SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 18313-1004 (Orthopedic dog bed)

Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 197 times 
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewRaeMe said...
I am sure you will enjoy having this new addition, as much work as they sometimes seem, an animal always seems to give back more than it gets. I agree, to be able to sew something up that would cost you a huge amount of money, even being able to hem a shower curtain is something to be thankful for for sure.
1/10/11 10:27 AM
hmacski said...
good for you for adopting that old dog and taking such good care of her!
1/10/11 11:39 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Just hope she doesn't chew up your wonderful work. My did :-) I'm glad DH relinquished!
1/10/11 12:04 PM
newmama said...
She looks so sweet. I hope she likes her new bed, I imagine the fabric feels nice to her if it's like suede.
1/10/11 12:14 PM
marec said...
wonderful work for your new "baby". She looks very happy with her throne.
1/10/11 2:05 PM
CCQ said...
Great idea! I've admired those orthopedic dog beds but hard to spend that amount of money. I might have to do that for my dog as she is starting to get a little older too and might enjoy a little more cushion.
1/10/11 3:33 PM
treefrog said...
Looks like the bed is a winner - and so easy to maintain. And I'm so glad she has found a great home.
1/10/11 4:15 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Bless you for taking an oldster-you will love her-glad dh relented. As soon as my lab rescue stops with the chewing I am going to make one of these. From the looks of her blankets it will need to wait a bit. People always want puppies but I think an adult of any age is so much more fun. My daughter is a vet also -it is really hard to see the situations now especially the older pets whose owners move or die. I am so thankful for vets who really care about the animals -seeing the foam mattress for the oldster makes me want to get tears of joy just looking at it.
1/10/11 4:23 PM
Judy Kski said...
You really used your talent as a seamstress for this project. You've incorporated a lot of neat ideas, things you probably wouldn't have been able to buy to go with the more expensive bed. Your dog showed her appreciation immediately. Way to go!
1/10/11 4:48 PM
bluenines said...
she looks like a very happy dog, good job on the dog bed , I think it is much better than a store bought one, because you made it just for her
1/10/11 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
What a wonderful thing to do! Good on you.
1/10/11 5:36 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent idea! My dog is young, but I think she also deserves a supportive mattress to sleep on all night. Thanks for sharing the info for making this mattress. I know your new family member will bring immeasurable joy to you and your husband!
1/10/11 5:45 PM
Immelu said...
This is a great idea. I can only hope that if something were to happen to me and my hubby, someone as great as you would come along and take care of our puppies.
1/10/11 11:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Aaaaw, I'm so glad you took in this dog and she's found a loving home. Now as for the ortho bed, WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THAT? I have an overly expensive one upstairs as we speak. The first thing they did was rip the cover off of it. If I could just make a cover as nice as yours, much less the bed, I'd be doing great!
1/10/11 11:45 PM
betty bushwacker said...
what a kind soul you are to take this old girl in, she looks really comfortable in her beautiful new bed. Well thought out construction too.
1/11/11 9:10 AM
sewbehind said...
Bless your heart for adopting a 13 year old dog. On top of that, (not that you need do anything else) your bed looks so professional and for a fraction of the price.
1/11/11 10:57 AM
lesliez said...
You are an angel, both for giving the dog a loving home in her golden years and for making her such a wonderful bed.
1/11/11 12:24 PM
khurtdvm said...
I was further convinced of DH's wisdom in suggesting a waterproof cover, when the dog vomited up a sock overnight. The outer cover had a quick trip through the wash, and the waterproof cover got a quick wipe. All good!
1/15/11 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: MissParayi...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now