Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4172 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2112 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 10:32 PM
Last Updated:6/7/08 10:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
That looks SOOO NICE!!!! Great job!!!!!
5/31/08 10:40 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Lovely dress Trish! I remember my Mom wearing dresses just like this one. Really brought back some wonderful memories. Beautiful work and a great review.
5/31/08 10:49 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful dress. You did an excellent job.
5/31/08 10:51 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Just beautiful and gorgeous on you.
6/1/08 1:52 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a beautiful dress!!
6/1/08 2:10 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow - really interesting style that suits you perfectly. I am sure you will enjoy wearing this.
6/1/08 10:53 AM
CatMukai said...
love it. I bet the straight skirt would look great, too! also, good call on dying it. What did you use?
6/1/08 1:00 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous dress. Why don't they make patterns like this anymore? :0(
6/1/08 1:30 PM
Annette1 said...
I have NEVER seen a dress I like as much as this one, EVER, and you're just BEAUTIFUL in it. My beady little eyes homed in on that piping even before I read that that was of your own design. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
6/1/08 2:50 PM
kusine said...
So beautiful! I love the color you created, too. Fantastic job!
6/1/08 4:59 PM
pmorris1274 said...
This is absolutely lovely! I have some old vinage patterns I bought off ebay as well, along with some rayon from the era that I purchased on Ebay. I am waiting to find the "perfect" vintage pattern to sew it up in. You dress is truly inspiring, and VERY gorgeous. I think dresses of that era were just so much more feminine as well.
6/1/08 7:48 PM
CShelley said...
Wow! You should be very pleased with yourself. What a great dress! Vintage has style that just doesn't exist in a lot of patterns today. Enjoy wearing it.
6/1/08 8:43 PM
wvsher said...
Your dress is so beautiful! What a gorgeous pattern that would make for bridesmaids gowns, or any formal event.
6/1/08 9:54 PM
Second Avenue said...
Beautiful dress, Trishapatk! How did you find the pattern? Is ebay the best place to look?
6/1/08 10:08 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a beautiful dress, and a fantastic vintage pattern! Very unique!
6/1/08 10:45 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress, love all the details. Looks wonderful on you, and you review is very inspiring.
6/2/08 7:50 AM
Kellie R. said...
I've seen this pattern on ebay, bid on it and lost!!!! It's such a pleasure to see it made up! The fabric is very true and in the vintage spirit, and the dress is very pretty! Great job!
6/2/08 8:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Soooooo feminine! Your dress turned out wonderfully - and the dye job totally enhances the retro look. Excellent job!
6/2/08 11:55 AM
EveS said...
This is a classic example of the femininity of vintage dresses. It's just lovely!! Beautiful job and great pattern choice!
6/2/08 12:51 PM
sew42mom said...
Umm, I'm full of envy! I want your dress.
6/2/08 2:48 PM
Quahog said...
I love the energy and sense of play that this accompished artist brings to her work. Wonderful approach to technique; respectful of authenticity, but willing to make (hidden) inprovements that bring the garment even closer to its designer's original vision.
6/2/08 3:19 PM
MagpieJen said...
VaVaVoom! I love dyeing fabric too - so this is awesome on many counts! Well done!
6/2/08 3:38 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous!
6/2/08 3:58 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your inspiring review has shown this feminine and flattering dress in a timeless light. Your integrity to the original ways is most appreciated and in fact, you are a Vision in your vintage creation. I think the same design in a straight skirt would make an unspeakably gorgeous LBD. Very lovely, Lily
6/2/08 7:40 PM
Athene said...
Wow I love the dress and it suits your looks so well - you look absolutely gorgeous. The color is lovely and combined with the style it is so alluring.
6/3/08 4:28 AM
bell N said...
Your choice of fabric for this dress is perfect, along with your patience for the details of sewing. I'm trying to narrow down my vote for the vintage contest, and this is one of the top 5. So hard to choose.
6/3/08 7:47 AM
MarshaG. said...
OMG!!! I LOVE your dress and you did a fabulous job! The color is great and the details are wonderful. I loved it so much I went shopping for the pattern myself, but didn't find it anywhere! BooHoo! You're a knockout in it!
6/3/08 8:12 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Lovely and Feminine!! Yesss!! Do you think there are vintage patterns that do NOT require a tiny waist/flat tummy??
6/3/08 10:07 AM
Marji said...
What a great review, and I'm so happy to read that sewing with an actual vintage pattern enhanced the whole experience for you. The dress is fabulous. And I think you achieved a nice balance of vintage styling and techniques married to some more contemporary techniques which just made sense. Enjoy wearing it, it's beautiful on you.
6/3/08 3:54 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty dress. Great style, and wearable today.
6/4/08 4:55 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wow! I'm so impressed with your dress and sewing skills. Plus, you look fabulous in it!
6/4/08 8:29 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous dress! If only they made feminine dresses like that today. There is something so wonderful in a dress that emphasize all that is womanly about our bodies. Great review.
6/4/08 8:54 PM
F and L said...
That is just staggeringly impressive and beautiful. The pic of you by the tree is soooo utterly lovely.
6/5/08 5:53 AM
cathy45 said...
This is so beautiful and feminine. You did a lovely job. I also find your dying of the fabric very impressive--dye scares me.
6/5/08 9:58 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Love the dress- the pattern,the fabric you chose, the fit on you and the review. First class (and classy too) all the way around. BRAVO!
6/5/08 6:15 PM
Ann Smith said...
Perfectly beautiful dress and somehow contemporary looking. The fit is incredible on you.
6/6/08 12:51 PM
jlucie said...
Wow! I'm so impressed! Such an artistic creation - I admire how you kept the authenticity of using rayon and dyeing it to achieve the perfect color. It's a perfect style for your figure, very feminine.
6/7/08 8:11 AM
Skittl1321 said...
Beautiful dress. I especially love the fabric you chose.
6/7/08 8:34 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
6/7/08 4:41 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
I would never had thought to make a dress of this shape, but your work is absolutely beautiful, and I think I will be looking for a pattern of this kind...
6/8/08 4:37 AM
QueenZ said...
Marriage of fabric and pattern --- Refreshing!!!
6/8/08 8:37 PM
ILF said...
The dress is just charming! Beautiful job. It got my vote!
6/9/08 7:31 AM
jillzie said...
this dress is lovely. i adore 50's styles they fit my body well and are comfy. the dye job is amazing, looks very authentic . the inter facing looks perfect, glad you called that pattern addition correctly. i would wear a A line crinoline , or make one for it. the undergarments are so important and can make or break a vintage look, very exciting! i lust after this pattern! wish it would be reprinted!
6/27/08 10:51 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dress. Dying it was a great idea.
9/2/08 1:24 AM
SoVintage said...
Just purchased this pattern and hope to get sewing on it in the next month or so, thank you for the tips I will be refering back to them during contruction
5/29/09 5:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-123 Parka
photo
Review by jkaori on 12/18/09
Read Review

Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7115 Pattern
Burda 7115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2886
photo
Review by oohisay on 5/19/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us