Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2952 (Blouses) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 565 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/11 5:19 AM
Last Updated:1/26/12 3:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
The linen is so perfect for summer. Too bad about the front placket business. Those square buttons were such a good choice. I hope you can do a little reshaping to make this a wearable garment.
1/18/11 7:42 AM
mastdenman said...
Your linen is beautiful. Does the front lay flat when it's not buttoned?
1/18/11 9:55 AM
Mini said...
I think mcCalls 5052 is so much more flattering on you. This one has been in Kwik Sew's catalog for a long time, and has that outdated oversized extended shoulder line that a lot of their tops have. I wish they would update their drafts, because even their newer patterns have this. But since the bust dart works, you can transfer it to a better pattern. And you could re-use the buttons too. - they would look great with one of your Liberty prints.
1/19/11 11:39 AM
Mini said...

1/19/11 11:39 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting and sharing your experience. I appreciate your analysis and comparison you give regarding the patterns you sew as well as these types of comments from others. Yes, the linen is beautiful and if you can choose this neutral color shirt to wear unbuttomed for modesty and comfort value over a sleeveless outfit on your travels in hot weather.
1/19/11 12:43 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this review. The fabric and buttons are lovely, too bad about the puckering, but we all learned from your mistake, so thanks.
1/21/11 8:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those encouraging remarks. No, the front does not lie flat when it's not buttoned. It might have been possible to make it do so if I had thought about the problem more intelligently earlier, but the full horror of it did not strike me until after I'd stitched and cut the buttonholes ...
1/22/11 3:17 AM
Annette1 said...
I hope you whipped this one into shape, because it would be such a shame not to get to wear this BEAUTIFUL ice blue linen with those ICEY buttons. :o)
1/23/11 2:27 AM
JETrinity said...
Perfect blouse to use many times. I love the ice blue color.
2/3/11 2:56 PM
fourkid said...
Such beautiful buttons and linen. So sorry about how this did not behave correctly - can you put the darts onto your McCall's pattern - that might be an ideal marriage.
2/18/11 5:02 PM
mm said...
The fit looks good. A successful addition to your extensive shirt collection.
1/26/12 1:55 AM
CAgirl said...
Great fit and fabric make for a very attractive blouse!
1/26/12 9:29 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric print and fit of this pattern, very nice.....looks perfect on!
1/26/12 10:13 AM
marec said...
Not only did you get a beautiful shirt from your stashed poplin, which I love, but you persevered and mastered that dang pattern :-) I learn so much from your reviews and refer to them often when sewing a woven blouse. (FYI-change cm to mm in paragraph 1)
1/26/12 12:33 PM
Jrhee said...
Very cute blouse in a pretty fabric, with a hint of tropical.
1/26/12 2:43 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Pretty blouse! I always enjoy seeing the shirts you make.
1/27/12 7:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-119 Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 8/21/13
Read Review

Jalie 976 Pattern
Jalie 976 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 11/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us