Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2008-115 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1327 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/08 4:21 AM
Last Updated:6/22/08 7:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
merteuil said...
Such a pretty blouse! And those flounces are lovely.
6/13/08 5:48 AM
Sic said...
Super cute - I think the flounces look nice on you!
6/13/08 7:06 AM
Lori V said...
I like the flounces on you, great job and I have been wanting to sew this BWOF pattern. I will have to make this one now, the blouse looks wonderful, great job.
6/13/08 7:13 AM
Kim12469 said...
It looks great!
6/13/08 7:25 AM
Karen6790 said...
Ah, machine "mishaps". Sometimes projects come out for the better for all the sweating and swearing we have to do to save them - this appears to be one of those projects. Nice job, and I think the floucnes look fine on you.
6/13/08 8:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!
6/13/08 8:13 AM
Speech girl said...
Lovely blouse, and I think the flounces look fine on you.
6/13/08 8:30 AM
ladybirdlove said...
I love your blouse, and thanks for that super website link!!!!
6/13/08 9:14 AM
EveS said...
Ugh, I think I know that mishap all too well. :( Anyway, great recovery! Love your blouse...very breezy and light (and yes, flattering). I might have to add this one to the list, too. *sigh*
6/13/08 9:44 AM
wvsher said...
Nice recovery, and a beautiful finished blouse!
6/13/08 10:43 AM
Lanna said...
I think that looks great on you. those shape advisors dont know everything. Sometimes a hot outfit wins out over rules! good job. I love it.
6/13/08 11:02 AM
LindsayT said...
Been there, done that too with the serger. I love this blouse. Perfect for summer.
6/13/08 11:45 AM
michellep74 said...
I don't know what Shape Advisor is thinking, but I don't think that blouse is unflattering on you at all--it looks very flattering in the photo. Your blouse really turned out great--I know how much work you put into it, and I think it really paid off.
6/13/08 11:45 AM
strasfamily said...
Very nice! This blouse is very pretty on you and looks flattering! I would definitely wear it without hesitation.
6/13/08 12:19 PM
shesflipped said...
I think this is a great top that looks WONDERFUL on you! The top has great style with the ties & flounces~wear it proudly! :)
6/13/08 1:39 PM
Mahler said...
ohhhh ! I love your top, it simple, feminine and so, so pretty
6/13/08 3:01 PM
VtMartha said...
This looks wonderful on you!
6/13/08 6:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and gorgeous top!
6/13/08 7:23 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! I love your blouse. You did a great job with the adjustments and your first FBA. Wonderful!
6/13/08 7:44 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your blouse looks wonderful! the layers of flounce are not 'heavy' -- they create movement which is a GREAT coverup strategy for all problem areas. Keep the eye moving and the eye doesn't 'see'. Beautiful blouse...
6/13/08 8:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
It IS very nice on you. I totally didn't see this blouse in the magazine. It has nice details. yours is much better than the magazine version.
6/14/08 7:19 AM
Lisa Laree said...
It really does work on you! Nice fabric choice...it's very airy and light looking. Cute!
6/14/08 9:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty blouse. You did a great job!
6/14/08 9:51 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your blouse looks terrific! Don't ever abide by anyone's silly fashion rules. I think you look great wearing this cute top!
6/14/08 12:29 PM
jhansby said...
very cute!! Well done!
6/14/08 2:06 PM
Dei said...
I like the flounce, despite what the Shape Adviser says. It suits you and it's an adorable top.
6/14/08 10:18 PM
Margie T said...
A very pretty blouse. Congratulations!
6/15/08 6:18 AM
Alexruthe said...
Very cute!
6/15/08 12:47 PM
donna mel said...
i got a bg kick out of the shape advisor...thanks for the link! i watched the brittish' what not to wear' years ago, and learned alot from trinny and suzanna about what doesn't work on my (pear shaped) body. it saves alot of headache to just go with what works. in any event, i think your top came out great!
6/15/08 6:06 PM
kim*brown said...
Adorable!
6/16/08 9:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, I really love that! Gotta give that pattern a second look. You have been making some great things!!
6/22/08 9:35 PM
patrica said...
Lovely job, flounces are very flattering. I also used El's tutorial for invisible zipper, its the very best.
6/23/08 8:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous summer blouse - I love it made up in white and I love it even more in the gauze! Thanks for the shape advisor link.
6/23/08 1:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, and, on the contrary, I think it looks lovely on you. Trinny and Susannah aren't always right, after all. :o)
6/23/08 7:55 PM
rebija said...
Beautiful!
6/30/08 10:57 PM
MissCelie said...
Wonderful blouse! I've got this one on my list too. You did an awesome job.
7/8/08 7:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great save on the flounces. You'd never guess a mishap ever occurred. You did a really nice job on this blouse.
7/8/08 9:07 AM
Squeezylemon said...
You are EXACTLY the same shape as me Gelbean, so I think after seeing your wonderful blouse I'll ignore the "experts" and make this! Thanks for a great review.
7/8/08 5:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse! Well done on conquering both an invisible zipper and and FBA! Keep on sewing!
7/10/08 6:46 AM
Athene said...
Well done, a very pretty blouse. I think you look good in the flounces.
7/10/08 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Great top. It is a really cute style on you.
7/11/08 8:28 PM
Marji said...
Another one here who thinks that the Shape-Advisor is only a "guideline" to be taken with a grain of salt. I think this is very flattering on you and looks cool and breezy in the cotton gauze. I love how the grainline of the gauze accents the flounces. You did a great job, and should wear this proudly.
7/12/08 10:21 AM
barbcl said...
I'm going to try it in voile. Beautiful!
7/16/08 12:31 PM
nancyjobar said...
I love this shirt, I think you did a fantastic job. How did you get the pattern I went to Burda's site and can't see that pattern. Please contact me on this.
7/16/08 7:04 PM
6grandkids said...
Great job, very well done.
8/30/08 1:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6216
photo
Review by JennyQNY on 10/13/13
Read Review

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $27.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6644
photo
Review by kim*brown on 5/15/07
Read Review

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us