SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2700 (Misses)

44 more reviews
Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:ginnie.wise
photo

 
 
About ginnie.wisestar
MD USA
Member since: 7/12/10
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/10 10:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
so sorry these took so much work! this pattern fitted me perfectly so perhaps I got lucky (I went down a size after I compared finished measurements on the pattern to my own). so after sewing them do you think you needed a curvy cut? from what you said I thought perhaps you could cut a 10 regular with a petite adjustment for the crotch length... also, did you remember they had extra wide sideseams (1 inch from memory), if you forgot that (or didn't realise) that would contribute to the hugeness of them... anyway, the finished result looks great, so hopefully you'll give it another go after all your fitting dramas.
8/29/10 0:04 AM
MNBarb said...
I wish we could see how the back fits. I see a tiny bit of the wrinkling in front but it doesn't appear to be something people will be snickering behind their hands about. I've found that stretch cotton is a little more forgiving when sewing. If you aren't opposed to lycra you could try that on your next attempt. The thing about these "Amazing Fit" patterns is that the photos HAVE to be photo-shopped. Nobody, and no fabric looks like that. It leads to super-high expectations. Your pants look very good on you which is why I opened your review in the first place. You may need a short break from them to see their beauty.
8/29/10 8:04 AM
ginnie.wise said...
Thanks, ladies. I'll take your suggestions to heart!
8/29/10 10:52 AM
Nancywin said...
I think your pants turned out great. I also made this pattern, and like you, after MUCH tweaking, am happy with the result. The whole deal with the measurements is beyond me, because according to their charts, I wasn't even close to any size. I went with one of the curvy sizes and then went in for waist, out for hips. Yep. Muslin is the ticket. I just bought another AF pants pattern. Thanks for the reminder = I'll be doing those in muslin first.
8/29/10 5:52 PM
01rchlflmng said...
They look awesome. Sorry about all the trouble. I cut 2 sizes smaller than recommended and made a Muslim. It looked good. I'm going to give it a try for the jeans contest.
1/31/12 8:43 PM
MrsCharisma said...
These look PERFECT! Ahhhh. I Can only hope mine fit like that!
2/25/13 10:15 AM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks for your review. I cheated and opened the pattern at the store and opted for the narrowest style. I want straight legs. All of the amazing fit pants seem to have exceptionally wide legs - just not in the pictures. I appreciate your work. It will help me. I bought the pattern to redo an ancient pattern I made years ago… mainly for the paper and a few notches etc. I’ll just lay it over my sketches instead of worrying about ‘size’. I too have that tuck and extra fabric in front. The best way to deal with it is to pin it up, then take a wedge out of the pattern. With a wedge you won’t have to change anything with the side seam line up etc. Cheers to your next pair.
9/6/13 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6401

photo
by: marec

Review
Kwik Sew 3940

photo
by: Michelle A...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now