SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-124 

21 more reviews
Viewed 2274 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/09 4:57 PM
Last Updated:4/1/09 1:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I love to read fitting adventures. You described your methods well. Your fit, fabrics, style, and finish details equal gorgeousness! Excellent (and amusing) review!
3/13/09 6:07 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is absolutely beautiful. Thanks for all the details about the fitting process and the constuction. Your time with Sandra was EXTREMELY productive.
3/13/09 6:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a wonderful dress! It sounds like you got your $$ worth out of your time with Sandra - awesome!!!
3/13/09 6:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Oh..there is SO much to cover here: 1.Can I have your muslin? 2. You have SHOES to go with this dress! 3. You look wonderful in your PERFECTLY fitted dress. 4. Dartilicious matching seams! 5. I wanted to make this dress, but I think I need Sandra (or YOU) to help with the fit. 6. I'm jealous. Enough said?
3/13/09 6:53 PM
SewPie said...
Hi from New Zealand, where I've cut out the pattern and am planning to attempt the lace version of this dress. I will be coming back to your review! You are so good to have done all that work with a muslin, I tend to rush straight in and get disappointed.
3/13/09 7:42 PM
katlew03 said...
Great review. You covered everything. Love the final version, especially the scallops. Wasn't it nice when we could cut out a pattern like this and wear it with no alterations. Oh, well, those days may be gone, but your dress sure makes all the alterations worthwhile.
3/13/09 9:00 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow! That dress turned out great. It looks so nice on you and fits perfectly! I can't wait to see versions #2 and #3.
3/13/09 10:32 PM
Natasha B said...
Lovely dress and the darts are done beautifully. The eyelet colour is divine and is an excellent choice for the pattern. Good luck with the next one.
3/13/09 10:51 PM
pterion said...
I like the finished dress AND the muslin! You did a wonderful job with all the fitting. How nice to have a TNT dress!
3/13/09 11:06 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your dress is absolutely stunning! You look fantastic!!
3/13/09 11:58 PM
TalyQ said...
OH, that' such a lovely dress. I wish I had a "live" person who would help me fit my clothes. I am still very far from a good fit. Wonderful job! Great idea about finishing the sleeves. One question: did you add fabric just to the front of the dress or all the way around?
3/14/09 2:23 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty, flattering dress. How nice it must've been to have Sandra teach you how to fit your body! Great review!
3/14/09 8:54 AM
morzel said...
What a wonderful transition from Pepto Pink to Eyelet! The fit is great.
3/14/09 9:55 AM
clearlysewcrazy said...
Please,please,please include a pic of you wearing "flo". I love the skates
3/14/09 10:17 AM
Deepika said...
Great review and really cute dress. And I am loving the shoes too!!!
3/14/09 11:18 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a perfect way to showcase the pretty eyelet. And the fact that it's custom fit by you and Sandra Betzina - well that's icing on the cake!
3/14/09 11:35 AM
cindy-lou said...
Thank you, everyone! (blush, blush...) TalyQ, I think you are asking about the two inches I added to the bodice length... yes, I added two inches to both the front and the back. I've made the mistake of adding only to the front before... it did not work for me. And on the shoes... I bought them at TJMaxx last year, forgot about them, then made the dress. BAM! What a fun discovery. :)
3/14/09 8:14 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this color suits you. and the pink-coral shades are all the rage this spring so great job! I love the eyelet tip for sleeve. you can't even see the seam in there! so glad you got lots out of your class. it really shows.
3/14/09 11:34 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Gorgeous dress Cindy! What a great fit. How wonderful to have the help of Sandra B. in tweaking that muslin. I'm looking forward to seeing many lovely versions of this dress. :-)
3/15/09 11:07 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress Cindy. I love shift dresses and yours is a real eye catcher in that beautiful color and great fit.
3/16/09 3:04 PM
CatMukai said...
thanks for reviewing this, I wanted to give it a try after seeing it in the magazine. Great color. Beautiful!
3/17/09 2:19 AM
Mufffet said...
Cindy, great fabric and color and fit! All together great for summer, and so cheery. Love that color...looks so great on you.
3/18/09 5:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Your tunid turned out great!!! It didn't look off grain in the picture to me. Very fun variation!
3/20/09 8:46 PM
Christas said...
Super cute top! It looks wonderful on you!
3/20/09 9:32 PM
MamaSewing said...
I love your top (and the dress is way cute too!) your colors are so summery and the belt detail is perfect.
3/20/09 11:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, you don't just "kinda' look like" you've got it together, you HAVE got it together! This top is SO pretty, with that blue up next to your face, and the black/white below. I would have never thought of that combination, but I LOVE it. If it's slightly off grain, nobody will ever notice with that pattern. I didn't! Perfect!
3/20/09 11:32 PM
Mary Nanna said...
what a lovely choice of fabric and accessories.. you look really cute!
3/21/09 1:57 AM
morzel said...
You should really make this your TNT for a tunic and whip up some more immidiatly- this looks sooo good on you!
3/21/09 4:09 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! CUTE!! LOVE the fabrics!!
3/21/09 3:04 PM
Karendee said...
This top looks wonderful on you. I also love the beads with your ensemble. You look wonderful! The workshop in NC sounds like lots of fun.
3/21/09 3:40 PM
