SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4172 

Viewed 2120 times 
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo

 
 
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 56 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 10:32 PM
Last Updated:6/7/08 10:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SoVintage said...
Just purchased this pattern and hope to get sewing on it in the next month or so, thank you for the tips I will be refering back to them during contruction
5/29/09 5:18 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful dress. Dying it was a great idea.
9/2/08 1:24 AM
jillzie said...
this dress is lovely. i adore 50's styles they fit my body well and are comfy. the dye job is amazing, looks very authentic . the inter facing looks perfect, glad you called that pattern addition correctly. i would wear a A line crinoline , or make one for it. the undergarments are so important and can make or break a vintage look, very exciting! i lust after this pattern! wish it would be reprinted!
6/27/08 10:51 AM
ILF said...
The dress is just charming! Beautiful job. It got my vote!
6/9/08 7:31 AM
QueenZ said...
Marriage of fabric and pattern --- Refreshing!!!
6/8/08 8:37 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
I would never had thought to make a dress of this shape, but your work is absolutely beautiful, and I think I will be looking for a pattern of this kind...
6/8/08 4:37 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
6/7/08 4:41 PM
Skittl1321 said...
Beautiful dress. I especially love the fabric you chose.
6/7/08 8:34 AM
jlucie said...
Wow! I'm so impressed! Such an artistic creation - I admire how you kept the authenticity of using rayon and dyeing it to achieve the perfect color. It's a perfect style for your figure, very feminine.
6/7/08 8:11 AM
Ann Smith said...
Perfectly beautiful dress and somehow contemporary looking. The fit is incredible on you.
6/6/08 12:51 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love the dress- the pattern,the fabric you chose, the fit on you and the review. First class (and classy too) all the way around. BRAVO!
6/5/08 6:15 PM
cathy45 said...
This is so beautiful and feminine. You did a lovely job. I also find your dying of the fabric very impressive--dye scares me.
6/5/08 9:58 AM
F and L said...
That is just staggeringly impressive and beautiful. The pic of you by the tree is soooo utterly lovely.
6/5/08 5:53 AM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous dress! If only they made feminine dresses like that today. There is something so wonderful in a dress that emphasize all that is womanly about our bodies. Great review.
6/4/08 8:54 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wow! I'm so impressed with your dress and sewing skills. Plus, you look fabulous in it!
6/4/08 8:29 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty dress. Great style, and wearable today.
6/4/08 4:55 PM
Marji said...
What a great review, and I'm so happy to read that sewing with an actual vintage pattern enhanced the whole experience for you. The dress is fabulous. And I think you achieved a nice balance of vintage styling and techniques married to some more contemporary techniques which just made sense. Enjoy wearing it, it's beautiful on you.
6/3/08 3:54 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Lovely and Feminine!! Yesss!! Do you think there are vintage patterns that do NOT require a tiny waist/flat tummy??
6/3/08 10:07 AM
MarshaG. said...
OMG!!! I LOVE your dress and you did a fabulous job! The color is great and the details are wonderful. I loved it so much I went shopping for the pattern myself, but didn't find it anywhere! BooHoo! You're a knockout in it!
6/3/08 8:12 AM
bell N said...
Your choice of fabric for this dress is perfect, along with your patience for the details of sewing. I'm trying to narrow down my vote for the vintage contest, and this is one of the top 5. So hard to choose.
6/3/08 7:47 AM
Athene said...
Wow I love the dress and it suits your looks so well - you look absolutely gorgeous. The color is lovely and combined with the style it is so alluring.
6/3/08 4:28 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your inspiring review has shown this feminine and flattering dress in a timeless light. Your integrity to the original ways is most appreciated and in fact, you are a Vision in your vintage creation. I think the same design in a straight skirt would make an unspeakably gorgeous LBD. Very lovely, Lily
6/2/08 7:40 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous!
6/2/08 3:58 PM
MagpieJen said...
VaVaVoom! I love dyeing fabric too - so this is awesome on many counts! Well done!
6/2/08 3:38 PM
Quahog said...
I love the energy and sense of play that this accompished artist brings to her work. Wonderful approach to technique; respectful of authenticity, but willing to make (hidden) inprovements that bring the garment even closer to its designer's original vision.
6/2/08 3:19 PM
sew42mom said...
Umm, I'm full of envy! I want your dress.
6/2/08 2:48 PM
EveS said...
This is a classic example of the femininity of vintage dresses. It's just lovely!! Beautiful job and great pattern choice!
6/2/08 12:51 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Soooooo feminine! Your dress turned out wonderfully - and the dye job totally enhances the retro look. Excellent job!
6/2/08 11:55 AM
Kellie R. said...
I've seen this pattern on ebay, bid on it and lost!!!! It's such a pleasure to see it made up! The fabric is very true and in the vintage spirit, and the dress is very pretty! Great job!
6/2/08 8:35 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress, love all the details. Looks wonderful on you, and you review is very inspiring.
6/2/08 7:50 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a beautiful dress, and a fantastic vintage pattern! Very unique!
6/1/08 10:45 PM
Second Avenue said...
Beautiful dress, Trishapatk! How did you find the pattern? Is ebay the best place to look?
6/1/08 10:08 PM
wvsher said...
Your dress is so beautiful! What a gorgeous pattern that would make for bridesmaids gowns, or any formal event.
6/1/08 9:54 PM
CShelley said...
Wow! You should be very pleased with yourself. What a great dress! Vintage has style that just doesn't exist in a lot of patterns today. Enjoy wearing it.
6/1/08 8:43 PM
pmorris1274 said...
This is absolutely lovely! I have some old vinage patterns I bought off ebay as well, along with some rayon from the era that I purchased on Ebay. I am waiting to find the "perfect" vintage pattern to sew it up in. You dress is truly inspiring, and VERY gorgeous. I think dresses of that era were just so much more feminine as well.
6/1/08 7:48 PM
kusine said...
So beautiful! I love the color you created, too. Fantastic job!
6/1/08 4:59 PM
Annette1 said...
I have NEVER seen a dress I like as much as this one, EVER, and you're just BEAUTIFUL in it. My beady little eyes homed in on that piping even before I read that that was of your own design. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
6/1/08 2:50 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous dress. Why don't they make patterns like this anymore? :0(
6/1/08 1:30 PM
CatMukai said...
love it. I bet the straight skirt would look great, too! also, good call on dying it. What did you use?
6/1/08 1:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow - really interesting style that suits you perfectly. I am sure you will enjoy wearing this.
6/1/08 10:53 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a beautiful dress!!
6/1/08 2:10 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Just beautiful and gorgeous on you.
6/1/08 1:52 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful dress. You did an excellent job.
5/31/08 10:51 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Lovely dress Trish! I remember my Mom wearing dresses just like this one. Really brought back some wonderful memories. Beautiful work and a great review.
5/31/08 10:49 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That looks SOOO NICE!!!! Great job!!!!!
5/31/08 10:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3238

photo
by: Lynn67

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-107

photo
by: Sweetheart...

Review