SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Men's Banded Collar Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 490 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
This turned out great, both ways-with only the collar stand and with the added collar. I love that this pattern has both a knit and a woven shirt-its a very versatile pattern (now if i can manage to grade up from a size 40 to an XXL for my tall broad shouldered hubby :oP). Thanks for another very helpful review!
8/14/12 6:45 PM
dilucentelj said...
I love this shirt! Clean lines, simple but elegant styling...and nicely sewn! Great job!
7/26/10 3:24 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Kashi at Metro Textiles (265 W 37th, 9th Fl) has great mens shirting for $4/ yd. Even cheaper is H&M @ 257 W. 39th -- cotton prints and solids are $2/yd, always. A lot of it is good quality too.
7/25/10 1:28 PM
AuntieShel said...
This shirt is amazing. Impeccable sewing. Love that fabric. While I found some good deals on fabric in the garment district, none were as great as yours. Where do you go? Had to comment on that pattern envelope--so very 70's!!!
7/25/10 10:21 AM
Jolet said...
Great shirt, very special because of the specific collar. Like you stated: cool and not too casual! Worthwhile making it again. You did a great job regarding the plackets!
7/25/10 9:20 AM
pterion said...
Great looking shirt, Peter! Beautiful job on those sleeve plackets.
7/24/10 6:43 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful shirt, eXcellent sewing skills !
7/24/10 11:33 AM
frame said...
great sleeve placket
7/24/10 10:33 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking shirt - cool, casual and elegant!!
7/24/10 9:33 AM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful and well made shirt! I love the style.
7/24/10 7:25 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great, Peter, will you be posting a photo of Michael in his?
7/24/10 7:23 AM
valerie sews said...
Lovely classic white shirt. I admired the placket/cuff too!
7/24/10 2:00 AM
paulakiss said...
What a fabulous shirt! It looks so professional and tailored! Very sexy... even with those pants which I love! Thanks for the tips. Your review makes me want to sew one for my hubby!
7/24/10 1:34 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY nicely done both in FIT and CONSTRUCTION. That PLACKET is just beautiful! :o)
7/23/10 11:45 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Yeah, I'll use the weft weight interfacing from time to time, Snoo, and that's about it.
7/23/10 9:21 PM
Snoo said...
Very, very nice fitting shirt. I agree with your feelings toward iron on interfacing. The only iron on kind I ever use is the woven fabric type. It seems to do okay for me.
7/23/10 8:50 PM
RLL said...
Very classic and nicely made shirt. Who couldn't use a classic white shirt?
7/23/10 8:42 PM
MarthaH said...
Great shirt! Your sewing is lovely.
7/23/10 8:27 PM
barebear said...
It looks awesome Peter! Classy shirt.
7/23/10 8:05 PM
Maree P said...
I really like your shirt Peter, classic styling.
7/23/10 7:54 PM
FreyaStark said...
A superb shirt. Well done.
7/23/10 6:59 PM
Elona said...
I love the trim look of this vintage pattern on your trim self.
7/23/10 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8757

photo
by: chenille

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review