SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Other> Handy Heart Pot Holder (Handy Heart Pot Holder)

Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 139 times 
Reviewed by:Kathy in NM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kathy in NMstar
NM USA
Member since: 3/16/02
Reviews: 38 (patterns: 34)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/11 9:12 PM
Last Updated:2/5/11 9:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheryka said... (2/16/11 11:12 AM) Reply
WOW, I see a pair in butterflies for my girls!
KathyRM said... (2/12/11 0:22 AM) Reply
They have this pattern at Nancy's Notions.
Kathy in NM said... (2/6/11 12:22 PM) Reply
PS - I found this on-line: http://www.marthastewart.com/how-to/heart-shaped-pot-holders?comments_page=2&#slide_0 with the pattern here: http://www.purlbee.com/storage/heart_shaped_potholders.pdf This is similar, but less filler, and no cording along the "pocket" edges. The instructions aren't too good. If you put 2 layers of thin cotton batting, one layer of Insul-Bright in the main part, then only 1 layer of thin cotton batting in the "pcoket" parts, it would be more like the one I made. Also, the Handy Heart pattern uses cording along the open edge of the "pocket". This really makes it easier to get your hand in and out of the pot holder. If you cut the "pocket" part on the fold, insert batting, insert cording, stitch near cording, it would again be more like the ones I made. (see my link to pieces before assembly) I hope this helps some as it does seem to be difficult to find this pattern these days.
Kathy in NM said... (2/6/11 12:07 PM) Reply
SexiSadi - I have not seen a download. I'm not even sure they are still making these patterns. There is a contact e-mail on the back of the pattern: seweva@hotmail.com. The designers name is Eva Holen. If the e-mail still works, maybe she can help you.
newmama said... (2/6/11 11:49 AM) Reply
Those are really darling!
cleverkitty said... (2/6/11 10:34 AM) Reply
Your right it is a great way to use up cotton quilting fabric I'm sold, will order the pattern.... I love your fabric thanks for the review
SexiSadi said... (2/6/11 9:17 AM) Reply
These are cute. Do you know if there is a download somewhere, or would I have to buy the paper pattern? I did a google search, but came up with nothing.
Elemenopeo said... (2/5/11 9:50 PM) Reply
Those are so cute!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: popo

Review
Jalie 3023 & 3247

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Pattern Details