Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5936 (1960\'s suit) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 830 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:mimi g.
photo
About mimi g.starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/31/07
Reviews written: 219
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 232 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/20/09 1:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
You did such a nice job; your workmanship shows. Put it away for a day; then try it on with a nice shell and a slick pencil skirt or slim trousers and see how you like it. It's a good-looking jacket.
10/20/09 2:17 PM
Nancy K said...
It really looks great on you, so yeah put it away for a bit and try it on again.
10/20/09 2:25 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/20/09 3:49 PM
Raye Ann said...
it does have great style- try it again with a fitted dress or a pencil skirt.
10/20/09 4:46 PM
RLL said...
Fabulous workmanship and great style. I vote with the others for you to put it away and revisit in the near future.
10/20/09 5:09 PM
Catbird said...
I think it's fabulous and I hope you come to like it more with time!
10/20/09 8:03 PM
digs57 said...
You made a beautiful jacket, be proud of it. Now, put it together with a pair of black slacks and a turtleneck of your favourite colour, and you'll rock.
10/20/09 8:22 PM
Elke said...
Lovely jacket and it looks fabulous on you! I agree with others who said put it away for now and revisit soon.
10/20/09 11:13 PM
ladylola said...
It's a lovely jacket. Maybe you're just fed up with it because you spent so much time on it. I'm sure you'll get to like it and wear it eventually.
10/21/09 6:54 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a great job on this and it looks good on you, What's not to like?
10/21/09 7:48 AM
nicegirl said...
I love it! I agree that you might come to enjoy this piece more with time. Otherwise, PM me for my address. I'll pay postage. Heh.
10/21/09 4:13 PM
room2ndfloor said...
Are you used to wearing jackets with more ease? Two years into this fashion for wearing cropped jackets over longer tops, and I still can't get used to seeing the tops hanging out at the waistline. Give it a chance over a fitted dress, that way there will be fewer horizontal lines at your waist.
10/22/09 1:12 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I do not know what you are looking at.... LOL You did a fantastic job and it looks great on you! :-) Nice jacket. This looks like it came out of Neiman Marcus.
10/23/09 4:58 PM
twilihard95 said...
My name is Masera Ahmed and I am currently a senior taking Fashion in high school. I am part of the FCCLA-Fashion. Every year FCCLA has a fashion competition where students have to design, sew, and model something they made. This year I would like to make the mccalls pattern 5936, but it is out of print. I checked amazon, ebay, and called McCalls. I know this is a lot to ask, but would you be willing to send me you copy of the pattern with directions? I would really appreciate it and send the pattern right back to you, once I made the garment. Thank you for taking the time to read this! Masera
1/21/13 3:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2977
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/21/10
Read Review

Burda 9438 Pattern
Burda 9438 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1579 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Contest MY Pattern 2008
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 8/1/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us