SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> none (Little Dresses for Africa)

43 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 432 times 
Reviewed by:maria 6705
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maria 6705
ON CANADA
Member since: 7/21/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/18/11 10:10 PM
Last Updated:7/20/13 4:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Hi, thanks for sewing these for those in need! Can't get the picture to come up and what was the pattern? Some people may want to participate. thanks!
1/18/11 10:54 PM
maria 6705 said...
Hi CynthiaSue. Sorry to be so late replying. It's been an unusually hectic time in our household. The pattern instructions came from www.nancysnotions.com. It's basically a sleeveless dress with elastic gathering across the top, front and back. The armholes are bound with bias binding which extends to becom tie straps. I'm sorry the picture won't come up. I was able to get a photo on the pattern review, but haven't figured out how to get it on the Fabric Stash contest entry yet. I believe there is an address with the instructions for sending in the dresses, but I put them in the shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child run by Samaritan's Purse. Good luck with your sewing.
2/1/11 6:02 PM
JDpenelope said...
Hi and it's wonderful that you have sewn for this charity. I would like to see your gallery photo better, too. I'm familiar with Little Dresses for Africa, and have sewn for this charity. They have received over 100,000 dresses in their short history, thanks to sewers like you, and they are now asking for boys' shorts. Here is the website, if anyone wants to know more: http://www.littledressesforafrica.org/blog/
2/1/11 9:47 PM
maria 6705 said...
There's a new photo with this review that should give a better idea of what the finished dress looks like. No pockets on this one, but I added lace at the top and the hem.
2/17/11 6:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Maria -- Your dress is beautiful and obviously sewn with love. So good of you to donate your time to this effort. Speaking for myself, I don't want to sew c#&p for charity, and obviously you don't either! A friend and I are sewing boys' shorts, in sizes 4 and 6, as requested by the founder, Rachel O'Neill. Rachel and I have chatted via email, and she is overwhelmed by the response, but now is requesting something for the boys, who are also very much in need.
2/17/11 7:03 PM
katlew03 said...
Just got a copy of this pattern at my church group Thursday. We are going to make them for children in Guatamala. We have teams from our church going there every couple of months. We may also send them to Africa if we get enough. One of the ladies made one up at the meeting and it was really cute. So, I guess I'll add this to the other projects I have going for needy children. Your dress is really cute.
2/17/11 9:29 PM
JDpenelope said...
katlew03 --- So glad you are helping out with this effort for the children of Guatemala. It's fun to make pretty things for girls, but just a reminder that half of the kids are boys. There's a very quick two piece pattern in Kwik Sew's Sewing for Children, with no fly, just an elasticized waist. The shorts come out so cute in sizes 4 and 6 (Xs and S). The charity is also shipping dresses and shorts to a contact in Haiti.
2/18/11 7:32 AM
maria 6705 said...
Thanks for your kind comments, JD. I also sew elastic-waist shorts for boys - have been doing so long before finding the little girl's dress pattern. It's very satisfying to create something cute for someone who really needs it.
2/18/11 11:58 AM
Pippi Longstocking said...
This is adorable. It looks similar to a pillowcase dress but i love the little ruffley lace trimming.
2/18/11 12:07 PM
Pippi Longstocking said...
Okay i just checked out the site and read about the charity and am very excited about participating. Sounds like a very sweet and worthwhile cause. It's also a good way for me to get my sewing fix because goodness knows my own daughters don't need anymore dresses!
2/18/11 12:25 PM
tiger28 said...
this is precious! i recently saw a news piece on this wonderful organization--i am now inspired to participate:)
2/18/11 5:34 PM
maria 6705 said...
Getting my sewing fix is a big part of why I do this: no little boys or girls to sew for.
2/19/11 11:56 AM
maria 6705 said...
It's wonderful to see that others are planning to participate in this project. Sewing even one garment makes a difference to a child somewhere, and makes you feel good too.
2/19/11 11:58 AM
RJFoote said...
I just love this pattern for pillowcase dresses! So simple and fun to add embellishments to. We are making these at our church as well. Great sewing fix when you don't have time for more involved projects.
2/22/11 3:48 AM
Sew Whatever said...
These are very sweet dresses. I like the little extras.
6/27/13 6:22 AM
txcwgrlmom said...
Thank you for sharing. I am going to make some play dresses for the great neices and charity.
6/27/13 11:09 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Love the idea of pockets big enough to properly carry things!
7/15/13 6:17 AM
sewingcanary said...
I play African drum. A year or so ago our group met at one of the member’s churches. There was a group of women there making little dresses like these. They said it was a charity deal = could be the same one?? They were using printed sheets and pillow cases. Many of the prints were from the 70’s. They made the cutest little dresses! It was a great use of yesteryear’s no longer wanted items. Kudos.
7/21/13 2:16 PM
maria 6705 said...
It could very possibly be the same organization. I think there might be a link to it on Nancy Zieman's website, www.nancysnotions.com. Many other organizations and churches also take donations of these or similar dresses. I've also made them as gifts for family members. They're fairly quick to make and can look so cute!
7/22/13 1:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6864

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Other 3HP000000

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review