SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 167033-1000 (LBD (Givenchy inspired))

Viewed 2436 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/09 2:57 PM
Last Updated:10/28/09 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 39 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
97 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Beautiful! You nailed that one!
10/24/09 3:25 PM
Andreahg said...
WOW! that is a stunning dress!
10/24/09 3:36 PM
eleda said...
Elainemay, your LBD is beautiful. I like how you added different "accessories" to show how the LBD can funtion in just about any locale.
10/24/09 3:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Givenchy would be proud! You've particularly drafted the back bodice pieces to be in *perfect* proportion to your slim, small boned back, and the effect is marvelous. And using your black wool was inspired to make this LBD so extremely versatile. Very lovely, Lily
10/24/09 3:58 PM
janlorraine said...
I love the length; it makes the dress much more elegant in my opinion than above the knee, and more comfortable as well. Bravissima!
10/24/09 4:00 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice!
10/24/09 4:36 PM
Christas said...
This is a lovely dress. Wow! AND.... that back is simply outstanding ....... GORGEOUS!!!
10/24/09 4:40 PM
Mary W said...
great dress
10/24/09 4:47 PM
Mufffet said...
What lovely work. Beautiful on you as well.
10/24/09 4:54 PM
EleanorSews said...
Wow! What a lovely dress! You have done such a great job of creating this dress and it does fit you like a glove. You can't get much more on target for LDB.
10/24/09 5:47 PM
ksk in bkln said...
That is gorgeous. You did a brilliant job.
10/24/09 5:47 PM
JAS said...
You've done Audrey proud, that is a perfect LBD. Tall, dark, and hansome is always a perfect accessory.
10/24/09 5:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
Elegant, classy, and what a stunning fit. Great job.
10/24/09 6:05 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your dress is divine! I absolutely adore the back, but I also like how when you cover it up the dress becomes very conservative. The perfect LBD because it is so versatile. Nice job!
10/24/09 6:54 PM
jannw said...
Beautiful...and so wearable
10/24/09 7:09 PM
sew obsessed said...
WOW! I have always loved that LBD. I agree, Givenchy would be proud! When I read about the contest I imagined this dress and you have captured it beautifully.
10/24/09 7:46 PM
AnneM said...
Love, love, love the dress. Great style.
10/24/09 7:47 PM
Kay Y said...
Just gorgeous! I too think you have the back down perfectly, and adore the fit. Wear it often, with that man!
10/24/09 7:52 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Knock-out LBD! This sort of dress (and your chic look, wearing it) is exactly what comes to my mind when I think of the quintessential little black dress. :)
10/24/09 8:02 PM
MaryDB said...
Bravo! Absolutely top-notch. You look great, and so does the dress.
10/24/09 8:29 PM
marec said...
oh, that is a *nice* dress...
10/24/09 8:30 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Madamoiselle, tu es vraiment tellement une jolie femme!! Miss, you are really a pretty lady!! Very French style of dressing and accessorizing!! Bravo!! Bravo!!
10/24/09 8:56 PM
rbrunson said...
Wow! Love it. great job!
10/24/09 9:06 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow -- another super-elegant, beautifully crafted dress. It looks great on you.
10/24/09 9:29 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
Absolutely fabulous! WOW!
10/24/09 9:44 PM
becca a said...
What a stunning dress. You look beautiful in it. You have achieved perfect fit and an interesting variation on the sheath dress. I love the back!
10/24/09 9:53 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. You did a great job and it looks perfect on you.
10/24/09 10:16 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful beyond belief. absolutely fabulous! it is the definition of LBD- highly versatile and very elegant.
10/24/09 10:19 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a stunning dress. You've done such a fabulous job taking a classica and giving it chic styling through the back. Just great all around!
10/24/09 10:26 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's gorgeous!
10/24/09 10:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow, gulp, i wish i had you skills:) Truly couture elegance.
10/24/09 10:59 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Beautiful work and the fit is perfection! I love how you drafted the back. Thanks for sharing the process.
