Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 18313-1004 (Orthopedic dog bed) - Type:Pets
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 196 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:khurtdvm
photo
About khurtdvmstarstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 9:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewRaeMe said...
I am sure you will enjoy having this new addition, as much work as they sometimes seem, an animal always seems to give back more than it gets. I agree, to be able to sew something up that would cost you a huge amount of money, even being able to hem a shower curtain is something to be thankful for for sure.
1/10/11 10:27 AM
hmacski said...
good for you for adopting that old dog and taking such good care of her!
1/10/11 11:39 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Just hope she doesn't chew up your wonderful work. My did :-) I'm glad DH relinquished!
1/10/11 12:04 PM
newmama said...
She looks so sweet. I hope she likes her new bed, I imagine the fabric feels nice to her if it's like suede.
1/10/11 12:14 PM
marec said...
wonderful work for your new "baby". She looks very happy with her throne.
1/10/11 2:05 PM
CCQ said...
Great idea! I've admired those orthopedic dog beds but hard to spend that amount of money. I might have to do that for my dog as she is starting to get a little older too and might enjoy a little more cushion.
1/10/11 3:33 PM
treefrog said...
Looks like the bed is a winner - and so easy to maintain. And I'm so glad she has found a great home.
1/10/11 4:15 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Bless you for taking an oldster-you will love her-glad dh relented. As soon as my lab rescue stops with the chewing I am going to make one of these. From the looks of her blankets it will need to wait a bit. People always want puppies but I think an adult of any age is so much more fun. My daughter is a vet also -it is really hard to see the situations now especially the older pets whose owners move or die. I am so thankful for vets who really care about the animals -seeing the foam mattress for the oldster makes me want to get tears of joy just looking at it.
1/10/11 4:23 PM
Judy Kski said...
You really used your talent as a seamstress for this project. You've incorporated a lot of neat ideas, things you probably wouldn't have been able to buy to go with the more expensive bed. Your dog showed her appreciation immediately. Way to go!
1/10/11 4:48 PM
bluenines said...
she looks like a very happy dog, good job on the dog bed , I think it is much better than a store bought one, because you made it just for her
1/10/11 5:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
What a wonderful thing to do! Good on you.
1/10/11 5:36 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent idea! My dog is young, but I think she also deserves a supportive mattress to sleep on all night. Thanks for sharing the info for making this mattress. I know your new family member will bring immeasurable joy to you and your husband!
1/10/11 5:45 PM
Immelu said...
This is a great idea. I can only hope that if something were to happen to me and my hubby, someone as great as you would come along and take care of our puppies.
1/10/11 11:22 PM
Annette1 said...
Aaaaw, I'm so glad you took in this dog and she's found a loving home. Now as for the ortho bed, WHY DIDN'T I THINK OF THAT? I have an overly expensive one upstairs as we speak. The first thing they did was rip the cover off of it. If I could just make a cover as nice as yours, much less the bed, I'd be doing great!
1/10/11 11:45 PM
betty bushwacker said...
what a kind soul you are to take this old girl in, she looks really comfortable in her beautiful new bed. Well thought out construction too.
1/11/11 9:10 AM
sewbehind said...
Bless your heart for adopting a 13 year old dog. On top of that, (not that you need do anything else) your bed looks so professional and for a fraction of the price.
1/11/11 10:57 AM
lesliez said...
You are an angel, both for giving the dog a loving home in her golden years and for making her such a wonderful bed.
1/11/11 12:24 PM
khurtdvm said...
I was further convinced of DH's wisdom in suggesting a waterproof cover, when the dog vomited up a sock overnight. The outer cover had a quick trip through the wash, and the waterproof cover got a quick wipe. All good!
1/15/11 11:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by didda on 5/30/08
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Keyka Lou Curvy Clutch
photo
Review by FJT on 5/2/12
Read Review

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9447 Pattern
Burda 9447 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us