SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-116 (GI Jane dress)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 361 times 
Reviewed by:Karin Mantefors
photo

 
 
About Karin Manteforsstarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/29/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/11 3:34 PM
Last Updated:5/27/11 3:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karin Mantefors said...
I have to comment myself. The patternlink is not correct it should be mod 116 that I transformed to a 48 for me
5/27/11 3:39 PM
Dale C said...
Wow. Perfect topstitching and wonderful details. I especially like the appliques you added and the contrasting fabrics you used on the undersides of pockets and stuff.
5/27/11 3:55 PM
SewWil said...
Great job on this dress!!! Love the contrasting fabric. Nice touch.
5/27/11 4:07 PM
Elaray said...
Don't you feel proud after having done all of those design details? The dress looks great!
5/27/11 7:06 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely stitching!
5/27/11 7:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks really good to me so I am sorry you do not feel happy with it. If you wanted to try again you could use Burda 7827 (an envelope pattern) to try a similar look.
5/28/11 3:50 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
Oh Im very happy with the dress its the original pattern that might not work for me but with all changes I made Im not really sure if there is something wrong with the pattern, but I thing there are other patterns anyway with better cut of the front yoke. I love my dress and had a lot of fun doing all the details, Ive been not doing a lot of sewing lately but I think Im back in buisiness now...
5/28/11 4:13 AM
Re Becca said...
Wow! great job on all those pockets and tabs! I really like the sleeve band, thats a detail that I might not have taken the time to do but it really adds to the pizazz. I love the contrasting flowers too.
5/28/11 9:52 AM
annakeeton said...
Cute dress and with flat felled seams, it's likely better constructed than most RTW.
5/28/11 6:17 PM
taylormade said...
I didn't really understand why she would rate this pattern the way she did. Why wouldn't she recommend it?
5/29/11 0:04 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
The pattern is sized up to 46 and Im a 48. I added 6 cm to the hiparea breaking up the horisontal lines. Still I could not button the dress there, not enough fabric so I inserted panels in the side. Im not sure how it became too small there and I dont feel like spending too much time exploring it, I fixed my dress. But if I would make a dress more simular to the original I would want the yoke to be smaller in the front more of a mens style skirt ( There is a long sleeved shirt too, a variation of the pattern ) There are others who had have luck with this pattern and I would not blame Burda but I would not use it again
5/29/11 3:06 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Beautiful topstitching and choice of buttons.
5/31/11 9:03 AM
loti said...
Karin, I understand when a pattern give you trouble but you've turned it around, I love the details and the contrast pocket flaps.
6/3/11 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now