Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7808 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 378 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/11 7:02 AM
Last Updated:2/26/11 6:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fourkid said...
Very nice. I love your rendition in that lovely, bright fabric. I agree - your pocket is much better. While the little bow is useless - it is cute. Thanks for the links - I loved the Russian and German versions especially. I find it so inspiring to see how each version is so different.
2/26/11 9:46 AM
Christas said...
Freya, your dress looks SO nice on you. I love the cheerful fabric! I can always count on you to give a very thorough and helpful review on the garments you sew. Thank you!
2/26/11 9:48 AM
Mufffet said...
Love the fabric, and the dress really looks good on you! Thanks for this review. I had looked at this pattern, and thought it would be like a big bag, but you look fabulous in that and it isn't a bag at all!
2/26/11 11:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Your pretty dress looks wonderful on you. The style, fabric and print suit you nicely especially with your personalized changes for a great look and fit.
2/26/11 11:44 AM
loti said...
I love the dress and the print makes it look very expensive. Thank you for the great review, and all the research!!
2/26/11 1:36 PM
SewWil said...
Great combination of style and fabric. Your dress looks very nice on you. Great detailed review. Thanks!
2/26/11 1:37 PM
JanieBee said...
Love the fabric. Dress looks very cute on you, Freya!
2/26/11 2:50 PM
MNBarb said...
Your dress makes me happy. It's a nice in-between of fitted bodice and comfy, loose waist and hips. A perfect dress for a hot summer day. It looks great on you.
2/26/11 4:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
Nice fit to your dress. It just makes me smile to look at your dress. We all need happy clothes in our wardrobes. Would would guess there would be fit in this dress? Your review is hugely informative. See the many versions of this dress is great. It truly has the makings of the perfect summer dress, and for any age group.
2/26/11 5:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice! The Burda pattern photo makes this dress look more like a swimsuit coverup or something, but it's certainly not that, and you've really brought out its protential (as have a lot of other people -- thanks for all the links to other nice reviews, too!).
2/26/11 6:25 PM
TerukoLynn said...
This dress looks great on you and I love the fabric that you chose for it!
2/26/11 9:13 PM
annie1129 said...
Thanks for the great review. I would have never considered this pattern if I had not seen your version of it. I will put it on my list. Thanks!!
2/27/11 5:11 AM
Diane333 said...
Your dress is very attractive and the print is perfect.
2/27/11 8:40 AM
Rhoda K said...
A very pretty dress, looks so nice on you. Thanks for a thorough review.
2/27/11 8:54 AM
Margaret said...
This dress looks great on you. I love the cheerful print, much better than the envelope version. Nice fit.
2/27/11 11:32 AM
GodsgirlT said...
I love this fabric! A little retro, a little spring like! Perfect for the dress! Nice work!
2/27/11 4:51 PM
Aless said...
Thanks for such a great review. I have had this pattern for at least 2 summers and haven't been game to try it because it looks so 'full' and I'm plus sized enough! Your fabric choice was inspired-gorgeous!! Knowing exactly what to look for is essential. Thanks again (because I do love this pattern)!
2/27/11 5:15 PM
JETrinity said...
Oh, I am so glad you finally finished this dress because it looks so good on you and green is my favorite color.
3/1/11 5:28 PM
Annette1 said...
You're making me want to sew up this dress RAT NOW. :o) You've also answered the question that comes to mind every time I pull out this pattern to consider it, and that is that it seems to run small in the bust. I much prefer the length of yours to the version on the pattern envelope. Since I seem to be BINGING on fabric lately (she said as she impatiently awaited the arrival of the UPS man), I should use some of my recently acquired linen for this one. :o)
3/4/11 10:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us