10/24/09 11:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's stunning. Well done.
10/25/09 2:20 AM
jilly cooper said...
beautiful. that back is elegant and stunning, well done!!! You have an amazing ability to match the fabric to the garment.
10/25/09 2:50 AM
Sic said...
Wow, gorgeous.
10/25/09 5:21 AM
valerie sews said...
You have created a beautiful, trully versatile dress that suits you perfectly. Love your 'loveliest accessory' too!
10/25/09 7:51 AM
Linda E. said...
Love the dress you did a great job on it and the accessories look great with it. The tall dark handsome one looks really nice with it.
10/25/09 9:46 AM
cindyann said...
Perfection! In every way this dress is just fantastic and your styling for each occasion is spot on.
10/25/09 10:18 AM
lynnewill said...
Everybody's comments are on the mark. Lovely dress, its versatility makes it a very chic wardrobe staple. Thank you for sharing your talent
10/25/09 10:25 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Love it!!! This is the LBD I've always wanted to make.
10/25/09 10:57 AM
Jali said...
I love that your LBD is simple, elegant and versatile. Great work, stunning dress!
10/25/09 11:02 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awestruck here... you look very polished, sophisticated and fabulous in your LBD! Just lovely thank you for posting!
10/25/09 11:17 AM
Annette Wright said...
Absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to check out your blog.
10/25/09 11:50 AM
Catbird said...
You have totally captured the Audrey Hepburn style. This is understated but undeniably elegant and the fit is absolutely perfect. And not only that, but you managed to make a stunning LBD that is also versatile and can work beautifully in different settings! I LOVE the back. You've done an outstanding job!
10/25/09 12:35 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/25/09 12:54 PM
LollyVee said...
'THAT DRESS' is stunning!! Love the back and the fit is perfect...Dan seems suitably impressed too!!!
10/25/09 1:51 PM
got2sew said...
Absolutely stunning. I love how it is so basic but so alluring as well. Great job!
10/25/09 2:21 PM
Em's Summer said...
The back is stunning! I love this dress! You did a wonderful job!
10/25/09 2:27 PM
Leora said...
Perfect!
10/25/09 2:33 PM
carnelian said...
Skilled.Chic. Brava.
10/25/09 3:03 PM
emeraldjul said...
Stunning. Fabulous design, fit and construction...looks incredible on you!
10/25/09 3:07 PM
crystalwoods said...
What a fabulous dress you have created! I just love all the ways you have created different looks with accessories! Just fabulous.
10/25/09 3:40 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Bravo!! What a perfect LBD. Gorgeously designed, impeccably fitted and constructed, and beautifully accessorized. I want to slap the judges of Project Runway with black opera gloves, wave this dress at them and scream *THIS IS WHAT "HOME SEWN" LOOKS LIKE*!!
10/25/09 4:46 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress and a fun to read review.
10/25/09 6:04 PM
Kgrrl said...
Self-drafted? You've done an amazing job!
10/25/09 6:42 PM
Boo97 said...
What can I say but it's fabulous!
10/25/09 8:04 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Your dress is fabulous on you! You have a real knack for selecting styles and fabrics that work well together, and suit you perfectly. Although the back is gorgeous, I really think that the winning detail is the length you have chosen! P.S. Your blog is a great read.
10/26/09 5:34 AM
purplebouquet said...
Fantastic. Great fit, both on your figure and personality. I learned a lot of how to style a LBD differently. Way to go! Claudia
10/26/09 5:53 PM
craftygamma said...
Great dress & so versatile! Wish I could wear something like this. Sigh...maybe for my daughter. Very thorough review.
10/28/09 7:48 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous.
10/28/09 8:02 AM
michalklimer said...
Wow, what an amazing dress!
10/28/09 9:02 AM
Barbara V said...
Such a beautiful dress. Fantastic fit and workmanship! Thank you for sharing the pattern.
10/28/09 9:33 AM
bouddhaman said...
Lovely, just lovely. I bet you love wearing it .
