SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-133 (Men's jacket with pockets)

Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/09 8:08 PM
Last Updated:12/28/09 1:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Very impressive jacket - DBF is very fortunate!
1/26/10 10:01 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice looking jacket. Can you post more pictures???
1/21/10 3:29 PM
Jolet said...
I like the review you wrote. What a complicated jacket, you dit a great job. Congratulations with the prize! I regonize all the things you write about the Burda instructions! Sometimes you've to read them over and over again to understand what they mean. The first 6 years after I started sewing I only used Burda and Knip (Dutch magazine) patterns. They both have very difficult instructions. When I used a Vogue pattern for the first time I was surprised about the completely different way Vogue and other pattern companies approached sewing. In Holland Vogue patterns are regarded as very expensive and exclusive. I think it's the other way around about Burda patterns in America!
1/20/10 12:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Karen, That is one outstanding looking jacket. I'm sure Mario is over joyed. Two snaps up!!!
1/19/10 10:28 AM
Tailypo said...
I really love this jacket. Great work!
1/8/10 5:37 PM
OP Gal said...
Great jacket! DBF looks happy! That's what counts.
1/8/10 1:23 PM
CaroleM said...
Fabulous job.
1/8/10 7:51 AM
emkayloves2sew said...
Bravo! Great job on the jacket and the review! I just finished reading your blog as well and how his aunt made him take it off so she could inspect it!! I would NEVER let someone do that on anything I made, but just the thought that someone might is a good reason to aspire for perfection rather than just 'finally done!' that I normally end up at. Also appreciated how much you involved him in the 'process' such as with the pockets and the buttonhole threads. No wonder he is so curious about the contest, LOL!
1/8/10 0:19 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations and great job, Karen! The jacket looks great. Wonderful to try out new techniques, and it's always good to give the DH something nice once in a while. :)
1/7/10 9:05 PM
voet said...
Karen, Thanks for a great review. I especially appreciated the fact that you listed books that you referred to. Also, I was glad that you had close-ups of the fabric you used. The checks were doing crazy things to my eyes in the far away photos.
12/29/09 11:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
Karen, this jacket is so impressive! What a lucky man he is. I don't dare show my DH or he'll be on my case to sew more for him pronto ;) .
12/29/09 8:46 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow! That's a great jacket.
12/28/09 5:30 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a great looking jacket. I would never consider this but your review was so inspiring that it got me wondering....
12/28/09 7:35 AM
Heatherrique said...
Exquisitely beautiful jacket on your good looking husband. He is proud to wear your jacket, and I see why. You put lots of love, skill, and time into it. This is jacket is a keeper!
12/26/09 1:47 PM
frame said...
Great looking jacket! Wonderful fit and design.
12/26/09 1:01 PM
lmg said...
This is a great men's jacket. Kudos to you. He looks fantastic in it. My DH is envious....
12/26/09 12:33 PM
Nancy K said...
It looked great before, but on Mario is it just fabulous!
12/26/09 9:47 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I love how his jacket turned out. I hope you're very proud of yourself, especially after the leather collar jacket issues.
12/26/09 9:20 AM
ConnieBJ said...
The Boy looks oh so good! Wonderful review and great job.
12/26/09 8:56 AM
Lori V said...
Very handsome jacket, you did a terrific job. thanks for the incredible review.
12/26/09 7:31 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
The jacket suits him so well, and it is subtly so different from what we usually see in men's jackets. What a great feeling to take on something ambitious and have it work out well--and in time for Christmas, too.
12/26/09 7:24 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is wonderful. i hope he really gets the work it takes, i mean REALLLY gets it! you are so talented.
12/26/09 0:57 AM
becca a said...
What a fantastic jacket! It is really fabulous. Lucky BF! Thank you for the detailed review with great pictures--so very helpful.
12/24/09 10:48 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Looks great, Karen. The fabric is beautiful close up. Looking forward to seeing it on your BF.
12/24/09 9:25 AM
feldmanTcat said...
Looks great - I was anxiously awaiting this after following the construction process on your blog (you're in my iGoogle RSS feed). Please keep sewing for your BF, because you seem to gravitate towards similar styles that I want to use for my fiance.
12/24/09 8:59 AM
fourkid said...
Wonderful job - and great tips.
12/24/09 8:43 AM
Nancy K said...
Wonderful! I look forward to pictures of Mario in the jacket.
12/24/09 8:27 AM
Athene said...
Many hours of work and it shows. A very smart looking jacket.
12/23/09 10:21 PM
Re Becca said...
Good review, thanks for the info on the lining. He must be really proud, does he brag that you made it?
12/23/09 9:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
All your hard work was worth it -- the jacket turned out beautifully, and I know your DBF will love it. Congratulations on a terrific project with many wonderfully executed details.
12/23/09 9:08 PM
voet said...
Great review, Karen. I really appreciate the additional pictures. It turned out great. I am sure your DBF will be pleased.
12/23/09 8:26 PM
katlew03 said...
Karen, sorry I spelled your name incorrectly. Didn't proof read very well.
12/23/09 8:20 PM
katlew03 said...
Kareb, great looking jacket. You did a terrific job. No matter how many years you've been sewing, there's always a new experience out there. I've been sewing for 50+ years and this week's project just about did me in.
12/23/09 8:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now