Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2759 (vintage blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 347 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 9:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
This is just too cute! I love the sweetheart neckline! Just love it!
5/31/08 10:50 PM
linda 75142 said...
very nice. I like it very much. Glad you got it to work for you. I love vintage patterns. If you want to sell this one, I'd love a chance at it!
5/31/08 11:44 PM
sweetviolets said...
I love this! My Mother made this pattern in several colors and variations in the early 50's. It is such an elegant design.
6/1/08 1:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Superb looking top, Linda! Timeless, yet so current. This reminds me of a Rampage top! You are stylin'!
6/1/08 9:37 AM
Patti B said...
Linda, it's just lovely! Your alterations kept the vintage styling while fitting you. I'm so glad that you have this pattern now; it would have set in my file cabinet forever. This was from DH's aunt who was quite fit and slender in the 40/50s -- swam every day in Long Island Sound, walked to the stores, etc.
6/1/08 11:19 AM
MagpieJen said...
Women in the '40s would have almost all worn a girdle regardless of their size, and by the late '40s I bet their bras were getting more bullet-like, so some of the fitting issues come from changes in our underwear :-). But I think your perseverance has paid off - it looks so nice on you!
6/1/08 1:09 PM
Speech girl said...
Your blouse is very pretty and looks great on you. It's a great pattern.
6/1/08 1:41 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a pretty blouse! The neckline is so feminine and you did a great job fitting.
6/1/08 11:49 PM
Re Becca said...
This is so cute! Way to conquered the pattern, you can't let them win! I can't imagine that those waists actually fit either.
6/2/08 3:16 PM
AnneM said...
Beautiful top, great style. Good to know about the wasp waist; I woudn't have thought that for a 1949 pattern.
6/4/08 5:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Is it empowering when you beat a 'cantankerous' pattern into perfect submission? Linda, this vintage blouse is stunning, in every aspect. The delicate angles of the sweatheart neckline and front bodice tips, the beautifully fitted bust darts, and the small but sturdily carved sleeves all merge to create a little masterpiece. It is exquisite, and you look a Vision in it! Quite lovely, Lily
6/5/08 2:47 PM
treva e said...
You did a great job bringing that top into a modern fit. I have photo's of my grandmother from that time, and they had those bullet bras, girdles and it was still important for them to be 10" smaller at the waist than the bust and hips. Remember when a man had to be able to touch his fingertips together around your waist.....I wasn't born then but i have some relatives who lived by that- and essentially there was no ease in their tops. so making that fit for now- you go girl.
6/9/08 8:54 PM
moushka said...
I love your blouse, especially the wonderful fit you got around the back neck and through the shoulder area. Very classic looking, terrific pattern. Kudos for whipping that pattern into shape! What a great project! Thanks so much for the review.
9/19/08 4:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Jalie 2804
photo
Review by Amber in N... on 8/29/08
Read Review

Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pin-up Girls 8225 Pin-up Girls
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/18/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us