Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6069 (Double Cowl Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1050 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/10 10:16 AM
Last Updated:6/13/13 9:16 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katib said...
very cute dress!
9/14/10 10:23 AM
marec said...
Very helpful review with cool tips like coins in the cowls etc. I have starred your blog entry so I can study the techniques. Thanks so much!! Cool dress and cute on you.
9/14/10 10:42 AM
annie11 said...
What great info about weighting down the cowl and reducing the width of the back cowl. Will have to find the perfect border print to try this one out. Your dress looks wonderful on you.
9/14/10 10:44 AM
ginnie.wise said...
What a great print... perfect for this! The colors are great and the finished product is beautiful!
9/14/10 10:51 AM
Elona said...
I LOVE the double cowl! It's such a pretty look that I've always wondered why almost every other cowl-type pattern was only drapey in the front. Does the back view not matter? Of course it does, and yours is very, very pretty.
9/14/10 11:04 AM
Mermie said...
So cute! You look so cute in your dress. Love cowl necklines!
9/14/10 11:10 AM
FullertonRegan said...
I love the fabric! When I made this dress, I used lingerie guards to keep the cowl in place. They work like a charm, so I'd recommend that if the coins don't work out. Love that idea though!!
9/14/10 11:28 AM
RLL said...
I love how you used your border print. What a nice dress!
9/14/10 11:29 AM
Mirakel said...
So cute! I like the way you used the border print and I love cowl necks! It looks great on you, nice job!
9/14/10 12:12 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice use of fabric! Cute dress. :)
9/14/10 2:25 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, I love the colour and the way you have used the border print.
9/14/10 4:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute, and I love your use of the border print!
9/14/10 5:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty and distinctive dress. It's a clever and appropriate use of that fabric.
9/14/10 5:48 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice dress; looks great on you! I like how you worked you borders into the top and bottom. As always, thanks so much for all the pix detailing your changes.
9/14/10 5:56 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress. Love the border print details! I agree, the back is to low for work and I was trying to figure out how to raise it, I never thought to reduce the width. Great job! You look really great in it!
9/14/10 7:18 PM
Erin D said...
Your fabric choice is great-it really compliments you. I love cowl necks too.
9/15/10 0:22 AM
twinkle72 said...
Your idea about the coins as weights is a neat one. Will they be OK when you go to wash the dress? Or will you have to slide them out? Just curious, in case I want to use your idea on a future project.
9/15/10 6:06 AM
MNBarb said...
I always look forward to your reveiws. This dress looks great on you. Perfect color and fabric and the style fits you well.
9/15/10 7:20 AM
Ciclista said...
Fabulous use of the border print - sew pretty!!
9/15/10 9:56 AM
JEF said...
Super!
9/15/10 7:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
I adore your version, especially with the modified back! Very nice use of fabric design.
9/18/10 10:03 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Do you know how much, total, you took out of the back? I looked at your flickr photo & see that you did it in 3 pleats - great idea. I like how yours turned out - the pattern's a bit low for me. And I will probably but tape in the shoulder for my straps. I love your fabric - what a unique usage of a border print - make me rethink the whole border print idea on a dress.
7/14/11 11:00 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love, love, love the black and white dot, it is my favorite! Looks fantastic on and enjoyed your review.
6/13/13 10:24 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to indulge in some silk jersey and a fantastic dress, I bet it would be great for travel
6/13/13 10:30 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Good tips about the extra fabric to keep the cowl facing in. It looks good on you!
6/13/13 11:03 AM
marec said...
This is a super rendition of this TNT pattern. I like the geometric prints you have used for this dress.
6/13/13 11:05 AM
frame said...
Great little dress and if you wear a colorful belt with it (really, it can be any color almost), you will have the best of both worlds.
6/13/13 12:22 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very nice and flattering!
6/13/13 4:25 PM
Mary.P said...
Nice dress
7/17/13 6:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

New Look 6071
photo
Review by atymonw on 3/22/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5791
photo
Review by katiessewi... on 10/19/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us