JoanneM said...
Love the fabric combo. Well done!
3/21/09 4:29 PM
Nancywin said...
THis tunic looks great, Dart Girl! And believe me, you do "got it together"! Cool combination of fabrics you chose for this too. Two down...
3/21/09 5:21 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is a cute cute style! Both the dress and the tunic look great on you!
3/21/09 9:31 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! The color, the fabric - the workmanship! Just FAB!
3/22/09 1:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hey Dart Girl (listen to the introductory superheroine musical snippet), can I add Fearless Facing Fighter? Kudos to you for creating two distinctly fabulous additions to your wardrobe! Great review as always!
3/31/09 12:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, LOOK AT YOU! I would NEVER guess this was from the same pattern. I thought I liked the tunic, and now I see this dress and I'm loving it, too. I particularly like the way you've done the sleeves, love the eyelet and that COLOR. The empire waist really is so flattering on you. :o)
4/1/09 0:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I just got done leaving my comment, and there were the other two versions in your project photo, LIKE MAGIC. You've really outdone yourself with this pattern. Each look is distinctly different AND very cool!
4/1/09 0:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
Annette, THANKS!! Can you tell I had trouble getting the final composite photo to pop up? It took me a while to decipher why the old one was coming up. Glad to be so entertaining for you in the middle of the night!
4/1/09 0:53 AM
Christina Sonja said...
That pink dress is soooo cool! Great use of a unique fabric. All 4 garments look so different, & really capture the essence of the OPML challenge.
4/1/09 1:25 AM
Nancy K said...
Wonderful to see your fitting and sewing odyssey. I love how each one really looks different not just a different fabric. Great job.
4/1/09 8:15 AM
annie11 said...
Great review! I love all of your versions, but especially the party dress! How wonderful to have Sandra Betzina's fitting help. I'm going to definitely refer to your review when making this one!
4/1/09 9:43 AM
Ann B. said...
Hey, great set of dresses, but you kind of knew that based on the oh, 40 or so comments. By the way, how did you peek into my do-do list with my coral eyelet and my black and white pique set aside for this dress? Anyhoo, how would you like to post the connecting the lining to a sleevless dress tute for us? (Really, for me me me!) Love the outfits, love the review. Whata great boost to your dress wardrobe.
4/1/09 9:46 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, wow, wow! Really great stuff, Cindy.
4/1/09 10:41 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Each garment you made is so unique! You did a wonderful job with the fabrics and different elements to really get the full potential of this pattern to shine through!! oh - and btw - I read *every* word of your longest review ever! ; )
4/1/09 11:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Cindy-Lou: Ha! Well, I kept thinking, am I missing some links here or what, because I'm not seeing these other dresses. :o) Then as soon as I submitted my comment, THERE was the picture! THEN I didn't see it in the review gallery. I almost sent you a note, but I thought, no, she's posted plenty of reviews, ANNETTE. She KNOWS how to post to the review gallery without YOUR assistance. :o) As for "middle of the night," the NIGHT TIME IS THE RIGHT TIME for me! Bailey says I have my days and nights mixed up. I say, "What's your point?" :o)
4/1/09 12:38 PM
morzel said...
This is a beautiful set of dresses/tunic!! What a wonderful example of how to use one pattern in different ways.
4/1/09 2:07 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very great variations on this pattern. I was looking at this pattern and really thought that one could do a lot with it and you sure proved that to be the case. I LOVE the fabric on #4, it is so cool. I hope you have a fun occaision to wear that one (your life is probably a bit more exciting than mine). The black and white variation too is OH SO CHIC... I can't wait to see pictures of you modeling them!
4/1/09 3:48 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fabulous variations on a great pattern, you've inspired me to stop just thinking about it and actually make this one again. I especially love the black and white dress.
4/1/09 8:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very creative use of one pattern. You certainly got your money's worth. The B&W is my favourite.
4/1/09 9:31 PM
LindsayT said...
I'm so glad i just found your review because I really want to make this dress. I'd say you had very good luck with it! Nice job.
4/8/09 3:16 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you did a perfect job!! this is just so great.
4/10/09 12:41 PM
arianamaniacs said...
All your creations were beautiful, I especially like the pink dress!
4/16/09 5:01 AM
Marji said...
OMG, C-L, somewhere in MO Marji is finally catching up on reading PR and has just fallen off the couch laughing. And I just finished reading the paragraph about what you did to that pepto muslin, and I'm screeching "SEEE!" That is why your muslin is not a "wearable" thing. Whew! Love what you've done with this pattern.
4/17/09 9:54 PM
LauraDee said...
Your dresses are great, as so many have said. I just wanted to add how wonderfully humorous and quick-witted your review was. Your writing is a pleasure to read.
4/28/09 10:38 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful! Outstanding intrepetation of this pattern.
4/29/09 3:54 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Ahhh yes, the invisible zipper foot...it's a whole different experience.
8/13/09 6:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Park Bench patterns 7

photo
by: Miss Fairc...

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
Burda 7401

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review