Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5556 (Misses' Dress and Belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1031 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/11 9:35 PM
Last Updated:2/4/11 6:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dorothyn said...
Wow, does this ever suit you! Mad Men here you come!! Really nice work for a great result that is thoroughly flattering.
2/3/11 9:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress. It captures the spirit of the fifties beautifully. Reducing the fullness of the skirt was clever.
2/3/11 11:48 PM
pammieh said...
Adorable on you and very well done!
2/4/11 3:42 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful! The shoes and hat really add to it.
2/4/11 1:18 PM
Aixoise said...
What a look! Perfectly fifties, and suits you so well. Great dress, with just the right hat to complete the look.
2/4/11 1:21 PM
lamstu said...
Never mind 50's, I love it today! Fabric, style, fit, all fab. Matching hat too!
2/4/11 7:05 PM
MichelleE said...
Oh my gosh, that is so elegant! And you DO look like Grace Kelly :)
2/4/11 9:46 PM
VintageTempest said...
Fab! I love this dress! I am starting view A in taffeta. I would have never thought to do it up in wool.
2/4/11 11:49 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous! Looks great on you. Cute dog.
2/5/11 1:18 AM
swing like a girl said...
Love the dress. Love the hat. June Cleaver would be proud.
2/5/11 10:50 AM
velosewer said...
So pretty:)
2/6/11 4:45 PM
Scheri said...
I love this dress and have purchased the pattern in hopes of making. You did a fantastic job and have given me the nudge I need to pull this out of my inventory and check my stash for spring. Thank you.
2/7/11 10:25 AM
kellyt said...
Beautiful. You look like you step out of Life Magazine!
2/9/11 10:00 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Wonderful job on this! You really embody the period.
2/18/11 9:59 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your review, I'm looking for a 1950s reproduction pattern for a friend and I think I just found it!
3/28/11 9:31 PM
Mc Donna said...
Wow! Nicely done. I like your work around on the fabric shortage, it certainly didn't hurt the outcome. Thank you for your very helpful review.
4/1/11 8:12 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Thank you for the great detail. That dress is stunning.
10/18/13 7:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2455
photo
Review by SeamsFabul... on 8/30/10
Read Review

Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895
photo
Review by mimi g. on 5/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us