SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5893 (1 Hour Dress)

21 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:Nujoi1908
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nujoi1908star
IL USA
Member since: 5/29/09
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/09 11:15 PM
Last Updated:8/31/09 11:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Your dress sounds like it's lovely. Please be sure to add a picture of your finished project to your review, so that the judges are able to see it when they do their contest judging. You can "Edit" your review by clicking on the "Edit" button at the upper right of the review. Then when you get in there, add your project photo url in the appropriate box. If you can't get it added there, then add it to the body of the review by clicking on the link right above the text of your review that says to add an "insertable link," or something along those lines. When you click on that, a screen will then pop up into which you can paste the url for your finished project photo. Good luck in the contest!
8/31/09 11:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Whoops! While I was writing my message, you were inserting your project photo. Sorry about that! :o)
8/31/09 11:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, well done!
9/1/09 0:39 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice dress and a good fit, by the looks of it.
9/1/09 5:42 AM
mollyshark said...
Great work. Does seem to have a perfect fit. Many of these '1 hour" dresses are somewhat sack-like, but this one has style. For knits..have very VERY sharp scissors.
9/1/09 7:00 AM
Nujoi1908 said...
Thanks all! @mollyshark, I think I may buy scissors just for knits and invest in some pattern weights.
9/1/09 7:32 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely dress and beautifully made.
9/1/09 8:14 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very flattering dress!
9/1/09 8:45 AM
DivaQ said...
Cute dress.
9/1/09 11:23 AM
mary in FL said...
Your dress turned out great! As for your co-workers, just say no, unless you plan to charge them gazigabucks.
9/1/09 6:55 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You did a great job on this dress! I've found it helpful with knits to go by my high-bust, not full bust, measurement.
9/3/09 9:11 PM
Marilyn270 said...
This looks great ! I have this pattern and I plan on making it soon.
9/4/09 4:43 PM
morzel said...
This dress sure fits great! You can be very proud about this first knit project.
9/5/09 2:19 PM
sherri2sew said...
nice fit, pretty dress
9/5/09 11:00 PM
Nujoi1908 said...
Thanks @ Nancy Ann! My high bust puts me between a 12 and a 14. No wonder I've been having such problems with bodices.
9/6/09 4:03 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Congrats on using a knit. Nice style, looks great on you. (Hope you said no to your co-workers, or you won't have time to sew for yourself!) I could use a gathers project myself; never a favorite activity for me. I'll advocate rotary cutters for knits (& wovens, for that matter). I love using that cutting method.
9/7/09 7:29 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Your dress looks so nice because the armholes fit! Great Job.
9/9/09 1:54 PM
MHW said...
What a beautifully flattering dress! Well done, great fit, looks gorgeous.
9/10/09 2:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-110B

photo
by: sky

Review
ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now