SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Birch Street Clothing> CAFTAN (Caftan)

Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 3:18 PM
Last Updated:9/8/09 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crystalwoods said...
Thanks for a helpful review, I love the look of your fabric, and would enjoy seeing a photo of the finished project. I have looked at this pattern before and it would be great to see one made up. I am intrigued about the Japanese fusbile tape - where to you buy it? It sounds like it would be very useful!
8/27/09 2:44 PM
HatBuddy said...

8/27/09 5:25 PM
said...
Hi Crystal Woods... I am working on getting up a photo of the finished garment. Just a liitle bit more work to do. I found the tapes at: http://www.uniquetechniques.com/shopnotions/shopnotions.html
8/27/09 5:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Annette1 said...
You did a great job on this, Hatbuddy! I LOVE your fabric, and I especially like the button/loop closure. Nice job on including lots of pictures, too. I noticed you entered this and another item in the Beginner's Contest. I'm going to send you a personal message about that, okay? :o) I'll do it "RAT NOW."
8/29/09 1:47 PM
rebija said...
Great job!
8/31/09 12:25 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, great job. You should be proud of all your work ensuring that the one way design of your fabric falls the right way. I think this project will inspire many more projects from you.
9/5/09 10:35 AM
sherri2sew said...
good job
9/5/09 10:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
It made a lovely top. Great job on your construction details.
9/6/09 7:47 AM
AnneM said...
Tailoring tape is a more 'couture' finish than a serger, so don't hesitate to continue using it! Great job, congratulations. Wonderful pictures of your garment progress also; very information. Is the top as comfortable as it looks? (I like the shorter length; nice idea.)
9/7/09 7:26 PM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks for your praise and encouragement everyone! AnneM Yes it is the most comfortable item of clothing I own. It is more comfy then my pajama tops! :) It was chilly yesterday so I put a flip up collar 3/4 sleeve dress shirt under it that is almost the exact shade of the blue flowers. Not only did it keep me warm but it looked absolutely fabulous. When I made it I didn't think about layering it with other shirts; but it works!
9/8/09 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used 8819

photo
by: Sew Passio...

Review
Butterick 5418

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now