10/28/09 9:41 AM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/28/09 11:20 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I like the ways you wear, I now finally know what fuss is about "LBD", great job!
10/28/09 1:13 PM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely stunning
10/28/09 11:56 PM
animaldream said...
Wow! How beautiful. I love all your clothes. They are great!
10/30/09 4:17 AM
Paris75008 said...
Pure perfection - both you and that lovely dress. I just love your accessorizing and your sense of style. Enjoy wearing it. It's simply stunning!
10/30/09 6:18 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Absolutely lovely. That back neckline is beautiful. Great job!
10/30/09 6:38 AM
QuickFade said...
Gorgeous! So sweet to share the pattern! As a full busted woman, this style wouldn't work for me, but I still love it! And, I love the versatility!
10/30/09 10:53 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous LBD!! You look fabulous in it!
10/30/09 8:16 PM
Athene said...
You look absolutely exquisite. A beautiful fit on your LBD and love your sense of style.
10/31/09 11:19 PM
stashblaster said...
You look stunning in your LBD. This is perfection. You have designed this dress for so many functions. This is so classic you can wear this for years. Bravo!
11/1/09 11:02 AM
GwenH said...
What a beautiful dress and it fit's you perfectly!
11/2/09 2:03 PM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size cause your coffee date dress is perfect too!
11/7/09 0:38 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:39 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:40 AM
Beach Wolf said...
Fabulous. Everyone thinks of Audrey Hepburn when they think of the LBD. Yours is more of little-black dressy than hers. The perfect update. Fabulous blog. I'm so happy I can fit into the same size!
11/7/09 0:40 AM
cindy-lou said...
FANTASTIC dress!
11/9/09 5:39 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful dress! I love the cut and design. That fact that it's so versatile doesn't hurt either! Great job!
11/9/09 5:52 PM
elily00 said...
Beautiful job elaine! I'm sure I commented on burdastyle also, but you really got it right with this dress! It is fantastic. The fit is absolutely perfect, and the style is fabulous also. Just beautiful. You deserve to win this one :)
11/9/09 6:21 PM
jonesyb said...
LBD = Audrey Hepburn to me, too. :) This dress is BEAUTIFUL!!! I'm so very impressed - excellent job!
11/9/09 6:26 PM
BeeJ said...
Marvelous!!! Gets my vote.
11/9/09 8:23 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That dress rocks!!! It is soooo classy. I must say I like it even better that the original which inspired it. And it fits you perfectly!!
11/9/09 11:10 PM
Tailypo said...
Oh my gosh, that is a beautiful piece of work. Design, construction, fit, choice of fabric, shaping and details -- just A+ work.
11/9/09 11:42 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Congrats! Your dress was absolutely perfect!
11/10/09 3:24 AM
Mimi O said...
Beautiful dress and LOVE all the views you took to show how versatile the LBD can be!!!
11/10/09 7:35 AM
selvage said...
Amazing work, looks like a designer dress worth thousands. The dress is beautiful on you.
11/10/09 7:23 PM
Meredith P said...
Just more kudos. Beautifully done, and yes, Dan is a lovely accessory. Thanks for making the pattern available on your blog, which I love BTW.
11/11/09 11:47 AM
FirecrackerKTM said...
Wow. Congrats on winning the contest. Your dress is lovely and so are all the outfits you put together.
11/12/09 11:24 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Congrats on your win - that is one *amazing* dress!
11/12/09 12:50 PM
Paticia La Forte said...
Wow! Just amazing, you did a wonderful job!
11/12/09 8:41 PM
Tez said...
Beautiful! Congratulations on your win.
11/13/09 10:32 AM
kiddo said...
Congratulations!!! Brilliante! The whole design and sewing looks effortlessly elegant.
11/17/09 8:42 AM
kiddo said...
Congratulations!!! Brilliante! The whole design and sewing looks effortlessly elegant.
11/17/09 8:50 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress, great workmanship!
11/17/09 9:32 AM
freja71 said...
So beautiful. Love the back.
3/2/10 9:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2544

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now