SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1083 (MISSES' COAT)

3 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/11 4:02 PM
Last Updated:2/27/11 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Amazing work! I'll be making a winter coat next year, and I'll be referring to this review - great info on the armscyes, thank you!
2/27/11 4:25 PM
Nan Kay said...
wonderful coat. Love your creativity.
2/27/11 4:33 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!! Isn't it WONDERFUL that you can create what you can dream up??!! ;)
2/27/11 5:06 PM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat! It looks divine (and warm) to wear!
2/27/11 5:07 PM
mastdenman said...
What a beautiful coat. Truly a work of art.
2/27/11 5:10 PM
Christas said...
Amazing coat! It looks very warm!
2/27/11 5:21 PM
KarmenG said...
Bravo!! ; ) This is soooo wonderful and I'm sure you'll feel like a queen wearing it! Warm and regal.....so beautiful.
2/27/11 6:15 PM
Athene said...
Such a wonderful coat, so warm cuddly on the inside and a great exterior for those cold wet winters.
2/27/11 6:29 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty coat, you did an amazing job.
2/27/11 7:26 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Wow!! I was thinking of lining a coat with faux fur but I thought I would have to make the coat a few sizes bigger to leave room for the fur. You don't mention adjusting for the bulk of the fur.
2/27/11 8:05 PM
Wino said...
Great coat! Thanks for such a detailed review. This coat is my next project and your review will be a big help.
2/27/11 9:07 PM
Woolygal said...
I can't even imagine thinking a about doing a project like this. If there was an oscar for sewing, you'd get it hands down. Congrats.
2/28/11 6:55 AM
Fran G said...
This coat truly highlights your talent. So beautiful! Well done!
2/28/11 7:06 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is just fabulous, you must feel like million dollar in it!
2/28/11 7:52 AM
marjenann said...
Thank you so much for sharing your amazing construction journey. Your coat is fabulous and incredibly inspiring! Annette
2/28/11 8:04 AM
Karine said...
That's a masterpiece! Your coat is beautiful and will be so warm! Thanks for all of the explanations and photos - they're very helpful.
2/28/11 9:00 AM
bebrown said...
Boy, I wish I had thrift shops near me with finds like that! Seriously, it's a beautiful coat showing real creativity. I have a coat similar to yours (same color) that I bought in a fur salon for more money than I care to think about! I'm just not gutsy enough to try sewing anything like that.
2/28/11 9:35 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful coat! It must be very warm. It's intriguing to see this pattern in such a different fabric/fur.
2/28/11 4:27 PM
Terri A said...
Amazing knock-out job on that coat! Love the mink lining!
2/28/11 7:25 PM
DorothyK said...
This is an amazing project. I'm in awe!
3/1/11 12:34 PM
Annette1 said...
You are just amazing, Kay. Such SKILL you have! Your coat is beautiful. :o)
3/4/11 3:11 PM
Mahler said...
What a sewist you are. This was an extra-ordinary projest. The output is more then amazing. I hope I get to try it out when I see you next time ;-) Congratulations !!! Once again, you impressed me.
3/7/11 1:11 PM
FreyaStark said...
An adventurous and impressive project, and a triumphant success by the looks of it. Well done.
3/13/11 7:15 AM
BetsyV said...
Kay thank you for the excellent review. I was sitting on the fence about this pattern, but now will jump off and order it. I remember reading your blog entries about this coat, and didn't remember it was this pattern until I searched here for a review.
9/4/11 8:31 AM
solosmocker said...
This is a spectacular garment! I plan on starting this pattern soon and your review and all the flicker photos are extremely helpful. Thank you so much! Did you get a bargain on that fur?? It's gorgeous.
12/6/11 8:29 AM
Phillis2 said...
OMG! I applaud you!! I love what you did and I love this coat. I bet it feels like heaven inside?
1/9/13 4:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6571

photo
by: loti

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 119566-1000

photo
by: GayMcDonel...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now