SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Deerskin Portfolio 

Viewed 173 times 
Reviewed by:BGFishcakes
photo

 
 
About BGFishcakes
WA USA
Member since: 8/13/09
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/09 10:18 PM
Last Updated:8/31/09 11:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Well now, I have sewed for years and years and have not yet attempted leather! Great job, and I like your review, also. Can't wait to see your next project, and welcome to sewing! I, too, am off to google Theatre de la Mode, as instructed.
9/30/09 1:24 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Bravo BGFishcakes. The portfolio is a unique project to enter. I know both parents are proud of your entry. Great job and keep sewing.
9/8/09 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
Ah, yes, instructions the depend on Mom's mood. Cute. Congratulations on not only making this, but winning a blue ribbon! Nice to be able to make your own, rather than having to buy one.
9/7/09 8:00 PM
sewrelaxed said...
Very Haute coutier! Sounds like we have a budding Designer here...what will she come up with by the time her senior prom hits?!
9/7/09 0:24 AM
Sana said...
Congratulations on your one-of-a-kind portfolio. You are lucky to have a dad who is a hunter and willing to share his leather and spend time making you a button. (Not to mention having a mom who is able and willing to help you with sewing knowledge!) I'm envious, because I would really like to have a deerskin handbag with antler button.
9/4/09 4:01 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent first project! Thanks for the review.
9/2/09 1:12 PM
pterion said...
Very cool looking portfolio! Nice job on this project. Congratulations on the blue ribbon!
9/1/09 1:56 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
I LOVE it!! Congrats on your blue ribbon!!!!!!!!
9/1/09 9:13 AM
snaffles said...
Terrific...I'd love one like that! Congrats on your blue ribbon.
8/31/09 11:21 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO cool, and truly unique. I think it's MUCH better than anything you could have bought due to the fact that your mom and dad had a hand in helping you. VERY NICE! (Love that button, too.) Also, as the manager of the Beginner's contest, I'm trying to make the rounds of all of our entries, to make sure they all include the required information in the review, which is as follows: 4. Contest Entry Requirements. A. Beginner: Make any sewn item. Such item may be a garment, an accessory or a home dec project. B. Advanced Beginner: Make a garment incorporating at least one technique that is new to you. C. The following applies to entries in both contests: (1) Write a review of your project, complete with a picture of the finished item. (2) In addition to the standard information on the review template, the review should include: (a) A very brief description of your previous sewing experience. (b) Information regarding what outside help you may have received, other than online help here on PR. (c) If you are entering a garment into the Advanced Beginner Contest, please describe which technique(s) was new to you. (d) If your item was made as a part of a class, please note this in the review. Additionally, if the item was made as part of a class, the instructor must not have had any part in stitching or construction. I think if you just edit your review to include a little blurb on your sewing experience, you'll be good to go. You can edit the review by clicking on the "Edit" button up near the top of the review on the right-hand side. GREAT JOB, and good luck in the contest! And now I'm off to Google Theatre de la Mode.
8/31/09 10:53 PM
Awi said...
that button is SO neat! Great job working with a very tricky material
8/31/09 10:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

More Info
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info