SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5556 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

11 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 157
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/11 9:35 PM
Last Updated:2/4/11 6:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dorothyn said...
Wow, does this ever suit you! Mad Men here you come!! Really nice work for a great result that is thoroughly flattering.
2/3/11 9:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress. It captures the spirit of the fifties beautifully. Reducing the fullness of the skirt was clever.
2/3/11 11:48 PM
pammieh said...
Adorable on you and very well done!
2/4/11 3:42 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful! The shoes and hat really add to it.
2/4/11 1:18 PM
Aixoise said...
What a look! Perfectly fifties, and suits you so well. Great dress, with just the right hat to complete the look.
2/4/11 1:21 PM
lamstu said...
Never mind 50's, I love it today! Fabric, style, fit, all fab. Matching hat too!
2/4/11 7:05 PM
MichelleE said...
Oh my gosh, that is so elegant! And you DO look like Grace Kelly :)
2/4/11 9:46 PM
VintageTempest said...
Fab! I love this dress! I am starting view A in taffeta. I would have never thought to do it up in wool.
2/4/11 11:49 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous! Looks great on you. Cute dog.
2/5/11 1:18 AM
swing like a girl said...
Love the dress. Love the hat. June Cleaver would be proud.
2/5/11 10:50 AM
velosewer said...
So pretty:)
2/6/11 4:45 PM
Scheri said...
I love this dress and have purchased the pattern in hopes of making. You did a fantastic job and have given me the nudge I need to pull this out of my inventory and check my stash for spring. Thank you.
2/7/11 10:25 AM
kellyt said...
Beautiful. You look like you step out of Life Magazine!
2/9/11 10:00 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Wonderful job on this! You really embody the period.
2/18/11 9:59 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your review, I'm looking for a 1950s reproduction pattern for a friend and I think I just found it!
3/28/11 9:31 PM
Mc Donna said...
Wow! Nicely done. I like your work around on the fabric shortage, it certainly didn't hurt the outcome. Thank you for your very helpful review.
4/1/11 8:12 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Thank you for the great detail. That dress is stunning.
10/18/13 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1032

photo
by: petro

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now