SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5936 (1960's suit)

10 more reviews
Viewed 846 times 
Reviewed by:mimi g.
photo

 
 
About mimi g.starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/31/07
Reviews written: 224
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 280 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/09 1:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
twilihard95 said...
My name is Masera Ahmed and I am currently a senior taking Fashion in high school. I am part of the FCCLA-Fashion. Every year FCCLA has a fashion competition where students have to design, sew, and model something they made. This year I would like to make the mccalls pattern 5936, but it is out of print. I checked amazon, ebay, and called McCalls. I know this is a lot to ask, but would you be willing to send me you copy of the pattern with directions? I would really appreciate it and send the pattern right back to you, once I made the garment. Thank you for taking the time to read this! Masera
1/21/13 3:57 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I do not know what you are looking at.... LOL You did a fantastic job and it looks great on you! :-) Nice jacket. This looks like it came out of Neiman Marcus.
10/23/09 4:58 PM
room2ndfloor said...
Are you used to wearing jackets with more ease? Two years into this fashion for wearing cropped jackets over longer tops, and I still can't get used to seeing the tops hanging out at the waistline. Give it a chance over a fitted dress, that way there will be fewer horizontal lines at your waist.
10/22/09 1:12 PM
nicegirl said...
I love it! I agree that you might come to enjoy this piece more with time. Otherwise, PM me for my address. I'll pay postage. Heh.
10/21/09 4:13 PM
Woolygal said...
You did a great job on this and it looks good on you, What's not to like?
10/21/09 7:48 AM
ladylola said...
It's a lovely jacket. Maybe you're just fed up with it because you spent so much time on it. I'm sure you'll get to like it and wear it eventually.
10/21/09 6:54 AM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks fabulous on you! I agree with others who said put it away for now and revisit soon.
10/20/09 11:13 PM
digs57 said...
You made a beautiful jacket, be proud of it. Now, put it together with a pair of black slacks and a turtleneck of your favourite colour, and you'll rock.
10/20/09 8:22 PM
Catbird said...
I think it's fabulous and I hope you come to like it more with time!
10/20/09 8:03 PM
RLL said...
Fabulous workmanship and great style. I vote with the others for you to put it away and revisit in the near future.
10/20/09 5:09 PM
Raye Ann said...
it does have great style- try it again with a fitted dress or a pencil skirt.
10/20/09 4:46 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/20/09 3:49 PM
Nancy K said...
It really looks great on you, so yeah put it away for a bit and try it on again.
10/20/09 2:25 PM
Aixoise said...
You did such a nice job; your workmanship shows. Put it away for a day; then try it on with a nice shell and a slick pencil skirt or slim trousers and see how you like it. It's a good-looking jacket.
10/20/09 2:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book 1

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now