SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2655 (Misses & Miss Petite Skirts)

18 more reviews
Viewed 882 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 6:22 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ktr2567 said...
I am way behind the times, typical. Thanks for the tip about measuring the yoke. Just bought this and was just going to trust..ahem...the measurements on the envelope, apparently not a great idea! You saved me, thanks so much and your skirt is so cute!
10/13/12 11:45 PM
no7262 said...
That looks so cute! I don't wear skirts....but I am thinking about this one and the hot patterns slouchy skirt! Nora :)
3/5/10 11:46 AM
mystrygirl87 said...
Thanks for the entertaining and informative review! Very helpful to know about the sizing. I love the idea of using t-shirts to make this.
11/15/09 6:11 PM
JDpenelope said...
Karla -- Great review, as expected. (It showed up on the side of the screen while I was researching patterns.) Will I sew anything like this any time soon? Probably not, but I like reading your reviews anyhow. It gets the creative juices flowing, as well as the comedic ones. Thanks for the grins.
10/18/09 5:28 PM
CarolynGM said...
How on earth did I miss this marvelous review! It's chock full of useful information while being hilarious at the same time. Love your fabric choice.
8/22/09 8:30 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You made this out of a couple of t-shirts??? This is adorable. And I love the pockets.
8/14/09 10:45 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...

8/14/09 10:44 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You made this out of a couple of t-shirts??? This is adorable. And I love the pockets.
8/14/09 10:43 AM
glenj said...
thanks for the entertainment.BTW skirt looks good enough to wear;)
7/10/09 12:05 PM
PegL said...
Love your fun review! The info on the skirt pattern is great! I actually have this pattern and some fabric on my cutting table waiting... I'll make note of all your advice! Thanks for saving me a bunch of time and aggravation!
7/8/09 9:39 AM
Sewingmi said...
I laughed out loud reading your review! You ought to write a book! And the skirt is very cute!
7/7/09 5:10 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really cute skirt. Love your review!
7/6/09 5:13 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's super cute! I love all the modifications you made. I didn't even consider the view with the pockets, but will now.
7/6/09 10:03 AM
nicegirl said...
Great review and very cute skirt! The coverstitch adds a nice detail and the pockets are too adorable.
7/6/09 9:32 AM
Caroleleah said...
Oh, Karla, what a delightful way to begin my day!! :) Your reviews are always tremendous fun AND greatly informative! You manage to sneak in some very good tidbits of info while being entertaining with it! :) I have this pattern on the table in "almost up next" status, and will absolutely use your suggested method of sizing regarding tracing the yoke. I can't WAIT to see "MY" size fall to my knees!! Hah! Thanks, Karla - adorable skirt, great review!
7/6/09 9:14 AM
Barbara V said...
Extremely cute skirt! ...and from Fruit of the Loom men's T-shirt....who woulda thunk?
7/6/09 8:59 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
How did I KNOW it was a Karla review as I read down the page... Great result, fab. vision on fabric sources... Love it! PS Lucky Daughter too....
7/6/09 8:22 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!!! What a clever skirt and cute as can be!! Just the kind of garment a young girl would love!!! Way to go!!
7/6/09 8:10 AM
AnneM said...
Oh that is adorable. I just love those pockets. The fabric will just extend the season for the skirt; she can get away with wearing it in cooler weather because of the color. Thanks for the sizing advice. As always, love your reviews.
7/6/09 8:02 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you for a delightful review, I especially enjoyed the pattern sizing part. The skirt is wonderful as well.
7/6/09 7:30 AM
BillieJean said...
Cute, cute, cute skirt and delightfully funny review. Thanks so much for sharing.
7/6/09 6:03 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Karla....lovely skirt! Thanks for the very...comprehensive...review! :) I enjoy your wit as much as I enjoy your sewing !
7/6/09 5:36 AM
morzel said...
Wonderful skirt, fun and good review!
7/6/09 3:33 AM
sew4dasoul said...
Thank you for the great review! I have this pattern as well but haven't mustered up the energy to tackle it. Your review will help me out alot! BTW, just like your daughter, I don't like to tuck either : )
7/6/09 1:01 AM
Annette1 said...
This is REALLY cute, Karla, and I don't think it looks too wintery at all, especially if she puts it with a light-colored top. :o)
7/5/09 11:34 PM
Patti B said...
I love the skirt and your creative sourcing of fabric. What? You didn't have any fabric at home? hahahaha
7/5/09 9:39 PM
barbcl said...
Thanks for the great review. The skirt is very cute. I can relate to the need for cool clothes in FL during summer, especially when walking the dog! The T-shirt weight is probably just right.
7/5/09 9:12 PM
Lori V said...
Really cute skirt, can't believe it is made from Hane's tshirts. Thanks for the very funny review, too.
7/5/09 8:26 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Karla, you are a HOOT!!! I have this pattern!! Sew, thanks for the heads-up about sizing!! Did I tell ya you're a HOOT??!!
7/5/09 8:06 PM
Mary Nanna said...
very amusing review. The details on this skirt are just gorgeous - I notice you made it in knit, whereas the pattern recommends wovens, that's good to know that it can hold its shape with a knit.
7/5/09 7:56 PM
Kay Y said...
Brilliant! Both skirt & review.
7/5/09 7:47 PM
KitnRose said...
The skirt is gorgeous and your review made my day brighter. :) Great work on both! And, assumedly, on your DD who sounds like she's turned out quite well. :)
7/5/09 7:30 PM
Christas said...
Well, I think I have had my needed giggles for the day! Your review is WONDERFUL! I LOVE the skirt. How extremely creative you are to buy men's knit t-shirts for fabric. I saw on Threadbangers where they made a wedding dress for $10.00 out of men's t-shirts. I like your DD's skirt MUCH better! LOL!
7/5/09 6:59 PM
cmarie12 said...
Love the review and the skirt! :)
7/5/09 6:41 PM
sewtime said...
Cute skirt and love the style!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6752

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review

Pattern