Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2700 (Misses) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 736 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ginnie.wise
photo
About ginnie.wisestar
MD USA
Member since: 7/12/10
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/10 10:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
so sorry these took so much work! this pattern fitted me perfectly so perhaps I got lucky (I went down a size after I compared finished measurements on the pattern to my own). so after sewing them do you think you needed a curvy cut? from what you said I thought perhaps you could cut a 10 regular with a petite adjustment for the crotch length... also, did you remember they had extra wide sideseams (1 inch from memory), if you forgot that (or didn't realise) that would contribute to the hugeness of them... anyway, the finished result looks great, so hopefully you'll give it another go after all your fitting dramas.
8/29/10 0:04 AM
MNBarb said...
I wish we could see how the back fits. I see a tiny bit of the wrinkling in front but it doesn't appear to be something people will be snickering behind their hands about. I've found that stretch cotton is a little more forgiving when sewing. If you aren't opposed to lycra you could try that on your next attempt. The thing about these "Amazing Fit" patterns is that the photos HAVE to be photo-shopped. Nobody, and no fabric looks like that. It leads to super-high expectations. Your pants look very good on you which is why I opened your review in the first place. You may need a short break from them to see their beauty.
8/29/10 8:04 AM
ginnie.wise said...
Thanks, ladies. I'll take your suggestions to heart!
8/29/10 10:52 AM
Nancywin said...
I think your pants turned out great. I also made this pattern, and like you, after MUCH tweaking, am happy with the result. The whole deal with the measurements is beyond me, because according to their charts, I wasn't even close to any size. I went with one of the curvy sizes and then went in for waist, out for hips. Yep. Muslin is the ticket. I just bought another AF pants pattern. Thanks for the reminder = I'll be doing those in muslin first.
8/29/10 5:52 PM
01rchlflmng said...
They look awesome. Sorry about all the trouble. I cut 2 sizes smaller than recommended and made a Muslim. It looked good. I'm going to give it a try for the jeans contest.
1/31/12 8:43 PM
MrsCharisma said...
These look PERFECT! Ahhhh. I Can only hope mine fit like that!
2/25/13 10:15 AM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks for your review. I cheated and opened the pattern at the store and opted for the narrowest style. I want straight legs. All of the amazing fit pants seem to have exceptionally wide legs - just not in the pictures. I appreciate your work. It will help me. I bought the pattern to redo an ancient pattern I made years ago… mainly for the paper and a few notches etc. I’ll just lay it over my sketches instead of worrying about ‘size’. I too have that tuck and extra fabric in front. The best way to deal with it is to pin it up, then take a wedge out of the pattern. With a wedge you won’t have to change anything with the side seam line up etc. Cheers to your next pair.
9/6/13 1:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

New Look 6470
photo
Review by Kitty Cout... on 9/28/08
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5029
photo
Review by jfang on 11/29/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us