Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4198 (Khaliah Ali Coordinates) - Type:Coordinates
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 222 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Kayseri
photo
Friend of PR
About Kayseristarstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/21/09
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/11 6:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
I was surprised to read that you didn't like this pattern. My first thought when I looked at your photo was that you achieved a very attractive fit (i.e. the pants hang well on you). Of course I don't have anything to compare that to, but your pic is nice. What do you think it is that makes the pants not very comfortable?
1/22/11 1:58 AM
Kayseri said...
What makes them not comfy: the waistband doesn't sit on the waist readily; the crotch feelss too long when standing, but the back waistband pulls down when sitting. If I loved the pants I'd redo the waistband but it doesn't seem worth the effort.
1/22/11 2:25 AM
antiquelvr56 said...
I agree w/ o3b, your pants fit you very well. We all know how hard fitting pants is, and you did a great job - they look wonderful! I'd think with some minor tweaking ( only for your comfort), you'd find this to be a TNT. I hope that you reconsider and try this one again. I think I'll give it a try as well. Thanks for the reveiw and best of luck!
1/22/11 5:39 AM
Kayabunga said...
I agree with you, Kayseri. While the pants look quite nice from the front, the back pic explains in a flash why you don't find them very comfortable. You have a nice shape and this crotch just looks as though it is not shaped appropriately for your body. There are lots of patterns out there, keep on trying until you find the perfect one for you. I'm about to try Silhouette #3200, it's just a basic pant pattern but once you have the fit, you can make them any style you want. Good luck and thanks for sharing.
1/22/11 11:52 AM
Dee2 said...
I agree with others here--I think these look very nice on you, good fit & flattering length. Hope you consider giving it a tweeking or at least can use some of the knowledge from this pattern on your next project. Thanks for the review!
1/22/11 11:56 AM
psm484 said...
Silhouette pattern has a great pant fitting video that might help! Fun to watch anyway. http://tinyurl.com/4al8qnk
1/22/11 1:09 PM
Hilary said...
I too think these look really nice on you; from your description I would shorten the front crotch a little more and lengthen the back crotch length. They look so nice already, and I bet with just a little more tweaking you might find them very comfortable! Thanks for a great review!
1/22/11 3:51 PM
JETrinity said...
Maybe the 4 cm wedge is making the crotch length in the back not feel correct and pulling down on the waistband?
1/23/11 1:36 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, they may not FEEL very good, but they LOOK great! :o) I know what you mean, though. If something isn't comfortable, it doesn't get very much wear around here. :o)
1/23/11 5:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us