Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2648 (Misses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1155 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:DesignsByDenise
photo
Friend of PR
About DesignsByDenisestar
CO USA
Member since: 4/14/09
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/8/11 2:33 PM
Last Updated:5/27/11 12:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very pretty dress! I hope you make something for yourself with the leftover fabric!
5/8/11 2:43 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
I like the marriage of the two patterns, which improves on S2468. Also the fabric choice is smart-looking, better than Macy's. Thanks for the insights.
5/8/11 4:30 PM
said...
Oh how pretty! You did a lovely job!
5/8/11 8:17 PM
PattiK said...
Great job on this lovely dress!
5/8/11 9:40 PM
Sewing in the Wind said...
Absolutely adorable!
5/8/11 10:33 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I just love this dress! It is very pretty.
5/8/11 11:35 PM
cleverkitty said...
bodice and lining on the bias is a great idea to add a little stretch thanks for the inspiration. I have this dress pattern and fabric ready to be sewed, good idea about lining it instead of facings. I will revisit your post when I sew it which may be next since I saw your version It may be moved up. I love the print looks beautiful.
5/9/11 8:19 AM
vlwsews said...
I love it! (P.S. I like it more than the $100 from the store!)
5/9/11 3:56 PM
vlwsews said...

5/9/11 3:57 PM
annakeeton said...
Your daughter is very lucky to have you create this elegant dress for her.
5/22/11 7:48 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Very pretty dress and I do love me some polka dots!
5/23/11 2:23 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Better fabric, better fit, better dress!
5/27/11 1:32 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! I think your version is nicer than the original. Great job!!!
5/27/11 2:37 PM
Dale C said...
Yours came out much nicer than the original. I love it.
5/27/11 3:59 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I love this pattern! Your version is beautiful. Please do make yourself something from the leftovers because the fabric is just lovely.
6/2/11 8:26 AM
Mahler said...
Your dress is100 times better on fit and line. Super project !
6/2/11 12:58 PM
HatBuddy said...
I like yours better then the origional.
6/2/11 2:06 PM
CAgirl said...
Lovely. I am considering cotton sateen for all of S2247 and am glad to see how it draped for the skirt of your dress. Where did you add the extra width for the skirt? Your review was very helpful.
6/9/11 4:36 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
CAgirl, I added extra width at the hem. Thanks, everyone, for the nice comments! My dd really loves this dress, and says it fits her perfectly.
6/10/11 5:50 PM
JuliN said...
The dress is lovely. You did a great job!
7/20/11 11:43 AM
JuliN said...

7/20/11 12:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us