SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 18313-1004 (Orthopedic dog bed)

Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 197 times 
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
I was further convinced of DH's wisdom in suggesting a waterproof cover, when the dog vomited up a sock overnight. The outer cover had a quick trip through the wash, and the waterproof cover got a quick wipe. All good!
1/15/11 11:53 AM
lesliez said...
You are an angel, both for giving the dog a loving home in her golden years and for making her such a wonderful bed.
1/11/11 12:24 PM
sewbehind said...
Bless your heart for adopting a 13 year old dog. On top of that, (not that you need do anything else) your bed looks so professional and for a fraction of the price.
1/11/11 10:57 AM
betty bushwacker said...
what a kind soul you are to take this old girl in, she looks really comfortable in her beautiful new bed. Well thought out construction too.
1/11/11 9:10 AM
Annette1 said...
Aaaaw, I'm so glad you took in this dog and she's found a loving home. Now as for the ortho bed, WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THAT? I have an overly expensive one upstairs as we speak. The first thing they did was rip the cover off of it. If I could just make a cover as nice as yours, much less the bed, I'd be doing great!
1/10/11 11:45 PM
Immelu said...
This is a great idea. I can only hope that if something were to happen to me and my hubby, someone as great as you would come along and take care of our puppies.
1/10/11 11:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent idea! My dog is young, but I think she also deserves a supportive mattress to sleep on all night. Thanks for sharing the info for making this mattress. I know your new family member will bring immeasurable joy to you and your husband!
1/10/11 5:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
What a wonderful thing to do! Good on you.
1/10/11 5:36 PM
bluenines said...
she looks like a very happy dog, good job on the dog bed , I think it is much better than a store bought one, because you made it just for her
1/10/11 5:05 PM
Judy Kski said...
You really used your talent as a seamstress for this project. You've incorporated a lot of neat ideas, things you probably wouldn't have been able to buy to go with the more expensive bed. Your dog showed her appreciation immediately. Way to go!
1/10/11 4:48 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Bless you for taking an oldster-you will love her-glad dh relented. As soon as my lab rescue stops with the chewing I am going to make one of these. From the looks of her blankets it will need to wait a bit. People always want puppies but I think an adult of any age is so much more fun. My daughter is a vet also -it is really hard to see the situations now especially the older pets whose owners move or die. I am so thankful for vets who really care about the animals -seeing the foam mattress for the oldster makes me want to get tears of joy just looking at it.
1/10/11 4:23 PM
treefrog said...
Looks like the bed is a winner - and so easy to maintain. And I'm so glad she has found a great home.
1/10/11 4:15 PM
CCQ said...
Great idea! I've admired those orthopedic dog beds but hard to spend that amount of money. I might have to do that for my dog as she is starting to get a little older too and might enjoy a little more cushion.
1/10/11 3:33 PM
marec said...
wonderful work for your new "baby". She looks very happy with her throne.
1/10/11 2:05 PM
newmama said...
She looks so sweet. I hope she likes her new bed, I imagine the fabric feels nice to her if it's like suede.
1/10/11 12:14 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Just hope she doesn't chew up your wonderful work. My did :-) I'm glad DH relinquished!
1/10/11 12:04 PM
hmacski said...
good for you for adopting that old dog and taking such good care of her!
1/10/11 11:39 AM
SewRaeMe said...
I am sure you will enjoy having this new addition, as much work as they sometimes seem, an animal always seems to give back more than it gets. I agree, to be able to sew something up that would cost you a huge amount of money, even being able to hem a shower curtain is something to be thankful for for sure.
1/10/11 10:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Simplicity 3626

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
Vogue Patterns V1197

photo
by: Tee Jones ...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

More Info
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

More Info