Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-129 (Knit Top with Mock Shrug) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 422 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/11 0:10 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
OOOOH, I love it! Both versions look nice. I will have to use your cut and spread method and add an inch there for my next top. I like your highlighter idea too. I felt like I was going cross-eyed trying to find the pieces. It is unreal how cluttered the pattern pages are now. This top looks great on you! Thanks for your very helpful tips on how to make the top more modest and also how to FIND the patterns you want on that crazy Burda "map" by highlighting.
1/4/11 0:33 AM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for a very helpful review. I had a similar head-scratching experience with the neckline on a very simple yet-to-be-reviewed sweetheart top from KnipMode. Your tops turned out very cute, though--I especially like the 2nd version!
1/4/11 0:40 AM
Annette1 said...
I remember quite some time ago pulling the pattern sheets out of my Burda Plus magazine, and just LOOKING at them, trying to figure out what was what, I gave up and put it away! But here you are with TWO great tops, one just slightly more modest than the other. When I read, "I achieved what I called the ultra conservative version as a result of my blunders," I had to laugh, because I'd probably NEED an ultra conservative version. :o) When I was in Wal-Mart today (I always cruise by the fabric department), I noticed the new McCall's were out, and I bought a pattern very similar to this, LIKE I NEED ANOTHER PATTERN. :o) Yours and Christa's tops have turned out so beautifully, I hope I can make one that's CLOSE anyway. GREAT review!
1/4/11 0:50 AM
SewWil said...
I like both of your tops. I've been eyeing this top ever since I received the magazine. I appreciate your detailed and very helpful review.
1/4/11 1:40 AM
dingyadi said...
This is such a great and flattering top. Love this style and love both your versions. Thanks for the really informative review too.
1/4/11 5:32 AM
mssewcrazy said...
You wound up with a great top. I have gotten a russian version of a burda issue that is oop and need to find 3 pieces of the pattern. I have about decided I am out of my league with burda-my hat's off to you for your success with this top. It will be a miracle if I ever find my 3 pattern pieces and then I am done with burda magazines. Life is too short for the maze of lines that they call patterns.
1/4/11 7:54 AM
Barbara V said...
So nice to see your versions of this pretty BWOF top and read your tips for figuring out the correct steps. They both look great on you. I appreciated seeing on your blog the collection of similar style patterns. I've sewn the Sandra Betzina top, but want to try one of the others. Thanks!
1/4/11 10:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
This brought back memories of the disaster I had making the Sandra Betzina version of this style. Apparently, there's something about it that's just confusing. Both your tops look cute, though. I love the fabric for the blue one.
1/4/11 12:45 PM
MNBarb said...
A great neckline on you. You have convinced me that Burda Magazine is NOT for me. I'll just have to stick with their envelope patterns. Hats off to you for getting past the maze of tracing.
1/4/11 12:52 PM
CypGrl said...
I love the navy polka dot one on you. Thanks for the very detailed review -- and all the car photos on your blog link.
1/4/11 1:34 PM
mochimo said...
Both your tops look nice! I have been wanting to make a faux shrug top for some time now and maybe I will give this one a try (I like the S. Betzina/Vogue pattern but it is not sold here and it costs too much to get it from overseas). I will probably wait until the patterns become available as downloads on the Burdastyle site (the pattern sheets have become so complicated and there are so few patterns that I really like in every issue that I prefer not to buy the magazine and download the pattern if I really want to sew something out of BurdaStyle magazine).
1/4/11 4:44 PM
Terri A said...
These tops are tdf. I just love the style!
1/5/11 2:19 AM
Deepika said...
Fab review! Thanks for taking the time to walk us through the construction process. I actually like both your versions.
1/5/11 9:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments and feedback! I have worn the navy one twice outside the house and it is quite comfortable. The neckline has a a slight "drape" when moving a certain way (still wearable). It could be due to the nature of the material in comparison with the other top. Also I noticed the peeking bra strap is more apparaent with a halter-style bra or racerback bra. I wish i had tightened the neckline a little more.
1/5/11 3:43 PM
ChristineX said...
I love the top. Thank you for the great review!
1/5/11 6:53 PM
Paris75008 said...
They both look lovely on you. Well done! Helpful review and great tip for raising the neckline. The effects of stitching and driving???? If more people did that, maybe there would be less road accidents!!!
1/6/11 7:17 PM
cindyann said...
This review is most helpful!
12/27/11 1:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1651 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Sixtiesgir... on 5/18/13
Read Review

McCalls 6701 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6701 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8960 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8960 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chery Williams' Patterns CW120
photo
Review by emeraldjul on 9/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us