Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 5940 (One-Piece Dress ca. early 60s) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 409 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/10 1:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks super good on you.
4/27/10 1:33 PM
Mermie said...
I love this dress! It looks great on you.
4/27/10 2:09 PM
maryfrana said...
Vintage forever. This is lovely and modern. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/10 2:40 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you look absolutely fabulous in this dress--wonderful job!!! The fit is perfect.
4/27/10 3:40 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Lovely and a great choice of fabric!
4/27/10 4:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really cute & pretty!! The DRESS, too!! ;)
4/27/10 5:07 PM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the cross on the front,it fits you very well.
4/27/10 6:48 PM
Lisette said...
Very beautiful!
4/27/10 10:14 PM
Laurasews said...
Awesome on you! Love the pattern and great review.
4/28/10 0:08 AM
wreninrome said...
wow! amazing dress and review
4/28/10 4:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress. It looks really good on you.
4/28/10 8:16 AM
Obrooks770 said...
CUTE! That really looks good on you!
4/28/10 1:11 PM
MagpieJen said...
So fabulous! I love this polished look. You worked hard on the fitting (thank you for all the great details on that!) and it really shows in this fine garment!
4/28/10 1:21 PM
Kay Y said...
Super nice! Will we be seeing this at the PR weekend???
4/28/10 2:53 PM
whirrclunk said...
You look fabulous in this dress. Better than the envelope!
4/28/10 4:03 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all your very kind comments! I really appreciate them, and hope some of you who have not sewn vintage patterns before will try it. :) Kay, yes, I may wear this to the PR weekend. It depends on what else I make by then, but I'm pretty happy with it!
4/28/10 7:31 PM
colorkitten said...
that crossed bodice is such a great detail! it looks fantastic!
4/29/10 2:17 PM
Kayseri said...
Wonderful dress. Beautifully made and really suits you.
4/30/10 7:42 AM
Marie_P. said...
Very flattering dress. You look fab.
4/30/10 11:51 AM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
4/30/10 12:13 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Cemetarian.com indicates 1963 as well. Very cute dress - I really like the way it wraps in the front. Unique - which is one of the main reasons we all sew, right? Good job!
4/30/10 5:32 PM
Margaret said...
Denise, thanks!! I didn't realize Cemetarian.com had year lists. I'm going to check out my other patterns there!
5/1/10 11:26 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I just love this dress. It looks terrific on you, and you did a wonderful job. What a great pattern!
5/2/10 1:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Distinctive and stylish! You achieved a superb fit, congratulations!
5/2/10 12:59 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a style for you. The 60s & 70s styles aren't usually my fav, but that one is spectacular. Congratulations.
5/2/10 7:56 PM
fourkid said...
This came out so beautiful - you are so much more patient than I in fitting it correctly. This looks modern and classy - great job!
5/3/10 8:32 AM
Camerio said...
Stunning dress.
5/3/10 8:48 PM
graustark said...
This is a gorgeous dress, and the fit looks perfect -- as its creator, you may be able to find ways to improve it, but I don't think others will! Thanks for going into your alterations in detail, it was a good learning experience.
5/3/10 8:52 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you! For me fitting is one of the most interesting parts... so I'm glad all the detail on that can be useful to some, even though every figure is different!
5/4/10 11:36 AM
ElizabethDee said...
Your fitting skills are wonderful -- and your dress is GORGEOUS! Thanks for a great review.
5/4/10 12:55 PM
JillyBe said...
This dress looks stunning on you! Very nice, thorough review :)
5/4/10 1:07 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
5/6/10 1:37 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! I love the style and the color. Great job!
5/7/10 9:14 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!
5/8/10 12:21 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a really nice job on this dress - color, fit, everything. Inspiring!
5/17/10 1:12 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/18/10 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 1248
photo
Review by Marge99 on 8/20/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1079
photo
Review by BenaeQuee on 12/17/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us