Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 1458-1000 (inspired by anthropologie top) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 508 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:emclaus
photo
About emclaus
MI USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 9:45 PM
Last Updated:5/23/11 10:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
LOVE this! Great job.
5/23/11 10:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great on you, love the drape and flair this top has. You pull it off well. Great job!
5/23/11 10:49 PM
poppykettle said...
The end result of straying from the commercials is great - I love the way your top looks! The drape is devine and it looks comfy too. I'm impressed!
5/24/11 7:22 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Beautiful.
5/24/11 11:06 AM
donaleen said...
Oh that is so very cool. If I had your body, I'd be all over it.
5/24/11 11:10 AM
Dale C said...
Wow.. that is a cool top! I missed it when I was skimming through the anthropologie site. Yours looks wonderful! I don't think there are too many pleats.. it's just right.
5/24/11 7:12 PM
mlsews said...
Its fabulous!
5/24/11 8:37 PM
emclaus said...
Thank you so much for all your positive comments.
5/24/11 10:42 PM
annakeeton said...
Your top is beautiful and that knit seems perfect for the draping.
5/25/11 6:26 AM
TanitIsis said...
This looks great! So glad you were inspired (and successful) :D
5/25/11 3:10 PM
Deepika said...
I love love love your top. Anyone has any suggestions for a commercial pattern for this top?
6/1/11 12:08 PM
montanachic said...
You did a great job, it is so cute!
6/1/11 12:32 PM
JillyBe said...
ohmygosh I LOVE this top!!! FABULOUS job! And inspirational...hmmmmm...... I have to put this on my list of things to attempt. Thank you!
6/1/11 4:00 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Oh my! What a gorgeous drape in the front! Fantastic top!
6/2/11 2:48 PM
marvelous said...
The drape is very flattering on you and I love the color. You did a great job!
6/2/11 3:59 PM
ggf2005 said...
amazing, the look, the color!
6/2/11 5:14 PM
said...
This is just gorgeous! Color, fit, workmanship... beautiful!
6/3/11 8:15 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful and drapes so well!
6/3/11 10:56 AM
cindysewsaz said...
This does look wonderful! For a similar pattern to this, try Simplicity 2283. It doesn't have the flutter sleeves, but you can get a similar look on the front with this pattern.
6/3/11 11:54 AM
Donna S Page said...
That RTW top is my favorite! But yours is even better. I'm so impressed. Are there directions anywhere that a beginner might be able to follow to draft the pattern? I have to have this top!
6/4/11 12:23 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Really cute, you did a terrific job! Anthropologie is one of my favorite inspiration sites, their clothes are adorable. I would suggest Simplicity 2554 as another possible place to "start" something similar, as its got the droopy neck and similar sleeves. At least it would give you an idea of how the drape looks when flat.
6/4/11 6:50 PM
emclaus said...
If you have a close-fitting knit top pattern in your stash that you have successfully used before, I recommend using it as a starting point. Fitting your torso will be all done, one just has to move the shoulder seam forward and perfect the drape. Study the pictures of the pattern alterations at Tanit-Isis Sews blog. I used an out-of-print boat-neck top pattern. I grabbed sleeves from yet another pattern. It did take a few tries using a ugly fabric from my stash to get the drape the way I wanted it.
6/5/11 10:42 AM
emclaus said...
One more thing. The tucks need to be done a little differently on each side. If you study the inspiration top, the drapes are somewhat random. In one of my practice tops the tucks for the drapes were done the exact same way on both sides and the drapes were not nearly as interesting. So beginning sewers who are afraid to attempt this top, how many times will someone tell you that sewing each side differently is actually good?
6/5/11 10:56 AM
S I G R I D said...
I tried this too. My version is a bit less dramatic than yours, and I agree. It takes two tries. . . http://analogme.typepad.com/analog-me/2011/03/cowls.html
6/6/11 6:15 PM
S I G R I D said...
ps here is my pattern review: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=61276
6/6/11 6:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-117 blouse
photo
Review by lilyofthev... on 4/27/08
Read Review

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by KamiSue2 on 12/5/11
Read Review

Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size NB-SML-MED )
Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size NB-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us