Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5845 (Lined Dress and belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1207 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:RachelEsq
photo
About RachelEsqstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 10:58 PM
Last Updated:8/26/09 11:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geeklite said...
That's a gorgeous dress! I especially like how the dress is cut in the back.
8/26/09 11:10 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow, that is a fantastic print for the dress. You did a terrific job on only your 3rd garment. It's good to see another sewing lawyer on PR!
8/26/09 11:13 PM
Ingiepops said...
I agree the print is fabulous for the design of this dress. Welcome to the fabulous world of garment sewing! Just watch your fabric stash grow! ;))
8/26/09 11:37 PM
AquariJenn said...
Great looking dress and it fits you so well!
8/27/09 0:08 AM
Markie1 said...
I just LOVE this on you! I think the shoulders are a wonderful design feature. in fact, there are surprises front AND back. What a great pairing of fabric and pattern.
8/27/09 0:22 AM
Opals Passions said...
Gorgeous dress! I especially love the fabric and the style of the back..
8/27/09 0:35 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic dress, the print is amazing as is the fit. Good luck with your 1 year project, I'm sure you'll come up with some great creations.
8/27/09 1:05 AM
janella said...
:) Thanks for letting me know about the 28 darts!
8/27/09 1:35 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
You can SO do this. I'm in my third year of sewing all my clothes (exceptions: sweaters, socks, undies). It's easy! One caveat: You may not save a dime; I certainly haven't, because most of my clothes had been thrifted, and sewing - well it ain't cheap. But I've changed from a hit-and-miss wardrobe that mostly didn't fit, to an increasing number of perfectly fitted, perfectly "me" clothes - which I could never in a million years afford from Anthro and Macy's.
8/27/09 2:07 AM
LollyVee said...
Beautifully fitting dress out of the perfect print! Your dress is stunning! Good luck with your wardrobe challenge!
8/27/09 2:25 AM
lamstu said...
I like the way the print placement flows across the seam lines. Did it work out this way or did you plan it? Either way, you've got one excellent dress.
8/27/09 4:39 AM
Erica B. said...
Love it! That fabric is fantastic! BTW, I tried to access your blog and it's not there.
8/27/09 8:35 AM
Morisot said...
Me too -- love how you used this fabric for your fabulous dress.
8/27/09 8:48 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Go for it, girl! I've been sewing all of my clothes for 30 years and love it. Just go to the stores for inspiration.
8/27/09 9:00 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! What a terrifc fit you got with thispattern and the fabric makes it areal eye catcher.
8/27/09 9:09 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic fabric/pattern pairing!
8/27/09 9:15 AM
fryman said...
striking fashion fabric!!
8/27/09 10:49 AM
RachelEsq said...
Thanks SO much for the compliments! Lamstu, I did make muslin copies of the pattern pieces and cut the dress in one layer so that the pattern would match up. Crescentaluna, I'm afraid of that happening! I'm going to keep a tally, so we'll see - that's what I'm actually interested to see: whether I will spend more! Blog should be up; I too got a "deleted" message at first, but clicked again and it is there. Thanks again for the encouragement!
8/27/09 11:16 AM
Leora said...
I want to sew a sheath dress but OMGosh the darts on this one! You sure tackled the project and made a beautiful dress, well done!
8/27/09 11:16 AM
RLL said...
Ditto on everyone's compliments. Really love the fabric!
8/27/09 12:40 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous dress in a beautiful fabric. This dress is a winner on you.
8/27/09 1:07 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wonderful job!
8/27/09 1:54 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Niiice!
8/27/09 4:20 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Rachel, I love this chic little number. The uniquely, beautiful fabric gives it that extra pop.
8/27/09 4:53 PM
cmarie12 said...
I absolutely LOVE the fabric you chose for this project!!!
8/27/09 5:03 PM
eugenia123 said...
Great dress, love that fabric. You look fantastic in it.
8/28/09 6:41 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be, and it looks GREAT on you! REALLY nice the way you've lined up that abstract design, too. I've been trying to go through all of the entries in the contest and remind everyone to be sure and include the required elements in your review, if you haven't already, those being: (a) A very brief description of your previous sewing experience. (b) Information regarding what outside help you may have received, other than online help here on PR. (c) If you are entering a garment into the Advanced Beginner Contest, please describe which technique(s) was new to you. (d) If your item was made as a part of a class, please note this in the review. Additionally, if the item was made as part of a class, the instructor must not have had any part in stitching or construction. GOOD LUCK in the contest!
8/29/09 1:04 AM
SheriF said...
Great dress. I am going to follow your blog to see what comes next. Great review. Can't believe you are a beginner!
8/30/09 8:49 AM
rebija said...
Wow! Your version looks better than the pattern cover! Beautiful choice of fabric!
8/31/09 12:12 PM
LovelyMM said...
wow! Nice fabric!
8/31/09 6:35 PM
Kellie R. said...
You look fabulous in this dress! What a fun fabric. The fabric suits the style perfectly and you look like a knockout!
9/4/09 1:29 PM
FullertonRegan said...
I just love this dress, and you did a fantastic job! I've been sewing for 15 years and still have problems lining up my darts and seams as flawlessly as you did. I highly suggest posting any garment you make here on this site. There's so much information & so many lovely folks ready & willing to help. However, you look like you're well on your way. Congrats on such a wonderful dress!
9/5/09 3:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a beautiful dress, a very polished look for a beginner. I look forward to many reviews from you as you sew all your clothes for the next year.
9/6/09 8:00 AM
sewmytime said...
You have inspired me so much thanks for this awesome review...
9/7/09 8:14 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress. (Love your fabric, also.) I hardly every buy clothing now, and I sew very slowly, so I'm sure you will make lots of wonderful garments.
9/7/09 7:31 PM
RLL said...
Hey, had to come back and comment again. I was flipping through channels the other day and saw your inspiration dress on a soap opera. Sorry, I don't know which one it was. But I did think that "I know that dress" and I thought of you. What a compliment to have a soap opera showing off YOUR dress. HaHa!
9/29/09 8:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2918 Mens T-Shirts
photo
Review by Elsie14 on 7/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2008-2 Denim skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/7/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us