SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2042 (Tom and Linda Platt gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 4159 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/04 10:05 PM
Last Updated:6/15/04 12:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Debe what an elegant dress you made.
6/1/04 4:31 PM
Teri said...
Ohh Debe, that is beautiful, and such a great review too!
6/1/04 4:40 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Debe, the dress is exquisite! I'm sure your client was very pleased.
6/1/04 4:46 PM
candyo said...
That is a beautiful dress! I was looking forward to your review!
6/1/04 5:25 PM
PVA said...
Incredibly lovely! Really elegant. It sounds like the pattern, in the wrong hands, would be a disaster! Thank you for a great review.
6/1/04 5:25 PM
KitnRose said...
So beautiful! I won't be getting this for myself as it wouldn't work so well on my short and curvy figure ... but oh, it's perfect for your client! Great work, kudos on your patience, and thanks for the excellent review!
6/1/04 5:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oooooo! I love the v detail on the front. I'm sure your bride-y feels absolutely gorgeous in that beauty. Thanks for the detail on the challenges you faced in this deceptively straight-forward looking garment.
6/1/04 5:42 PM
Gillian said...
Gorgeous!
6/1/04 6:07 PM
Levone said...
Wow, the dress turned out to be absolutely gorgeous. I am actually thinking of going to Jamaica or some other exotic island to get married and this dress would be perfect for that. Although, I would not try to make it. ;o)
6/1/04 6:11 PM
SewTabby said...
This is absolutely gorgeous. Challenges aside, you did a wonderful job!
6/1/04 6:15 PM
AnneM said...
Elegant seems to be the word of choice for this dress! Very nice, thank you for the detailed review. You can see the tightness in the hips on the dress form.
6/1/04 6:23 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thankyou everyone! Yep, Anne M, Maggie is tightened down as far as she goes, so it does kind of drag on the hips. Hmmm... wouldn't I like to have that problem?! I may be able to get a photo of my bride wearing it. It looks much better on her. Levone, a wedding in Jamaica sounds wonderful! Why not try this with some inexpensive satin/crepe for a muslin? It deffinately takes some "fiddling", but if you like it, it would be worth while to make it for your own wedding.
6/1/04 8:19 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Debe that is WOW!
6/1/04 9:25 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a beautiful dress - thank you for the informative review!
6/2/04 4:32 AM
SewingSusan said...
That is lovely. Great work.
6/2/04 6:01 AM
cindyann said...
Well I feel the need to add my "gorgeous" to comments too!! What a beautiful design and you did it justice!
6/2/04 8:02 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your dress is just stunning!
6/2/04 10:05 AM
SewLong said...
It's great. I made this same dress several years ago! Also made in the same color as yours. The lady at the store saw that I was buying silk at $25 /yd suggested that I also buy dressmaker muslin to test out the pattern. Turned out to be great advice because I had cut the pattern wrong the first time with the muslin.
6/2/04 5:07 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review. The dress turned out beautifully & I'm sure your client was thrilled.
6/2/04 6:22 PM
LiZ said...
A very elegant dress and a very thorough review
6/2/04 9:37 PM
sewywabbit said...
Amazing job, Debe, beautiful dress.
6/3/04 1:54 PM
Annette H said...
Fit for a queen, better than pattern picture.
6/7/04 6:48 AM
SouthernStitch said...
How elegant! I am so glad you updated this, I had missed it. Very good job - I love these type dresses.
6/15/04 12:28 PM
rosewood39 said...
the dress is beautiful!
6/15/04 3:34 PM
AnneM said...
Oh, you definitely shouldn't check that "minor update" box; that should only be for correcting typographical errors. New pictures are always a major update. :) The dress does fit her perfectly; lovely. And it shows how a good fit makes an outfit look that much nicer.
6/15/04 7:17 PM
valerie sews said...
A beautiful beautiful dress inspite of what sounds like an imperfectly drafted pattern. Thanks for the review.
6/16/04 5:46 AM
mudcat said...
Lovely dress. Excellent job on fitting your client.
6/16/04 8:01 PM
alicia said...
Debe - the dress is stunning. My cousin was going to use this pattern as her wedding dress but we convinced her to go with the Vogue 1944 (I just posted the review) because I was terrified of the bias (ok... terrified of screwing up her wedding dress and fabric!) and the fact that it didn't have a lining in the pattern. You did a lovely job on a most challenging project.
6/18/04 8:54 PM
Claudia Resch said...
How lucky your client was to get such a beautiful dress!
6/19/04 3:28 PM
Raw said...
Deb, thankyou so much for your review. It really helped me avoid some of the first timer mistakes. I don't usually have any issues with bias sewing but am now concerned about the bust and hip fits, if they are snug now what will they be like after the dress is hung for 24 hours? The lining was very useful, I was going to make one to attach to the underarms or bra as I didn't want to affect the hang. I was hoping that appart from covering my modesty, a lining will allow the dress to flow even if the lining is sweatily sticking to me.
2/7/05 7:46 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Very lovely, the fit is very good, especially in the back, you have made a great job!!! congrats!!!
2/8/05 6:01 AM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you Raw and Marita. Marita- I'm sorry, I didn't see your comment yesterday, so I am assuming you have now hung your dress overnight and you know the answer to your question about the fit after hanging. The lining should do exactly what you stated- cover for modesty, and also allow the dress to flow nicely. I'm curious, did your pattern have the flaw in the drafting of the armscye? I'm looking forward to your review.
2/8/05 8:49 AM
flytootall said...
Excellent review. Please email me, as I have a couple questions. flytootall@entouch.net
12/9/06 4:17 AM
alviana said...
wow... absolutely beautiful. i hope i can sew one like that
12/22/08 6:32 AM
slmstyle said...
I know you posted this review over 8 years ago, but it is really stunning!
1/28/13 6:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Montessori Child\'s Apron

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-107

photo
by: crisford

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now