Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-119 (Seamed Stand Collar Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 383 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/11 2:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat! I love the design changes that you made from the original pattern!
2/1/11 2:24 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a lovely coat! Thanks for writing such an extensive review.
2/1/11 2:30 PM
birdmcfarland said...
ADORABLE!! I love it! Your hard work paid off because this is fabulous!
2/1/11 4:43 PM
Dianna Cardwell said...
Very Impressive job, I love your coat, too, & I know you will be enjoy it for many years. I love, love, love the velveteen ruffles. Congratulations on a job well done.
2/1/11 4:45 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great review of a wonderful coat. It looks quite marvelous on you!
2/1/11 5:44 PM
KathleenS said...
I love the shirt you have on underneath the coat. Covet, covet :) Anyway, about the coat... It looks very cosy. I like your bold contrast lining choice. I really should be a bit more adventurous. Thanks for all the tips, particularly about how to make it warmer.
2/1/11 6:13 PM
Kayseri said...
Fabulous coat, well worth all your effort.
2/1/11 6:38 PM
Ericaeli said...
What a beautiful/fun coat. I love all the details you added. I would've never thought to use fleece to make the pockets warmer (now I need to write that down). I really enjoy your reviews because they are always so detailed, and I always learn something new when I read them. Thank you!
2/1/11 7:00 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome coat! I love the ruffle trim and your wind-protected sleeves. Great details!
2/1/11 7:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely coat. Nice and warm for the temps you made it for! Very pretty - good to wear anywhere.
2/1/11 7:38 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
OO Oooo I love it! You have such a great range of fabric (and at good prices!) in the U.S. Speaking of which, I may be coming to D.C. in March (hopefully) can you recommend any good fabric stores to raid?
2/1/11 8:21 PM
AdaH said...
All your hard work paid off as your coat is wonderful.
2/1/11 9:54 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. The velveteen ruffles are perfect and I'm in awe of your bound buttonholes - with velveteen? You look very cute in it, and best of all (this year) you look WARM and cute.
2/1/11 10:54 PM
Ann Smith said...
So great. Well worth taking the time and making the effort. I must say there is nothing Slapdash about this one.
2/1/11 11:20 PM
Sewingelle said...
Stunning!
2/2/11 0:09 AM
sunnysewer said...
Very pretty and I like that trick with the cuffs for added warmth, clever!
2/2/11 0:55 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! I love the ruffle.
2/2/11 9:13 AM
SusiM said...
Nice coat and a very great review!! Thanks.
2/3/11 1:28 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Hey, haven't I seen that pose before? It's Marlo Thomas from "That Girl!" Seriously, what a beautiful coat, love the buttons and thanks for the tutorials! I'm so glad you finished something so lovely for the stash contest! Must try those Spanish snap buttonholes.
2/3/11 12:50 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE everything you've done with this coat, especially those ruffles. :o)
2/4/11 3:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jamie Christina JC-312MM
photo
Review by mimi g. on 10/23/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $29.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A New York Mini
A New York Mini

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8839 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by globalgran on 1/3/13
Read Review

Burda 7005 Pattern
Burda 7005 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Ginger Pattern (1016)
Colette Patterns Ginger Pattern (1016)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us