SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-119 (Seamed Stand Collar Coat)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 385 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/11 2:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat! I love the design changes that you made from the original pattern!
2/1/11 2:24 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a lovely coat! Thanks for writing such an extensive review.
2/1/11 2:30 PM
birdmcfarland said...
ADORABLE!! I love it! Your hard work paid off because this is fabulous!
2/1/11 4:43 PM
Dianna Cardwell said...
Very Impressive job, I love your coat, too, & I know you will be enjoy it for many years. I love, love, love the velveteen ruffles. Congratulations on a job well done.
2/1/11 4:45 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great review of a wonderful coat. It looks quite marvelous on you!
2/1/11 5:44 PM
KathleenS said...
I love the shirt you have on underneath the coat. Covet, covet :) Anyway, about the coat... It looks very cosy. I like your bold contrast lining choice. I really should be a bit more adventurous. Thanks for all the tips, particularly about how to make it warmer.
2/1/11 6:13 PM
Kayseri said...
Fabulous coat, well worth all your effort.
2/1/11 6:38 PM
Ericaeli said...
What a beautiful/fun coat. I love all the details you added. I would've never thought to use fleece to make the pockets warmer (now I need to write that down). I really enjoy your reviews because they are always so detailed, and I always learn something new when I read them. Thank you!
2/1/11 7:00 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome coat! I love the ruffle trim and your wind-protected sleeves. Great details!
2/1/11 7:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely coat. Nice and warm for the temps you made it for! Very pretty - good to wear anywhere.
2/1/11 7:38 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
OO Oooo I love it! You have such a great range of fabric (and at good prices!) in the U.S. Speaking of which, I may be coming to D.C. in March (hopefully) can you recommend any good fabric stores to raid?
2/1/11 8:21 PM
AdaH said...
All your hard work paid off as your coat is wonderful.
2/1/11 9:54 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. The velveteen ruffles are perfect and I'm in awe of your bound buttonholes - with velveteen? You look very cute in it, and best of all (this year) you look WARM and cute.
2/1/11 10:54 PM
Ann Smith said...
So great. Well worth taking the time and making the effort. I must say there is nothing Slapdash about this one.
2/1/11 11:20 PM
Sewingelle said...
Stunning!
2/2/11 0:09 AM
sunnysewer said...
Very pretty and I like that trick with the cuffs for added warmth, clever!
2/2/11 0:55 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! I love the ruffle.
2/2/11 9:13 AM
SusiM said...
Nice coat and a very great review!! Thanks.
2/3/11 1:28 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Hey, haven't I seen that pose before? It's Marlo Thomas from "That Girl!" Seriously, what a beautiful coat, love the buttons and thanks for the tutorials! I'm so glad you finished something so lovely for the stash contest! Must try those Spanish snap buttonholes.
2/3/11 12:50 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE everything you've done with this coat, especially those ruffles. :o)
2/4/11 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
McCall's 6044

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now