SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8123 (MISSES' JACKET)

22 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 556 times 
Reviewed by:Wino
photo

 
 
About Winostar
Member since: 9/24/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/11 10:56 PM
Last Updated:4/28/11 11:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BexInMD said...
Brava! The fashion fabric, lining, and "statement" button really pull this retro look together.
4/28/11 11:15 PM
Natasha B said...
Lovely jacket. This is one of my favourite from Vogue. You chose a great button!
4/29/11 3:01 AM
MNBarb said...
Not shapeless or colorless. The fabric isn't super vibrant but has interesting texture and showcases the simplicity of the pattern and the interesting button. I love it!
4/29/11 7:17 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
"DS referred to this as a shapeless, colorless wonder" Well, I would NOT let HIM wear it... being silly here... I think your jacket looks smashing.. with all the print dresses & skirts out there, a low key but snazzy topper is in order and you have a great one in your closet. Very nice!
4/29/11 7:47 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very chic! Your work is beautiful!
4/29/11 9:56 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and so very elegant - great work. DS get's no supper (or meals) for many days!!
4/29/11 12:23 PM
Clareew said...
Wonderful and really classy, well done. ps what is the organza patch method
4/29/11 4:07 PM
Wino said...
Thank all of you for such nice comments! Clareew the organza patch method for a bound buttonhole involves placing an organza patch on the right side of the fabric, stitching a rectangle the size of your buttonhole, cutting like a regular bound bh, folding to the inside and pressing, which leaves a little window in the fabric, the lips of the buttohole are two pieces of fabric basted together and pressed to form a seam in the middle, this is centered in the little window and sewn to the edges and the little triangles at the ends from behind. Basting can be used to ensure everything stays in place. I was surprised how well it worked.
4/29/11 8:44 PM
pmac said...
Your jacket looks great. I love the vintage vibe and would say the color is neutral rather than "colorless". You did a nice job piecing the lining too. Super job inside and out!
4/29/11 9:03 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job.
4/30/11 11:24 AM
mm said...
Add me to the list of people who think this looks great.
4/30/11 9:58 PM
mm said...
Add me to the list of people who think this looks great.
4/30/11 9:58 PM
Aroura said...
Great retro coat, love that button!
4/30/11 11:41 PM
manola6176 said...
Add so much to this pattern. The lining is outstanding
5/1/11 5:37 AM
helenkosings said...
Lovely.
5/5/11 4:22 PM
homewerk said...
Your choice of lining is right on. Subtle but contrasting, it really adds to your neutral jacket. The effect is lovely. Nice job!
5/10/11 2:22 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely jacket and a great wardrobe piece. The collar and buttonhole look so sharp... all that pressing work really paid off. Love the lining fabric too. Well done!
5/13/11 3:42 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I love the lining treatment!
4/28/13 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6779

photo
by: AlyssaJS

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: Kbenco

Review