Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M5801 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 469 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:newseamstress
photo
About newseamstress
TX USA
Member since: 7/15/09
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/09 10:11 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Wow! That is really impressive. I can't believe it's your first time!It looks terrific. Bravo!
8/15/09 1:40 PM
Angien said...
Awesome job for a first project!
8/15/09 2:12 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, that's pretty. Now we want more photos!
8/15/09 3:07 PM
newseamstress said...
Thanks guys! You made my day. As far as more photos, I'm not entirely sure how to add more than one photo to the page. Any ideas Peter?
8/15/09 6:52 PM
becca a said...
Your dress looks great! You have a flattering fit. You did just the right thing to adjust the length and number of pleats to fit. In order to add photos you have to edit the review. Above the part where there is the template of questions (the Review box) you can click on "insert a clickable link in your review." This will open a window where you can add the URL.
8/16/09 9:29 AM
beth5646 said...
Girl--you keep sewing!!! What a wonderful job!!! The dress looks great on you. You can find tons of information on the Knowledge Base on this site and I still use my trusty old Vogue Sewing Book a lot when I need information on a new technique. I am totally impressed with your first effort. Congratulations.
8/16/09 9:33 AM
fryman said...
The dress looks wonderful on you! Nice job and yes. . . .make more
8/16/09 7:26 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice job for your first! Brave to use slippery fabric too! Yr 2nd attempt will be a breeze.
8/17/09 9:21 PM
Woolygal said...
I'm impressed that you tried a dress for a first project. Great job. Just zig zag those fraying seams and go.
8/18/09 8:04 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Upload your pics to a picasa or flickr file: they're free, you just need a gmail (in the case of picasa) or yahoo (for flickr) email address. Then just cut and paste the URL (web address) in your review -- it's part of the template you fill in and you should be able to access when you edit your review. Hope that helps.
8/18/09 1:07 PM
mimstwo said...
I am very impressed with your first sewing attempt. You look lovely in the dress and I would have no problem wearing it to work. Congratulations.
8/18/09 4:32 PM
valerie sews said...
Nice work Newseamstress. Your dress looks great!
8/21/09 7:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice dress! :) Keep on sewing, you are doing great!
8/21/09 10:27 AM
nglalala said...
I can't believe it's your first time! This looks great and you used satin!
8/21/09 12:43 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice dress, and it looks GREAT on you! As far as adding more pictures, if you go in to edit your review, you will see a clickable link above the body of the review that says something along the links of "Click here to add a link," or something like that. Click on that and will bring up a pop-up screen into which you can paste the url of your photos. Great job!
8/24/09 0:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Also, should you have any questions or just want to chat about the contest, feel free to give us a holler on the contest thread at this link: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl :o)
8/24/09 1:08 AM
rebija said...
First sewn piece??? Absolutely amazing! Keep up the great work!
8/31/09 12:20 PM
Michele19 said...
Great job. You got the proportions just right! It looks so good on you!
9/2/09 5:59 AM
Kellie R. said...
I can't believe that this is the first thing you've ever sewn! With the facings, pleats, etc., it's more than "basic". Great job!
9/4/09 1:25 PM
AdaF said...
Great first job! Very brave in trying it and very successful in accomplishing such nice results.
9/4/09 1:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice results on your first dress. I look forward to seeing more reviews from you.
9/6/09 7:50 AM
ggexpansive said...
i love this and i would wear it out to dinner but work is ok to :)
9/7/09 1:36 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Very nice dress and congratulations on your first thing sewn.
9/8/09 5:14 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful job on your dress, and satin can be a reall buggar to work with- you did well! Do you have a good sewing book to refer to as you go along? It will tell you things like removing basting stitches, and all sorts of other stuff you'll find handy.
9/15/09 8:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 8991
photo
Review by Casual Kat... on 9/12/11
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8549
photo
Review by racehorse on 1/6/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6274 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6990 Pattern
Burda 6990 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us