SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2759 (vintage blouse)

Viewed 348 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 9:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
This is just too cute! I love the sweetheart neckline! Just love it!
5/31/08 10:50 PM
linda 75142 said...
very nice. I like it very much. Glad you got it to work for you. I love vintage patterns. If you want to sell this one, I'd love a chance at it!
5/31/08 11:44 PM
sweetviolets said...
I love this! My Mother made this pattern in several colors and variations in the early 50's. It is such an elegant design.
6/1/08 1:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Superb looking top, Linda! Timeless, yet so current. This reminds me of a Rampage top! You are stylin'!
6/1/08 9:37 AM
Patti B said...
Linda, it's just lovely! Your alterations kept the vintage styling while fitting you. I'm so glad that you have this pattern now; it would have set in my file cabinet forever. This was from DH's aunt who was quite fit and slender in the 40/50s -- swam every day in Long Island Sound, walked to the stores, etc.
6/1/08 11:19 AM
MagpieJen said...
Women in the '40s would have almost all worn a girdle regardless of their size, and by the late '40s I bet their bras were getting more bullet-like, so some of the fitting issues come from changes in our underwear :-). But I think your perseverance has paid off - it looks so nice on you!
6/1/08 1:09 PM
Speech girl said...
Your blouse is very pretty and looks great on you. It's a great pattern.
6/1/08 1:41 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a pretty blouse! The neckline is so feminine and you did a great job fitting.
6/1/08 11:49 PM
Re Becca said...
This is so cute! Way to conquered the pattern, you can't let them win! I can't imagine that those waists actually fit either.
6/2/08 3:16 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful top, great style. Good to know about the wasp waist; I woudn't have thought that for a 1949 pattern.
6/4/08 5:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Is it empowering when you beat a 'cantankerous' pattern into perfect submission? Linda, this vintage blouse is stunning, in every aspect. The delicate angles of the sweatheart neckline and front bodice tips, the beautifully fitted bust darts, and the small but sturdily carved sleeves all merge to create a little masterpiece. It is exquisite, and you look a Vision in it! Quite lovely, Lily
6/5/08 2:47 PM
treva e said...
You did a great job bringing that top into a modern fit. I have photo's of my grandmother from that time, and they had those bullet bras, girdles and it was still important for them to be 10" smaller at the waist than the bust and hips. Remember when a man had to be able to touch his fingertips together around your waist.....I wasn't born then but i have some relatives who lived by that- and essentially there was no ease in their tops. so making that fit for now- you go girl.
6/9/08 8:54 PM
moushka said...
I love your blouse, especially the wonderful fit you got around the back neck and through the shoulder area. Very classic looking, terrific pattern. Kudos for whipping that pattern into shape! What a great project! Thanks so much for the review.
9/19/08 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8649

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Simplicity 4079

photo
by: Lori9999

Review