SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8123 (MISSES' JACKET)

22 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 558 times 
Reviewed by:Wino
photo

 
 
About Winostar
Member since: 9/24/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/11 10:56 PM
Last Updated:4/28/11 11:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I love the lining treatment!
4/28/13 10:15 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely jacket and a great wardrobe piece. The collar and buttonhole look so sharp... all that pressing work really paid off. Love the lining fabric too. Well done!
5/13/11 3:42 PM
homewerk said...
Your choice of lining is right on. Subtle but contrasting, it really adds to your neutral jacket. The effect is lovely. Nice job!
5/10/11 2:22 PM
helenkosings said...
Lovely.
5/5/11 4:22 PM
manola6176 said...
Add so much to this pattern. The lining is outstanding
5/1/11 5:37 AM
Aroura said...
Great retro coat, love that button!
4/30/11 11:41 PM
mm said...
Add me to the list of people who think this looks great.
4/30/11 9:58 PM
mm said...
Add me to the list of people who think this looks great.
4/30/11 9:58 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job.
4/30/11 11:24 AM
pmac said...
Your jacket looks great. I love the vintage vibe and would say the color is neutral rather than "colorless". You did a nice job piecing the lining too. Super job inside and out!
4/29/11 9:03 PM
Wino said...
Thank all of you for such nice comments! Clareew the organza patch method for a bound buttonhole involves placing an organza patch on the right side of the fabric, stitching a rectangle the size of your buttonhole, cutting like a regular bound bh, folding to the inside and pressing, which leaves a little window in the fabric, the lips of the buttohole are two pieces of fabric basted together and pressed to form a seam in the middle, this is centered in the little window and sewn to the edges and the little triangles at the ends from behind. Basting can be used to ensure everything stays in place. I was surprised how well it worked.
4/29/11 8:44 PM
Clareew said...
Wonderful and really classy, well done. ps what is the organza patch method
4/29/11 4:07 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful and so very elegant - great work. DS get's no supper (or meals) for many days!!
4/29/11 12:23 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very chic! Your work is beautiful!
4/29/11 9:56 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
"DS referred to this as a shapeless, colorless wonder" Well, I would NOT let HIM wear it... being silly here... I think your jacket looks smashing.. with all the print dresses & skirts out there, a low key but snazzy topper is in order and you have a great one in your closet. Very nice!
4/29/11 7:47 AM
MNBarb said...
Not shapeless or colorless. The fabric isn't super vibrant but has interesting texture and showcases the simplicity of the pattern and the interesting button. I love it!
4/29/11 7:17 AM
Natasha B said...
Lovely jacket. This is one of my favourite from Vogue. You chose a great button!
4/29/11 3:01 AM
BexInMD said...
Brava! The fashion fabric, lining, and "statement" button really pull this retro look together.
4/28/11 11:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2512

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now