Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1220 (misses dress and belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1257 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:1/29/11 9:51 PM
Last Updated:1/30/11 9:01 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
Wow. The fabric may be stash fabric, but this pattern is fresh off the presses. I was just looking at the Vogue magazine and wondering what it would look like made up by a PR seamstress. Thanks for sewing it! I would love to see it on you. May have to get this one.
1/29/11 10:15 PM
loti said...
It looks better on, than on the dress form but the camera battery was fading. I'll try and post better pics tomorrow.
1/29/11 10:38 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! Thanks for the review...this is actually next on my sewing queue! Starting it tomorrow! I will definitely use this as a reference! Thanks again!
1/29/11 11:37 PM
Sewphisticated Artisan said...
Must have this pattern. The dress looks great!
1/30/11 1:34 AM
trinicity said...
this came out really good, good job
1/30/11 7:33 AM
Kim12469 said...
Great dress! I love to see the new patterns made up so quickly...I will put this on my to sew list for sure! Thanks for adding pictures of it on you. It looks wonderful! I think this has moved up in the queue for sure!
1/30/11 8:24 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress! I have this pattern, and will need to move it up the queue.
1/30/11 9:17 AM
carolynw said...
I love your dress - although not much of a dress wearer I think this is one pattern I must have a closer look at. Thanks for your very helpful review
1/30/11 9:48 AM
nellc said...
Your dress looks great, I have just bought this pattern so it is nice to see a positive review of it.
1/30/11 10:01 AM
drsue said...
Looks fabulous on you!
1/30/11 12:04 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric! The dress looks wonderful on you. I agree, you should make a few more.
1/30/11 12:35 PM
michellep74 said...
I can't believe how quickly you got this pattern made up! I bought this right away--it's my favorite out of the new Vogue catalogue. I love your versions--thanks for what will be a really helpful review.
1/30/11 1:58 PM
Christas said...
Such a pretty dress!!!
1/30/11 2:51 PM
Dei said...
Wow. I'm impressed. When I originally saw the pattern I wasn't that interested, but now I see I almost missed the boat. It looks great on you. Thanks for the info about fabric selection.
1/30/11 4:45 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Great job.
1/30/11 6:17 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Thank you for the informative review. I love you version, looks comfy and cool for the warm (lets hope) summer ahead! I am making a muslin now .. have to shorten the waist-shoulder length. And will hopefully cut in a day or so. I have not paid any attention to the wrong side of the fabric issues, and you have brought those to light.
1/31/11 9:44 AM
E1izabeth said...
Great job! This dress is my favorite from the latest round of new patterns from Vogue. I'm about to make this dress in a blue shirting so I'm thrilled to see your review now. Just love your fabric and all of the tips in your review.
1/31/11 10:45 AM
Ciclista said...
Fab dress!! And your shoes with the self belted version are perfect. I want to make this from something in my stash that isn't stretch. If I allow a bit more ease do you think I could make this with a cotton/linen woven fabric?
2/1/11 4:24 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Oh Loti!! It looks great! I am definately getting this pattern!
2/1/11 11:06 PM
Noiresque said...
I came from the Tim Gunn Sew Along page. Stunning, loti. This is one of the prettiest shirt-dresses I have ever seen.
2/2/11 10:17 AM
MilongueraThreads said...
Very pretty!
2/2/11 12:14 PM
Rosesred said...
great review! Very good to know that it'll need reworking not to show the wrong side of the fabric, and all the detailed info about construction is very useful. The dress itself is very pretty!
2/2/11 1:22 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Way to whip up a dress with this new pattern. Fabulous job!
2/2/11 1:24 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress! Your version is well done and looks lovely on you. I will be getting this pattern.
2/10/11 12:00 PM
lamstu said...
Love it! So helpful to know about the real life experience with this interesting pattern.
2/11/11 7:14 AM
Gordita1616 said...
So wonderful. I just got the pattern today and was looking for ideas for fabric choices. I like the fabric you used. Your dress is great.
2/17/11 3:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks great both with the sash and the belt. Really looks very different with the contrast belt.
2/26/11 11:14 PM
Tjacobs said...
wow you have shoes to match that marvelous fabric!
2/27/11 0:38 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely dress and fabric. It looks great on you with both self tie and optional belt.
3/24/11 4:23 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Loooove it! Black/white silver - my favorite combo too. And in my size! Do you accept credit card payments? ;) I thought I'd already added you to my favs... must do that now...
4/2/11 8:32 AM
Renren said...
This dress is wonderful! It seems that more and more of these V1220 patterns are showing up in the gallery to great acclaim--and yours was the 1st! You started a great trend.
5/6/11 10:04 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great review and I love the fabric you choose!
6/29/11 10:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8603 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by katski on 3/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2919
photo
Review by Nan Kay on 2/7/11
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us