SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1179 (Misses' Dress)

39 more reviews
Viewed 889 times 
Reviewed by:prosestitch
photo

 
 
About prosestitchstar
Member since: 2/11/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/11 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I hunted your review down in reference to using a woven for this pattern. Glad to know it works, and I'm revv'n up the layout board even now.
3/8/14 3:31 PM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
This looks fantastic! I love the long-sleeved shirt under it - great look. Inspiring!
8/17/11 2:55 PM
mesewlot said...
What a great idea, love it!
5/20/11 0:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting way to make up this pattern. It looks good in a woven.
5/19/11 7:19 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Thank you for experimenting on this dress to turn it into a tunic! I was thinking about the same idea, and you've done the legwork for me :D
5/19/11 4:40 PM
lynne1nor said...
Nice job with the tunic conversion - I think it looks much nicer than the dress version shown on the pattern envelope!
5/19/11 2:17 PM
marec said...
Terrific changes to the pattern-I love this tunic and wish I could carry it but sadly, no. It looks great on you.
5/19/11 10:23 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Wow, what a great style change your fabric makes! This looks great as a blouse with the heavier weight fabric.
5/19/11 9:41 AM
dillyo said...
I love the structure and body the wool gives this top. It looks great on you - I agree with franticfashion that this really suits your body type! If you recut the cowl on the bias, make sure you post another picture so we can compare the drape :)
5/19/11 2:15 AM
21wale said...
Really lovely.
5/19/11 0:12 AM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 11:26 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
5/18/11 11:11 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 10:36 PM
GoSewGirl said...
I love your woven tunic version! This really is a great pattern. I've recently made it and it's really easy and really flattering. As I was reading your review, I thought that your cowl would drape as you want if you cut it on the bias—I see that Irene has all ready suggested it!
5/18/11 10:29 PM
jaeng said...
Oh wow, I love it. Yours look 100 times better than the original.
5/18/11 10:28 PM
rivergum said...
I love your version of this pattern and I think it looks wonderful on you. IMO you are slim enough to pull it off, on anyone with curves it would look like a tent in the heavier, woven wool fabric.
5/18/11 10:09 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 9:44 PM
touran said...
Great look. I didn't even recognize it as the dress from the pattern.
5/18/11 9:19 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very attractive in a woven - I like Irene's advice to try it on the bias next time.
5/18/11 8:57 PM
Irene said...
A worthy experiment! It looks like your cowl is cut on the straight grain. To have any semblance of the knit version of the original design, a woven fabric needs to be cut on the bias . . . and would require more fabric.
5/18/11 8:33 PM
mm said...
I think it looks great as a top.
5/18/11 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6852

photo
by: valgal

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-123

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info