SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2008-115 (Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1327 times 
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo

 
 
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/08 4:21 AM
Last Updated:6/22/08 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
merteuil said...
Such a pretty blouse! And those flounces are lovely.
6/13/08 5:48 AM
Sic said...
Super cute - I think the flounces look nice on you!
6/13/08 7:06 AM
Lori V said...
I like the flounces on you, great job and I have been wanting to sew this BWOF pattern. I will have to make this one now, the blouse looks wonderful, great job.
6/13/08 7:13 AM
Kim12469 said...
It looks great!
6/13/08 7:25 AM
Karen6790 said...
Ah, machine "mishaps". Sometimes projects come out for the better for all the sweating and swearing we have to do to save them - this appears to be one of those projects. Nice job, and I think the floucnes look fine on you.
6/13/08 8:12 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!
6/13/08 8:13 AM
Speech girl said...
Lovely blouse, and I think the flounces look fine on you.
6/13/08 8:30 AM
ladybirdlove said...
I love your blouse, and thanks for that super website link!!!!
6/13/08 9:14 AM
EveS said...
Ugh, I think I know that mishap all too well. :( Anyway, great recovery! Love your blouse...very breezy and light (and yes, flattering). I might have to add this one to the list, too. *sigh*
6/13/08 9:44 AM
wvsher said...
Nice recovery, and a beautiful finished blouse!
6/13/08 10:43 AM
Lanna said...
I think that looks great on you. those shape advisors dont know everything. Sometimes a hot outfit wins out over rules! good job. I love it.
6/13/08 11:02 AM
LindsayT said...
Been there, done that too with the serger. I love this blouse. Perfect for summer.
6/13/08 11:45 AM
michellep74 said...
I don't know what Shape Advisor is thinking, but I don't think that blouse is unflattering on you at all--it looks very flattering in the photo. Your blouse really turned out great--I know how much work you put into it, and I think it really paid off.
6/13/08 11:45 AM
strasfamily said...
Very nice! This blouse is very pretty on you and looks flattering! I would definitely wear it without hesitation.
6/13/08 12:19 PM
shesflipped said...
I think this is a great top that looks WONDERFUL on you! The top has great style with the ties & flounces~wear it proudly! :)
6/13/08 1:39 PM
Mahler said...
ohhhh ! I love your top, it simple, feminine and so, so pretty
6/13/08 3:01 PM
VtMartha said...
This looks wonderful on you!
6/13/08 6:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp and gorgeous top!
6/13/08 7:23 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! I love your blouse. You did a great job with the adjustments and your first FBA. Wonderful!
6/13/08 7:44 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your blouse looks wonderful! the layers of flounce are not 'heavy' -- they create movement which is a GREAT coverup strategy for all problem areas. Keep the eye moving and the eye doesn't 'see'. Beautiful blouse...
6/13/08 8:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
It IS very nice on you. I totally didn't see this blouse in the magazine. It has nice details. yours is much better than the magazine version.
6/14/08 7:19 AM
Lisa Laree said...
It really does work on you! Nice fabric choice...it's very airy and light looking. Cute!
6/14/08 9:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty blouse. You did a great job!
6/14/08 9:51 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your blouse looks terrific! Don't ever abide by anyone's silly fashion rules. I think you look great wearing this cute top!
6/14/08 12:29 PM
jhansby said...
very cute!! Well done!
6/14/08 2:06 PM
Dei said...
I like the flounce, despite what the Shape Adviser says. It suits you and it's an adorable top.
6/14/08 10:18 PM
Margie T said...
A very pretty blouse. Congratulations!
6/15/08 6:18 AM
Alexruthe said...
Very cute!
6/15/08 12:47 PM
donna mel said...
i got a bg kick out of the shape advisor...thanks for the link! i watched the brittish' what not to wear' years ago, and learned alot from trinny and suzanna about what doesn't work on my (pear shaped) body. it saves alot of headache to just go with what works. in any event, i think your top came out great!
6/15/08 6:06 PM
kim*brown said...
Adorable!
6/16/08 9:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow, I really love that! Gotta give that pattern a second look. You have been making some great things!!
6/22/08 9:35 PM
patrica said...
Lovely job, flounces are very flattering. I also used El's tutorial for invisible zipper, its the very best.
6/23/08 8:19 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous summer blouse - I love it made up in white and I love it even more in the gauze! Thanks for the shape advisor link.
6/23/08 1:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, and, on the contrary, I think it looks lovely on you. Trinny and Susannah aren't always right, after all. :o)
6/23/08 7:55 PM
rebija said...
Beautiful!
6/30/08 10:57 PM
MissCelie said...
Wonderful blouse! I've got this one on my list too. You did an awesome job.
7/8/08 7:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great save on the flounces. You'd never guess a mishap ever occurred. You did a really nice job on this blouse.
7/8/08 9:07 AM
Squeezylemon said...
You are EXACTLY the same shape as me Gelbean, so I think after seeing your wonderful blouse I'll ignore the "experts" and make this! Thanks for a great review.
7/8/08 5:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful blouse! Well done on conquering both an invisible zipper and and FBA! Keep on sewing!
7/10/08 6:46 AM
Athene said...
Well done, a very pretty blouse. I think you look good in the flounces.
7/10/08 7:11 PM
AnneM said...
Great top. It is a really cute style on you.
7/11/08 8:28 PM
Marji said...
Another one here who thinks that the Shape-Advisor is only a "guideline" to be taken with a grain of salt. I think this is very flattering on you and looks cool and breezy in the cotton gauze. I love how the grainline of the gauze accents the flounces. You did a great job, and should wear this proudly.
7/12/08 10:21 AM
barbcl said...
I'm going to try it in voile. Beautiful!
7/16/08 12:31 PM
nancyjobar said...
I love this shirt, I think you did a fantastic job. How did you get the pattern I went to Burda's site and can't see that pattern. Please contact me on this.
7/16/08 7:04 PM
6grandkids said...
Great job, very well done.
8/30/08 1:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other One-Yard Wonders

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now