Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2563 (Sports Bra/Top) thumbsup - Type:Activewear
Review submitted in Active Wear 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 772 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/11 1:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Activewear    Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
susiestitcher said...
I love your bra tops! I, too, am quite small on top, so I like being able to make sport bras. This looks like a great pattern. Thanks for the ideas about how to add the lower bodice area. And the color blocking is so fun! Great job!
1/27/11 2:36 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous workout wardrobe! I love the colours and the design and seeing them all together they look like a designer range of gym wear. Your photos always look so professional too, i love the composites.
1/27/11 3:10 PM
TrixieSews said...
Love love love the slimming color contrast inserts! Very nice writeup.
1/27/11 3:11 PM
Mufffet said...
Cute and a nice style.
1/27/11 3:29 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, great idea. Those came out well.
1/27/11 3:39 PM
Judy Kski said...
All your hard work was well worth it. Now you'll be stylin' at the gym.
1/27/11 4:12 PM
Kayseri said...
Excellent set of workout gear.
1/27/11 4:45 PM
DorothyK said...
These tops are fabulous. I'm really interested in making sports tops but I'm never sure what fabric to get. Your review is so informative. It will be very useful when I finally take the plunge.
1/27/11 5:09 PM
MNBarb said...
Your colorblocking really adds a shapely appearance. Way to work those curvy lines! It's the perfect time of year to add some pizazz to exercising. I'm always inspired by your reviews. Thanks!
1/27/11 5:25 PM
Miranda said...
Well done! They're gorgeous. I've just ordered this pattern, so I'll be printing off your review to do something similar!
1/27/11 6:32 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great review and super idea for sport tops!The color blocking is so pretty, with a very slim effect!!
1/27/11 8:10 PM
Ericaeli said...
These look great, and the color blocking is so flattering. Thank you for explaining how you did it. Your photo shoots are always so fun too!
1/27/11 9:03 PM
21wale said...
These are great! I love the colors. I'll have to keep this pattern in mind in case I ever decide to do some public exercise (:
1/28/11 0:05 AM
Aroura said...
Great tops, and great review! You put in a lot of effort, but what a very professional result!
1/28/11 0:25 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fitness & sewing go hand in hand, I reckon! Great outfits and a fantastic variation on this pattern.
1/28/11 3:46 AM
1SewSweet said...
These are great!! The enormous effort & creativity truly shows as the result is perfect!! Almost makes you want to exercise (almost!!)
1/28/11 5:19 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely fantastic looking.
1/28/11 8:55 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Awesome!!!
1/28/11 10:45 AM
GodsgirlT said...
This looks so RTW! Nice job! You have a serious workout collection I bet!
1/28/11 11:14 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! Great workout clothes. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/28/11 6:31 PM
Erin D said...
You are so wise to sew yourself some cute exercise clothes. I always think this type of clothing is so overpriced in RTW.
1/28/11 9:57 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, those are really cute sports bras! I might have to take a look at that pattern after this review.
1/28/11 10:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
A clever idea carried out superbly well. The colour panels are really cute.
1/29/11 6:30 AM
appleton78 said...
Wonderful ! Great job and super review!!
1/29/11 11:55 PM
ElizabethDee said...
What a fantastic and informative review! I love your collection, admire your imagination and envy your ability to execute your ideas. Just great!
1/31/11 7:59 PM
SoVintage said...
Incredible review-Thank you
2/4/11 8:07 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Fabulous tops! I love the colour contrast. You are very lucky to be able to wear and make such pretty things!
2/5/11 3:38 PM
cboots said...
Wow, well done! The inserts look particularly good.
2/5/11 4:22 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
These look so RTW! Great Job!
2/5/11 10:28 PM
Mazzygirl said...
really really nice, love the colours, that fabric looks gorgeous (wish I knew where to find stuff like that here in Oz!). having such nice outfits sure helps the motivation to get to the gym, doesn't it!
2/9/11 5:58 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
I loved your alteration. I haven't made this pattern because I didn't like the "short" top. Now, I think, with your comments, I should try it. Thanks!
3/3/11 6:33 PM
Verosews said...
Great idea. I hope to make similar tops out of my patterns. I really don't like showing my tummy.
6/19/12 7:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick B4474 Purse
photo
Review by MarilynB on 7/10/07
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7086 Shirt
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/14/08
Read Review

Burda 9478 Pattern
Burda 9478 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us