SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 5940 (One-Piece Dress ca. early 60s)

Viewed 410 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/10 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks super good on you.
4/27/10 1:33 PM
Mermie said...
I love this dress! It looks great on you.
4/27/10 2:09 PM
maryfrana said...
Vintage forever. This is lovely and modern. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/10 2:40 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you look absolutely fabulous in this dress--wonderful job!!! The fit is perfect.
4/27/10 3:40 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Lovely and a great choice of fabric!
4/27/10 4:01 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Really cute & pretty!! The DRESS, too!! ;)
4/27/10 5:07 PM
Lili123 said...
very nice dress, i love the cross on the front,it fits you very well.
4/27/10 6:48 PM
Lisette said...
Very beautiful!
4/27/10 10:14 PM
Laurasews said...
Awesome on you! Love the pattern and great review.
4/28/10 0:08 AM
wreninrome said...
wow! amazing dress and review
4/28/10 4:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress. It looks really good on you.
4/28/10 8:16 AM
Obrooks770 said...
CUTE! That really looks good on you!
4/28/10 1:11 PM
MagpieJen said...
So fabulous! I love this polished look. You worked hard on the fitting (thank you for all the great details on that!) and it really shows in this fine garment!
4/28/10 1:21 PM
Kay Y said...
Super nice! Will we be seeing this at the PR weekend???
4/28/10 2:53 PM
whirrclunk said...
You look fabulous in this dress. Better than the envelope!
4/28/10 4:03 PM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks for all your very kind comments! I really appreciate them, and hope some of you who have not sewn vintage patterns before will try it. :) Kay, yes, I may wear this to the PR weekend. It depends on what else I make by then, but I'm pretty happy with it!
4/28/10 7:31 PM
colorkitten said...
that crossed bodice is such a great detail! it looks fantastic!
4/29/10 2:17 PM
Kayseri said...
Wonderful dress. Beautifully made and really suits you.
4/30/10 7:42 AM
Marie_P. said...
Very flattering dress. You look fab.
4/30/10 11:51 AM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
4/30/10 12:13 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Cemetarian.com indicates 1963 as well. Very cute dress - I really like the way it wraps in the front. Unique - which is one of the main reasons we all sew, right? Good job!
4/30/10 5:32 PM
Margaret said...
Denise, thanks!! I didn't realize Cemetarian.com had year lists. I'm going to check out my other patterns there!
5/1/10 11:26 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I just love this dress. It looks terrific on you, and you did a wonderful job. What a great pattern!
5/2/10 1:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Distinctive and stylish! You achieved a superb fit, congratulations!
5/2/10 12:59 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a style for you. The 60s & 70s styles aren't usually my fav, but that one is spectacular. Congratulations.
5/2/10 7:56 PM
fourkid said...
This came out so beautiful - you are so much more patient than I in fitting it correctly. This looks modern and classy - great job!
5/3/10 8:32 AM
Camerio said...
Stunning dress.
5/3/10 8:48 PM
graustark said...
This is a gorgeous dress, and the fit looks perfect -- as its creator, you may be able to find ways to improve it, but I don't think others will! Thanks for going into your alterations in detail, it was a good learning experience.
5/3/10 8:52 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you! For me fitting is one of the most interesting parts... so I'm glad all the detail on that can be useful to some, even though every figure is different!
5/4/10 11:36 AM
ElizabethDee said...
Your fitting skills are wonderful -- and your dress is GORGEOUS! Thanks for a great review.
5/4/10 12:55 PM
JillyBe said...
This dress looks stunning on you! Very nice, thorough review :)
5/4/10 1:07 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!!
5/6/10 1:37 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! I love the style and the color. Great job!
5/7/10 9:14 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks!
5/8/10 12:21 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a really nice job on this dress - color, fit, everything. Inspiring!
5/17/10 1:12 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/18/10 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-103

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Simplicity 3503

photo
by: LakesideLa...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now