SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5845 (Lined Dress and belt)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1211 times 
Reviewed by:RachelEsq
photo

 
 
About RachelEsqstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 10:58 PM
Last Updated:8/26/09 11:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Hey, had to come back and comment again. I was flipping through channels the other day and saw your inspiration dress on a soap opera. Sorry, I don't know which one it was. But I did think that "I know that dress" and I thought of you. What a compliment to have a soap opera showing off YOUR dress. HaHa!
9/29/09 8:51 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress. (Love your fabric, also.) I hardly every buy clothing now, and I sew very slowly, so I'm sure you will make lots of wonderful garments.
9/7/09 7:31 PM
sewmytime said...
You have inspired me so much thanks for this awesome review...
9/7/09 8:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a beautiful dress, a very polished look for a beginner. I look forward to many reviews from you as you sew all your clothes for the next year.
9/6/09 8:00 AM
FullertonRegan said...
I just love this dress, and you did a fantastic job! I've been sewing for 15 years and still have problems lining up my darts and seams as flawlessly as you did. I highly suggest posting any garment you make here on this site. There's so much information & so many lovely folks ready & willing to help. However, you look like you're well on your way. Congrats on such a wonderful dress!
9/5/09 3:06 PM
Kellie R. said...
You look fabulous in this dress! What a fun fabric. The fabric suits the style perfectly and you look like a knockout!
9/4/09 1:29 PM
LovelyMM said...
wow! Nice fabric!
8/31/09 6:35 PM
rebija said...
Wow! Your version looks better than the pattern cover! Beautiful choice of fabric!
8/31/09 12:12 PM
SheriF said...
Great dress. I am going to follow your blog to see what comes next. Great review. Can't believe you are a beginner!
8/30/09 8:49 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be, and it looks GREAT on you! REALLY nice the way you've lined up that abstract design, too. I've been trying to go through all of the entries in the contest and remind everyone to be sure and include the required elements in your review, if you haven't already, those being: (a) A very brief description of your previous sewing experience. (b) Information regarding what outside help you may have received, other than online help here on PR. (c) If you are entering a garment into the Advanced Beginner Contest, please describe which technique(s) was new to you. (d) If your item was made as a part of a class, please note this in the review. Additionally, if the item was made as part of a class, the instructor must not have had any part in stitching or construction. GOOD LUCK in the contest!
8/29/09 1:04 AM
eugenia123 said...
Great dress, love that fabric. You look fantastic in it.
8/28/09 6:41 AM
cmarie12 said...
I absolutely LOVE the fabric you chose for this project!!!
8/27/09 5:03 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Rachel, I love this chic little number. The uniquely, beautiful fabric gives it that extra pop.
8/27/09 4:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Niiice!
8/27/09 4:20 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wonderful job!
8/27/09 1:54 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous dress in a beautiful fabric. This dress is a winner on you.
8/27/09 1:07 PM
RLL said...
Ditto on everyone's compliments. Really love the fabric!
8/27/09 12:40 PM
Leora said...
I want to sew a sheath dress but OMGosh the darts on this one! You sure tackled the project and made a beautiful dress, well done!
8/27/09 11:16 AM
RachelEsq said...
Thanks SO much for the compliments! Lamstu, I did make muslin copies of the pattern pieces and cut the dress in one layer so that the pattern would match up. Crescentaluna, I'm afraid of that happening! I'm going to keep a tally, so we'll see - that's what I'm actually interested to see: whether I will spend more! Blog should be up; I too got a "deleted" message at first, but clicked again and it is there. Thanks again for the encouragement!
8/27/09 11:16 AM
fryman said...
striking fashion fabric!!
8/27/09 10:49 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic fabric/pattern pairing!
8/27/09 9:15 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! What a terrifc fit you got with thispattern and the fabric makes it areal eye catcher.
8/27/09 9:09 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Go for it, girl! I've been sewing all of my clothes for 30 years and love it. Just go to the stores for inspiration.
8/27/09 9:00 AM
Morisot said...
Me too -- love how you used this fabric for your fabulous dress.
8/27/09 8:48 AM
Erica B. said...
Love it! That fabric is fantastic! BTW, I tried to access your blog and it's not there.
8/27/09 8:35 AM
lamstu said...
I like the way the print placement flows across the seam lines. Did it work out this way or did you plan it? Either way, you've got one excellent dress.
8/27/09 4:39 AM
LollyVee said...
Beautifully fitting dress out of the perfect print! Your dress is stunning! Good luck with your wardrobe challenge!
8/27/09 2:25 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
You can SO do this. I'm in my third year of sewing all my clothes (exceptions: sweaters, socks, undies). It's easy! One caveat: You may not save a dime; I certainly haven't, because most of my clothes had been thrifted, and sewing - well it ain't cheap. But I've changed from a hit-and-miss wardrobe that mostly didn't fit, to an increasing number of perfectly fitted, perfectly "me" clothes - which I could never in a million years afford from Anthro and Macy's.
8/27/09 2:07 AM
janella said...
:) Thanks for letting me know about the 28 darts!
8/27/09 1:35 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fantastic dress, the print is amazing as is the fit. Good luck with your 1 year project, I'm sure you'll come up with some great creations.
8/27/09 1:05 AM
Opals Passions said...
Gorgeous dress! I especially love the fabric and the style of the back..
8/27/09 0:35 AM
Markie1 said...
I just LOVE this on you! I think the shoulders are a wonderful design feature. in fact, there are surprises front AND back. What a great pairing of fabric and pattern.
8/27/09 0:22 AM
AquariJenn said...
Great looking dress and it fits you so well!
8/27/09 0:08 AM
Ingiepops said...
I agree the print is fabulous for the design of this dress. Welcome to the fabulous world of garment sewing! Just watch your fabric stash grow! ;))
8/26/09 11:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow, that is a fantastic print for the dress. You did a terrific job on only your 3rd garment. It's good to see another sewing lawyer on PR!
8/26/09 11:13 PM
geeklite said...
That's a gorgeous dress! I especially like how the dress is cut in the back.
8/26/09 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Lolita Patterns 1300

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Other LCC quilt

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now