SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3064 (Misses Swimsuits)

5 more reviews
Viewed 557 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/11 11:40 AM
Last Updated:6/19/11 9:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
Your suit looks very lovely and thanks for the link to the bra cups tip.
6/18/11 12:01 PM
Christas said...
Your bathing suit looks fantastic! I am sure you can tweak the fit on the next one, and it will be perfect! Kudos to you for even having the courage to sew a swimsuit! You are way ahead of me. I am still in the pattern and fabric stage. Thanks so much for your review.
6/18/11 12:13 PM
sewbehind said...
You look great in your new swimsuit. This is my favourite pattern. Will have to try the bra cups in mine next time. It looks really nice with the contrast in another colour as well. can you use the fabric from the sarong that didn't work for this piece? Looks great in any event.
6/18/11 12:28 PM
marjoriekh said...
Can you believe how much swimsuits cost these days?? Adventurous of you to make one, and if the length is your only problem, you've done extremely well. Looks great from the photo, too.
6/18/11 1:59 PM
marec said...
Great suit, and you are so much closer to a perfect fit than you were before starting. I am impressed.
6/18/11 2:46 PM
Mushywear said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I really want to make a couple of swimsuits this summer too and have this pattern. I wondered about whether to lengthen the torso also, so thanks for the tip there. Great job!
6/18/11 3:15 PM
Sew it seams said...
Your swimsuit is very pretty. Thanks for this review. It really looks great on you.
6/18/11 7:50 PM
21wale said...
It looks fantastic! The style is very flattering. Wedgies are a no go, unfortunately, but hopefully your next suit will be easy to whip up with your newly gained knowledge. Thanks for the link, too.
6/18/11 7:54 PM
mary in FL said...
Lovely swim suit!
6/18/11 8:56 PM
cleverkitty said...
Really Nice Suit I'm impressed!!!!
6/18/11 11:49 PM
Terri A said...
WOW! Pretty!
6/19/11 0:48 AM
BexInMD said...
Beautiful color, and your perseverance gave a great fit. I'm sure your result will inspire many others to give swimsuits a try.
6/19/11 10:52 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think your suit is beautiful! Thanks for details on fitting. The stretch and sew wrap suit (style is very similar) has some good instructions for a shelf bra suitable for a wrap design - I just added bra cups to the shelf bra. Since the underbust elastic holds the bra portion in place, it helps keep the support on the correct level instead of dragging it down. I get swim bra cups from Needlenook fabrics - they have nice smooth molded cups in huge size range.
6/19/11 10:56 AM
Margaret said...
Great work on the suits! Glad you were able to get the length worked out. Maybe the sarong can be worn with the plum one?
6/19/11 11:03 AM
carolynw said...
WOW! Talk about a great fit and they look absolutely top end RTW! Great work and I am sure you saved yourself a huge amount of $$$$ - a good fitting bathing suit costs and arm and a leg these days. You have got it made in the shade!
6/19/11 7:04 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
Thanks for the tip on checking length first. I am just about to make a Kwik Sew racer-back suit, and was just gonna cut it right out of the box. Now I will be more diligent and measure first! Thank you!
6/19/11 8:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great suit!
6/19/11 11:52 PM
cybermom said...
The suit look lovely. I'm trying to sew a suit this week. They look very complicated. You did great1
6/23/11 8:14 AM
redrockcity said...
Gorgeous color and beautiful suit! Link to bra cup tip is very helpful, thank you!
7/5/11 11:19 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Just got this pattern. Great review, & will be very helpful as I have a long torso. Still looking for the right fabric.
10/11/12 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: Graca

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
New Look 6807

photo
by: goosegreen

Review