SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5936 (1960's suit)

10 more reviews
Viewed 841 times 
Reviewed by:mimi g.
photo

 
 
About mimi g.starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/31/07
Reviews written: 224
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 267 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/09 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
You did such a nice job; your workmanship shows. Put it away for a day; then try it on with a nice shell and a slick pencil skirt or slim trousers and see how you like it. It's a good-looking jacket.
10/20/09 2:17 PM
Nancy K said...
It really looks great on you, so yeah put it away for a bit and try it on again.
10/20/09 2:25 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/20/09 3:49 PM
Raye Ann said...
it does have great style- try it again with a fitted dress or a pencil skirt.
10/20/09 4:46 PM
RLL said...
Fabulous workmanship and great style. I vote with the others for you to put it away and revisit in the near future.
10/20/09 5:09 PM
Catbird said...
I think it's fabulous and I hope you come to like it more with time!
10/20/09 8:03 PM
digs57 said...
You made a beautiful jacket, be proud of it. Now, put it together with a pair of black slacks and a turtleneck of your favourite colour, and you'll rock.
10/20/09 8:22 PM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks fabulous on you! I agree with others who said put it away for now and revisit soon.
10/20/09 11:13 PM
ladylola said...
It's a lovely jacket. Maybe you're just fed up with it because you spent so much time on it. I'm sure you'll get to like it and wear it eventually.
10/21/09 6:54 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a great job on this and it looks good on you, What's not to like?
10/21/09 7:48 AM
nicegirl said...
I love it! I agree that you might come to enjoy this piece more with time. Otherwise, PM me for my address. I'll pay postage. Heh.
10/21/09 4:13 PM
room2ndfloor said...
Are you used to wearing jackets with more ease? Two years into this fashion for wearing cropped jackets over longer tops, and I still can't get used to seeing the tops hanging out at the waistline. Give it a chance over a fitted dress, that way there will be fewer horizontal lines at your waist.
10/22/09 1:12 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I do not know what you are looking at.... LOL You did a fantastic job and it looks great on you! :-) Nice jacket. This looks like it came out of Neiman Marcus.
10/23/09 4:58 PM
twilihard95 said...
My name is Masera Ahmed and I am currently a senior taking Fashion in high school. I am part of the FCCLA-Fashion. Every year FCCLA has a fashion competition where students have to design, sew, and model something they made. This year I would like to make the mccalls pattern 5936, but it is out of print. I checked amazon, ebay, and called McCalls. I know this is a lot to ask, but would you be willing to send me you copy of the pattern with directions? I would really appreciate it and send the pattern right back to you, once I made the garment. Thank you for taking the time to read this! Masera
1/21/13 3:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Other 3HP000000

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review