SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 560 times 
Reviewed by:hpsauce
photo

 
 
About hpsaucestar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/3/09
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/09 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
You should be proud! It's beautiful! I love the cheery color. Congratulations on your first review. I hope to see your reviews here in the future. Welcome.
8/30/09 11:16 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, FIRST of all, CONGRATULATIONS on your first review, and a GREAT one it is, too. Your coat has turned out SO nice! I think you're a natural at this (tears or no tears). :o) I've often been intrigued by this pattern myself. (And, YES, believe it or not, I HAVE it in the mountainous stash.) :o) I love what you did with the contrast hood lining and the belt. Good luck in the contest! I had come on here to send my friendly reminder, in case you left anything out of your review for the contest, but I think you have it covered. Should have any questions, though, you know where to find us on the discussion thread. :o)
8/31/09 1:00 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous coat and delightful review. Congrats on both!
8/31/09 7:53 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I am so impressed!! What a great coat! you really have nerve- I have been sewing seriously for a year and have never made a coat or jacket. And I love the contrast fabric too,
8/31/09 8:19 AM
stretch queen said...
So excited for your first coat. This pattern caught my eye about a month ago and since I am similarly fairly beginnerish I love your review. You boldly made changes and they were successful. WOW. I am inspired. I ordered my fabric for this pattern and can hardly wait to get started.
8/31/09 8:34 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great job on your first coat. Your fabric choices are very pretty.
8/31/09 9:14 AM
RLL said...
Congrats, very nice job! Love the color and your review. And I have always had the motto that every mistake is a learning opportunity.
8/31/09 11:42 AM
rebija said...
Nicely done!
8/31/09 12:27 PM
Vintage Joan said...
"Rank beginner" -- first review? Wow! This is a great coat and a wonderful review!
8/31/09 1:08 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You picked a fabulous color for your first coat - the lining is perfect! Great job!!
8/31/09 2:21 PM
Heatherbelle said...
Hi, this looks great - well done! This pattern was also my first coat. I was nervous too but love the result it is really well drafted. I used the Reader's Digest Complete Book of Sewing to add a lining and would recommend you have a look at it too if you decide to line it. I did draft a lining pattern to attach to the facing, so the facing stayed in my coat. Facings do get easier and more straightforward the more you do!
8/31/09 5:58 PM
Raye Ann said...
how wonderful! your coat is very pretty and nicely styled with your fabrics. super first coat job!! keep at it, glad you joined the PR party.
8/31/09 8:19 PM
AdaF said...
Very nicely done! Good job on your first coat! Careful, you'll have a lot of requests to make some for other people...!
9/4/09 2:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a really cute coat --- I love the contrast. Great job on both the coat and review.
9/6/09 7:44 AM
Lorri said...
I love your coat. You did a marvelous job Nice job on the review too. WTG!
9/6/09 3:28 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That looks amazing!! I have my first coat (this very pattern, which I bought here) ready to cut out today!! After I get off the computer:)
9/13/09 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5815

photo
by: Kristine K...

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now