SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5801 

1 more reviews
Viewed 474 times 
Reviewed by:newseamstress
photo

 
 
About newseamstress
TX USA
Member since: 7/15/09
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/09 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Wow! That is really impressive. I can't believe it's your first time!It looks terrific. Bravo!
8/15/09 1:40 PM
Angien said...
Awesome job for a first project!
8/15/09 2:12 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, that's pretty. Now we want more photos!
8/15/09 3:07 PM
newseamstress said...
Thanks guys! You made my day. As far as more photos, I'm not entirely sure how to add more than one photo to the page. Any ideas Peter?
8/15/09 6:52 PM
becca a said...
Your dress looks great! You have a flattering fit. You did just the right thing to adjust the length and number of pleats to fit. In order to add photos you have to edit the review. Above the part where there is the template of questions (the Review box) you can click on "insert a clickable link in your review." This will open a window where you can add the URL.
8/16/09 9:29 AM
beth5646 said...
Girl--you keep sewing!!! What a wonderful job!!! The dress looks great on you. You can find tons of information on the Knowledge Base on this site and I still use my trusty old Vogue Sewing Book a lot when I need information on a new technique. I am totally impressed with your first effort. Congratulations.
8/16/09 9:33 AM
fryman said...
The dress looks wonderful on you! Nice job and yes. . . .make more
8/16/09 7:26 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Nice job for your first! Brave to use slippery fabric too! Yr 2nd attempt will be a breeze.
8/17/09 9:21 PM
Woolygal said...
I'm impressed that you tried a dress for a first project. Great job. Just zig zag those fraying seams and go.
8/18/09 8:04 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Upload your pics to a picasa or flickr file: they're free, you just need a gmail (in the case of picasa) or yahoo (for flickr) email address. Then just cut and paste the URL (web address) in your review -- it's part of the template you fill in and you should be able to access when you edit your review. Hope that helps.
8/18/09 1:07 PM
mimstwo said...
I am very impressed with your first sewing attempt. You look lovely in the dress and I would have no problem wearing it to work. Congratulations.
8/18/09 4:32 PM
valerie sews said...
Nice work Newseamstress. Your dress looks great!
8/21/09 7:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Nice dress! :) Keep on sewing, you are doing great!
8/21/09 10:27 AM
nglalala said...
I can't believe it's your first time! This looks great and you used satin!
8/21/09 12:43 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice dress, and it looks GREAT on you! As far as adding more pictures, if you go in to edit your review, you will see a clickable link above the body of the review that says something along the links of "Click here to add a link," or something like that. Click on that and will bring up a pop-up screen into which you can paste the url of your photos. Great job!
8/24/09 0:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Also, should you have any questions or just want to chat about the contest, feel free to give us a holler on the contest thread at this link: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl :o)
8/24/09 1:08 AM
rebija said...
First sewn piece??? Absolutely amazing! Keep up the great work!
8/31/09 12:20 PM
Michele19 said...
Great job. You got the proportions just right! It looks so good on you!
9/2/09 5:59 AM
Kellie R. said...
I can't believe that this is the first thing you've ever sewn! With the facings, pleats, etc., it's more than "basic". Great job!
9/4/09 1:25 PM
AdaF said...
Great first job! Very brave in trying it and very successful in accomplishing such nice results.
9/4/09 1:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice results on your first dress. I look forward to seeing more reviews from you.
9/6/09 7:50 AM
ggexpansive said...
i love this and i would wear it out to dinner but work is ok to :)
9/7/09 1:36 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Very nice dress and congratulations on your first thing sewn.
9/8/09 5:14 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful job on your dress, and satin can be a reall buggar to work with- you did well! Do you have a good sewing book to refer to as you go along? It will tell you things like removing basting stitches, and all sorts of other stuff you'll find handy.
9/15/09 8:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Other Moonshine

photo
by: velosewer

Review