Lori V said...
This is so gorgeous, don't be so down on yourself, I think the entire set is darling.
6/2/08 10:16 PM
AnneM said...
I agree, it is adorable (even if it was torture to amke).
6/4/08 5:27 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I'm completely 'with' you on the ravel-ly fabric; last year, my DSis begged me to make her a window seat bench/back pillow covers, and then presented me with the *worst* crap poly fabric; I wanted to run away from home and change my name. Now: Ava's precious, vintage coat and hat. These completed beauties might just be worth the pain of dealing w/the fabric. They are glorious! They are authentic to the era, perfectly constructed, and (though boring to sew) the color of the fabric will enchantingly enhance Ava's fair coloring. Superb! -Lily
6/5/08 5:30 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
I think that the ensemble will look absolutely great (even the coat and hat), as each piece is so cute...
6/8/08 4:39 AM
Aunt Gail said...
First - the outfit is gorgeous. The other day I was looking at old family pix out of the early 50's - and I was in, at age 3, a little coat very similar to the one ou just made. Whoever you made it for is a very lucky girl, even if she doesn't realize it yet. However, I do so share your frustration with ravel material. It gets so frustrating that the seamstress can't really appreciate the thing of beauty one makes. So, compliment yourself for sticking with it!
6/14/08 9:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Self Drafted Pattern 118956-1000
photo
Review by Apron Stri... on 1/4/12
Read Review

New Look 6793 Pattern
New Look 6793 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6515 Misses Tops
photo
Review by NeedleandT... on 3/8/07
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us